Book reviews, War fiction

The Women At Hitler’s Table by Rosella Postorino – Book Review. @Netgalley #TheWomenAtHitlersTable


PUBLISHERS BLURB 

A disturbing, powerful and beautifully written novel based on shockingly real events’ Christy Lefteri, author of The Beekeeper of Aleppo

The International Bestseller

Inspired by the powerful true story of Margot Wölk, this is a heartbreaking and gripping historical novel for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Beekeeper of Aleppo

East Prussia, 1943. Hitler hides away in the Wolfsshanze – his hidden headquarters. The tide is turning in the war and his enemies circle ever closer.

Ten women are chosen.

Ten women to taste his food and protect him from poison

Twenty-six-year-old Rosa has lost everything to this war. Her parents are dead. Her husband is fighting on the front line. Alone and scared, she faces the SS with nothing but the knowledge every bite might be her last.

Caught on the wrong side of history, how far is Rosa willing to go to survive?

EF534105-2199-4E2E-80EA-5881F3E342C1

MY REVIEW 

In Germany during WWII, Hitler was afraid someone would try to poison his food to kill him. So, a group of 10 women are ‘recruited’ to be food tasters. They eat the same meals as Hitler, only one hour before, they are watched to see if any thing untoward happens…..

This is the tale of those women, based on the memories of a woman that was actually there, was one of these tasters. It is their stories, of their lives, families and the effects this war had on them all. 

Well written and incredibly thought provoking – just how far would you go to keep those close to you safe, to save your own life?

Thank you to the publishers, the author and NetGalley for the opportunity to read this for free. This is my honest and unbiased review.