Book reviews, Police procedural, Thriller

In Plain Sight by Marion Todd – Book Review

0D6D6279-33D6-4B5C-8A7C-46832D0644C9

I am pleased to be taking part in the blog tour for In Plain Sight and am reposting my review.

 


PUBLISHERS BLURB 

A child’s life is at stake. Which of the residents of St Andrews is hiding something – and why?

When a baby girl is snatched from the crowd of spectators at a fun run, the local police have a major investigation on their hands. DI Clare Mackay and her team are in a race against the clock when they learn that the child has a potentially fatal medical condition. 

As Clare investigates she realises this victim wasn’t selected at random. Someone knows who took the baby girl, and why. But will they reveal their secrets before it’s too late?

The second instalment from an exciting new Scottish detective series. Perfect for fans of Alex Gray, Rachel Amphlett and D. K. Hood.

0FC6D754-FA0E-4711-82FF-5E5BD8A0F371

MY REVIEW 

#2 in the Detective Clare Mackay series, but can also easily be read as a stand-alone.

A very young child has been abducted while her parents were watching a commotion at a charity fun run.

Detective Clare Mackay was about to take part in the run so was on the scene immediately, but no sign of baby Abi.

When they find out Abi has a heart condition and needs regular medication to keep her alive, this becomes a tense race against time.

Can they find Abi before it’s too late?

This is a clever, well plotted police procedural that’s so much more involved. There’s a missing child, a thorough investigation with plenty of possible suspects, office politics, an overly ambitious senior officer and well developed characters. A truly gripping and thoroughly entertaining read. I’m already looking forward to the next in the series….

Thank you to Tracy at Compulsive Readers for the opportunity to take part in this blog tour. This is my honest and unbiased review.

 

You can preorder a copy here( available from 20 February) : 

https://amzn.to/2GPWsMJ

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

 

Marion grew up in the City of Dundee, now home to the magnificent V&A Museum. Always a keen writer, she has had point-of-view pieces published in the Dundee Courier and short stories in My Weekly magazine. She won first prize in the Family Circle Magazine Short Story for Children Competition in 1987.

More recently, Marion has turned her hand to crime fiction and was one of only six commercial fiction writers selected to pitch to an industry panel at XPONorth in Inverness in 2017. In 2018 Marion was long-listed for the Sunstory Award and the Scottish Arts Council Short Story Award. This year she was short-listed for Dundee Rep’s Stripped programme. She is represented by Northbank Talent Management and her debut novel, See Them Run, will be published as an eBook by Canelo on 31 October 2019.

Before becoming a full-time writer, Marion worked as a lecturer, candle-maker and hotel lounge pianist, a job which provided rich material for her novels. When she isn’t writing, Marion can be found tussling with her jungle-like garden and walking in the beautiful Scotish countryside.

Marion lives in North East Fife overlooking the River Tay and is a sometime babysitter for her daughter’s unruly but lovable dog. (Courtesy of Goodreads)

Book reviews, Police procedural

See Them Run by Marion Todd – Book Review

163D28E6-6732-45F9-AC9C-B1A3437C522C
PUBLISHERS BLURB 

In a famous Scottish town, someone is bent on murder – but why?

On the night of a wedding celebration, one guest meets a grisly end when he’s killed in a hit-and-run. A card bearing the number ‘5’ has been placed on the victim’s chest. DI Clare Mackay, who recently moved from Glasgow to join the St Andrews force, leads the investigation. If Clare wants to solve the case she must face her own past and discover the deepest secrets of the victims – and the killer.

See Them Run is a brilliant crime novel with Scotland at its heart. Todd has conceived an intriguing Scottish police force, including the fierce DI Clare Mackay and her right-hand man, Chris. The two of them are a force to be reckoned with in this gripping police procedural, which has so far received excellent response from advance readers.

64B040DC-C928-4CFF-9889-9B355BE27674

MY REVIEW 

#1 in a new series featuring DI Clare Mackay.

DI Clare Mackay has moved to St Andrews, for a fresh start away from Glasgow. 

Clare has the investigation, a pending private prosecution relating to events in Glasgow and a messy personal life too.

She is investigating a hit and run accident, but the body has a card pinned to them with the number 5…..so was this really an accident? What is the link to the Thursday Club?

When another hit and run is found, and the body has the number 4, she realises there must be something to link these incidents…..can she find the person responsible before any more killings?

Marion Todd has written a really in depth police procedural which is non stop, with great characters and a clever plot, this really is a tense and gripping thriller. 

Thank you to Tracy and Compulsive Readers for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour,  for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook. This is my honest, unbiased review.

 

You can buy a copy here 

 

https://amzn.to/2qbor4v

163D28E6-6732-45F9-AC9C-B1A3437C522C

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

 

Marion Todd is a debut author who has worked as a college lecturer, plantswoman and candle-maker. Early success saw her winning first prize in the Family Circle Magazine short story for children national competition and she followed this up by writing short stories and articles for her local newspaper. As a keen reader of crime fiction, the lure of the genre was strong, and she began writing her debut crime novel. Now a full-time writer, Marion lives in North-east Fife, overlooking the River Tay.

Don’t miss the page-turning first novel in a gripping series featuring DI Clare Mackay, perfect for fans of Alex Gray, D. S. Butler and Rachel Amphlett.