Book reviews, Psychlogical thriller

Perfect Stranger by Jake Cross – Book Review

5A77379F-7341-4CDA-B91F-6B539F49243D

PUBLISHERS BLURB  

You let her in. You’ll wish you hadn’t.

Following a whirlwind romance, Rose and Chris’s marriage has been unshakeable for twenty years. But when teenager Katie turns up on their doorstep, blonde, wide-eyed and beautiful, their perfect life threatens to crumble to pieces. Because Katie says she’s Chris’s long-lost daughter, the product of a forgotten summer fling.

The couple is still reeling from shock when Katie tells them she has nowhere to go. The couple is her only hope. Kind-hearted Rose invites Katie to stay, despite Chris’s protests. The poor girl has only just lost her mother – they can’t leave her out on the street.

But soon after Katie moves in, strange things start happening. Someone crashes into a neighbour’s fence. An unexplained fire starts in the couple’s kitchen. And a family friend coming to visit disappears on the way to the house. Chris insists Katie has to go. But it’s Chris who won’t explain where he was at the time their friend went missing… 

The couple’s dream life seems to be turning into a nightmare. With dark secrets about Chris’s history with Katie’s mother coming to light, Rose no longer knows who to trust. Soon, she isn’t sure whether she’s invited a dangerous stranger into her home, or whether she’s been living with one all along…

A chilling thriller that will make you question everything you think you know about your loved ones. Fans of The Woman in the Window, Then She Was Gone and The Perfect Child won’t be able to put this book down.

4673AE98-9A53-4141-926F-23227A3AF56E

MY REVIEW

Chris and Rose have an 18 year old daughter Julia. Life is plodding away nicely, apart from Rose’ rheumatoid arthritis, all is as it should be.

But then a note is put through their door ‘I KNOW WHAT YOU DID TO EVE LEVINE’

Rose thinks it must be something to do with Chris’ work at the hospital….but Chris seems to remember something from his past.

Then, after a mugging, they meet Katie, she says she’s Eve’s daughter…..and Chris is her father! As there had been a fire at Katie’s flat, she comes to stay with them….while they wait for paternity test results to come back.

Strange and violent events start to happen, Julia’s friend is hurt and secrets start to be unearthed …..not everyone is as they initially seemed to be…

This is a compelling psychological thriller with many twists and revelations that keep the sense of menace building from start to the nail biting finish.

Thank you to Bookouture for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook. This is my in honest, unbiased review. 

Buy Links:

Amazon: https://geni.us/B07TS7DZYTSocial

Apple Books:  https://apple.co/2J5UTfx

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2XJmICs

Googleplay:  http://bit.ly/30b8iZd

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

dav
dav

Jake lives in England and is the author of the standalone thrillers The Family Lie and The Choice, which hit the top 5 in Australia and was a bestseller in the UK and Canada.

 

Author Social Media Links

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jakecrossauthor/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JakeCrossAuthor

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/17625443.Jake_Cross