Book reviews, Cosy mystery, LGBTQ

The Art Of Murder by J.S. Strange – Book Review. @JackSamStrange @PantherPubs #TheArtOfMurder #blogtour ðŸŒˆ

FC8FB9C2-75CD-44DC-8459-92BA58052458
PUBLISHERS BLURB 

The second in the Jordan Jenner Mysteries series. The follow up to Murder on the Rocks.

Artist Xander Draper is being threatened by a dangerous group. With PI Jordan Jenner’s help, Xander hopes to remain unscathed.

But when Xander is murdered, his body displayed as his final exhibit, Jordan realises the extent of the trouble Xander was in. Now, there are people following Jordan. They know his name, and they want him dead.

Meanwhile, Jordan’s brother Ashley has returned, and he has a secret. As time runs out to solve the murder of the famous artist, Jordan begins to fear his brother may be responsible.

A classic cosy mystery set in the heart of Cardiff. A perfect read for fans of Agatha Christie. A murdered artist. A brother with a deadly secret. A group intent on killing. The Art of Murder is the second in the Jordan Jenner Mysteries series, a cosy murder mystery set in Wales.
7A0C4BCD-67C9-4F91-AB6C-6BFE83CD5697

MY REVIEW 

This is #2 in the Jordan Jenner series by J.S. Strange, but can easily be read as a stand-alone.

Jordan Jenner is a private investigator, who works closely with the local police in Wales. His brother Ashley has come home from Australia, leaving his boyfriend Ben behind, he says he’s in trouble, but doesn’t elaborate any further. 

On a trip to Amsterdam, Jordan notices they are being followed, even on to their plane home. He lets the police know and wonders why….is Ashley in more trouble than he’s letting on?

Jordan is then approached by Xander Draper a well known artist, he wants Jordan to help identify and stop a group calling themselves Dirty Dolly’s, who are stealing artworks and blackmailing other artists… is Ashley somehow linked to this?

When Xander’s body is found, things get dark….will Jordan be able to find the killer and the reasons why? And why do they want him dead too? 

A perfectly paced cosy mystery on the slightly darker side, set in the Art world with dodgy dealings, Murder and a twisty mystery. Jordan is a great, likeable character, flawed and human but so committed to finding the truth. If you like a classic style murder mystery in the vein of Agatha Christie and Joesephine Tey, then you’ll love this. Brilliant.

Thank you to Panther Publishing for the opportunity to take part in this blog tour and a free copy of the ebook. This is my honest and unbiased review.

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

 

J.S. Strange is an author from Wales, United Kingdom. He writes crime, mystery and horror. His first novels, published in 2016 and 2017, were set in an apocalyptic London. Murder on the Rocks, was the first in a cozy crime mystery series, featuring a leading gay male detective.

Murder on the Rocks was written by Strange for many reasons. One of those reasons was a lack of representation within the crime genre, particularly with detectives and sleuths. Strange created Jordan Jenner, a private investigator, who lives and works in Cardiff. Murder on the Rocks was written with the intention of shining light on Cardiff, and bringing Cardiff, and furthermore, Wales, into the crime genre.

Strange’s previous works, such as ‘Winter Smith: London Burning’, also explored LGBT themes, and featured socialite Winter Smith escaping a zombie apocalypse. ‘London’s Burning’ became an Amazon best-seller in LGBT fiction.

When Strange doesn’t write, he works in television. He also presents a radio show all about the paranormal. He has an enthusiasm for Britney Spears and cats.

Strange’s new novel, The Art of Murder, is set in Wales and is the second in the Jordan Jenner series. The murder mystery is available now.

Follow @JackSamStrange  and @PantherPubs on Twitter, on Amazon, on Goodreads, on Instagram, on Facebook, Visit jacksamstrange.com, Buy The Art of Murder

Book reviews, Crime thriller, Psychlogical thriller

The Art Of Murder by Rebecca Muddiman – Book Review

FE93FF0A-10CA-4B60-883A-804AB7BA1CC9

PUBLISHERS BLURB 

How do you catch a killer who thinks murder is art?

Michael Fisher sees himself as an artist rather than a killer and poses his victims to resemble famous paintings.

Detective Nick Kelly is called to attend the latest crime scene and finds himself at the centre of a media storm. But while the rest of the police department feels under pressure, Nick relishes the attention.

Karen Kelly, Nick’s soon to be ex-wife, watches in horror as this brutal game of cat and mouse plays out. But Karen has secrets of her own.

And when another body is found, Nick is disturbed to discover he knows the victim and things start to get a little too close to home.
Rebecca Muddiman - The Art of Murder_cover

MY REVIEW 

Detective Nick Kelly loves being the centre of attention, his personal life is a mess, his marriage has broken down due to his constant cheating, not that he wants anyone to know it’s his fault !

Karen, his wife, is angry, lonely and worried she’ll lose her home when they divorce. So one evening, when Nick’s parents want to take her out for her birthday, she has had enough of playing to Nick’s tune and goes out alone to a bar…here she meets Michael, he’s seem’s kind but she doesn’t want an awkward situation, so she leaves by the back door….what she doesn’t know is that Michael has her in mind for his final project….

Michael is a serial killer, who murders women and then leaves them in poses to represent famous works of art……he just wants his art to be acknowledged and appreciated !!!

This is an utterly compelling thriller, all the characters are devoid of any redeeming features but the writing is so good you just have to keep reading to find out how this is going to end…..Will Michael finish his work, Will Nick’s narcissism get the better of him finally? Will Karen survive?….Twisty brilliance from start to finish.

Thank you to Bloodhound Books for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook.  This is my honest, unbiased review. 

 

You can buy a copy here (it’s only 99p for Kindle at the moment too 30/7/19)

 

https://amzn.to/2YnRLnR

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

AD929CD3-FC2B-4397-A843-D097EB214D2F

Rebecca Muddiman was born and raised in the North East and worked in the NHS for many years. She has published six crime novels – Stolen, Gone, Tell Me Lies, Murder in Slow Motion, No Place Like Home, and The Art of Murder. Stolen won a Northern Writers Award in 2010 and the Northern Crime Competition in 2012. She is also a screenwriter and was selected for the London Screenwriters Festival Talent Campus in 2016.

Most of her spare time is spent re-watching Game of Thrones, trying to learn Danish, and dealing with two unruly dogs. Sometimes all at the same time.

 

 

https://rebeccamuddiman.wordpress.com/

https://twitter.com/RebeccaMuddiman

https://www.facebook.com/rebeccamuddimanwriter