Book reviews, Cosy mystery, LGBTQ

The Art Of Murder by J.S. Strange – Book Review. @JackSamStrange @PantherPubs #TheArtOfMurder #blogtour ðŸŒˆ

FC8FB9C2-75CD-44DC-8459-92BA58052458
PUBLISHERS BLURB 

The second in the Jordan Jenner Mysteries series. The follow up to Murder on the Rocks.

Artist Xander Draper is being threatened by a dangerous group. With PI Jordan Jenner’s help, Xander hopes to remain unscathed.

But when Xander is murdered, his body displayed as his final exhibit, Jordan realises the extent of the trouble Xander was in. Now, there are people following Jordan. They know his name, and they want him dead.

Meanwhile, Jordan’s brother Ashley has returned, and he has a secret. As time runs out to solve the murder of the famous artist, Jordan begins to fear his brother may be responsible.

A classic cosy mystery set in the heart of Cardiff. A perfect read for fans of Agatha Christie. A murdered artist. A brother with a deadly secret. A group intent on killing. The Art of Murder is the second in the Jordan Jenner Mysteries series, a cosy murder mystery set in Wales.
7A0C4BCD-67C9-4F91-AB6C-6BFE83CD5697

MY REVIEW 

This is #2 in the Jordan Jenner series by J.S. Strange, but can easily be read as a stand-alone.

Jordan Jenner is a private investigator, who works closely with the local police in Wales. His brother Ashley has come home from Australia, leaving his boyfriend Ben behind, he says he’s in trouble, but doesn’t elaborate any further. 

On a trip to Amsterdam, Jordan notices they are being followed, even on to their plane home. He lets the police know and wonders why….is Ashley in more trouble than he’s letting on?

Jordan is then approached by Xander Draper a well known artist, he wants Jordan to help identify and stop a group calling themselves Dirty Dolly’s, who are stealing artworks and blackmailing other artists… is Ashley somehow linked to this?

When Xander’s body is found, things get dark….will Jordan be able to find the killer and the reasons why? And why do they want him dead too? 

A perfectly paced cosy mystery on the slightly darker side, set in the Art world with dodgy dealings, Murder and a twisty mystery. Jordan is a great, likeable character, flawed and human but so committed to finding the truth. If you like a classic style murder mystery in the vein of Agatha Christie and Joesephine Tey, then you’ll love this. Brilliant.

Thank you to Panther Publishing for the opportunity to take part in this blog tour and a free copy of the ebook. This is my honest and unbiased review.

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

 

J.S. Strange is an author from Wales, United Kingdom. He writes crime, mystery and horror. His first novels, published in 2016 and 2017, were set in an apocalyptic London. Murder on the Rocks, was the first in a cozy crime mystery series, featuring a leading gay male detective.

Murder on the Rocks was written by Strange for many reasons. One of those reasons was a lack of representation within the crime genre, particularly with detectives and sleuths. Strange created Jordan Jenner, a private investigator, who lives and works in Cardiff. Murder on the Rocks was written with the intention of shining light on Cardiff, and bringing Cardiff, and furthermore, Wales, into the crime genre.

Strange’s previous works, such as ‘Winter Smith: London Burning’, also explored LGBT themes, and featured socialite Winter Smith escaping a zombie apocalypse. ‘London’s Burning’ became an Amazon best-seller in LGBT fiction.

When Strange doesn’t write, he works in television. He also presents a radio show all about the paranormal. He has an enthusiasm for Britney Spears and cats.

Strange’s new novel, The Art of Murder, is set in Wales and is the second in the Jordan Jenner series. The murder mystery is available now.

Follow @JackSamStrange  and @PantherPubs on Twitter, on Amazon, on Goodreads, on Instagram, on Facebook, Visit jacksamstrange.com, Buy The Art of Murder

Book reviews, Cosy mystery, LGBTQ

Murder On The Rocks by J.S. Strange – Book Review

026C4449-ED35-4CE8-92D4-FB3F4D096743

PUBLISHERS BLURB

Murder on the Rocks (Jordan Jenner Mysteries Book 1) by J.S. Strange

When PI Jordan Jenner returns to work following the death of his mother, his first case involves a murdered writer…

James Fairview has been killed. As a member of a prestigious writing group hosted by bestselling author Joseph Gordon in the heart of Cardiff, Jordan not only has to cope with solving the mystery, but also deal with press attention.

As Jordan investigates, he discovers his mother’s death may not have been so simple. And when another writer is murdered, Jordan realises the killer could strike again…

A murdered writer, a mysterious death, and a group with jealousy at its heart, this is Jenner’s toughest case yet.

A cosy murder mystery with a gay male detective, Murder on the Rocks is the first in the Jordan Jenner Mysteries series. If you’re a fan of classic whodunits you will love this!

A perfect read for those looking for Welsh crime fiction.
721EC84D-33FF-4E30-A74F-B9F683EE0DD0

MY REVIEW

Set in Wales, this is the first in a series featuring Jordan Jenner.

Jordan has been off work on compassionate leave after the death of his mother,  and has just returned to work as a private investigator.

The police have asked for his help when a member of the author, Joseph Gordon’s writing group is murdered, poisoned!

Jordan is told he may be more involved than he realises……and when he finds an old photo of Joseph Gordon and the murder victim, he sees his mother in the picture….

When his father says he thinks Annabelle may have been murdered…..he tries to find out more about the deaths and what was the link between Jordan’s mother and Joseph Gordon?

An interesting and engaging, cosy mystery with enough twists to keep you guessing, there’s also a budding romance between Jordan and Lloyd and of course Jordan’s lovely cat Oscar. I’ll be looking out for more in this series.

Thank you to Damppebbles Blog Tours for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook. This is my honest, unbiased review.

About J.S. Strange:

8F10DC8B-C26E-499E-80D5-9D007B0E209E

J.S. Strange is an author from Wales, United Kingdom. He writes crime, mystery and horror. His first novels, published in 2016 and 2017, were set in an apocalyptic London. Murder on the Rocks, is the first in a cozy crime mystery series, featuring a leading gay male detective.

Murder on the Rocks was written by Strange for many reasons. One of those reasons was a lack of representation within the crime genre, particularly with detectives and sleuths. Strange created Jordan Jenner, a private investigator, who lives and works in Cardiff. Murder on the Rocks was written with the intention of shining light on Cardiff, and bringing Cardiff, and furthermore, Wales, into the crime genre.

Strange’s previous works, such as ‘Winter Smith: London Burning’, also explored LGBT themes, and featured socialite Winter Smith escaping a zombie apocalypse. ‘London’s Burning’ became an Amazon best-seller in LGBT fiction.

When Strange doesn’t write, he works in television. He also presents a radio show all about the paranormal. He has an enthusiasm for Britney Spears and cats.

 

 

Social Media:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JackSamStrange @JackSamStrange

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JackSamuelStrange/

Website: https://jacksamstrange.com/?fbclid=IwAR1DGDgRPWre63XkLzW8kkcnBy2BBZ2g9TFTNU71K8vnJUDDapY_6igh4nA

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jsstrange/

Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.co.uk/l/B01AUNFQ78?_encoding=UTF8&redirectedFromKindleDbs=true&ref_=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1&rfkd=1&shoppingPortalEnabled=true

Purchase Links:

Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Murder-Rocks-Mystery-Jordan-Mysteries/dp/1527235521/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/Murder-Rocks-Mystery-Jordan-Mysteries-ebook/dp/B07L2FRDB8/ref=sr_1_2?keywords=murder+on+the+rocks&qid=1557827818&s=gateway&sr=8-2

Waterstones: https://www.waterstones.com/book/murder-on-the-rocks/j-s-strange/9781527235526

Publishing Information:

Published in paperback and ebook format by Panther Publishing on 1st March 2019.

 

3389AAA0-AC29-43D9-9AF7-EDF371C42C14