Book reviews, Historical fiction

The Unforgetting by Rose Black – Book Review

5E11C527-A45B-4BF2-8453-23B366D20DC2
PUBLISHERS BLURB 

A story of the trappings of fame, magic and the power of illusion in Victorian London.

Power, theatre and ghosts in a Victorian gothic historical, perfect for fans of The Silent Companions, The Night Circus and The Familiars.

When Lily Bell is sold by her father to a ‘Professor of Ghosts’ to settle a bad debt, she thinks she is about to hit the London stage as an actress. But little does she know that the professor intends her to be his very own ghost, part of an elaborate illusion for a fascinated audience.

Obsessed with perfection, the professor covers all bases to ensure his illusion is realistic – and when Lily comes across her own obituary in the paper, and then her own headstone in the cemetery, she soon realises that she is trapped, her parents think she is dead – and soon her fate is to become even darker…

FC00AE40-FC87-4AC9-A076-BEA8985CA3D2

MY REVIEW 

Set in 1851 and Lily Bell believes she will be a famous actress in London, but then to settle a debt her parents sell her to Erasmus Salt. A stage magician obsessed with Lily.

Salt is planning an illusion and Lily is to be his very own ghost. But to make this believable, the world must believe Lily has died. So obituaries are written and Lily is kept hidden by Erasmus and his sister, Faye. Faye has now own demons to deal with due to events in her past. So a bond builds between them, but can these two strong women finally have lives of their own?

This is dark, gothic historical fiction at its best. A tale of obsession, control, illusion and mystery in the Victorian era. Beautifully written, chilling and haunting.

Thank you to Anne Cater and Random Things Tours for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour,  for the promotional materials and a free copy of the book. This is my honest, unbiased review.

 

You can buy a copy here: https://amzn.to/3041a23

 

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

Rose Black has written stories all her life. Her long-standing fascination with the Victorians and 19th century England underlies this novel. An award-winning freelance writer, she’s covered health, overseas development and education. Married, with two children, she lives partly in London and at other times by the sea. In her spare time, she enjoys wild swimming and growing food and flowers on her allotment.

For publicity enquiries please contact Francesca.pearce@orionbooks.co.uk