Book reviews, Thriller

Reprobation by Catherine Fearns – Book Review

PUBLISHERS BLURB 

A dark, intelligent and thoroughly inventive murder mystery that brings together religion, science and death metal.

Liverpool: A body is found on the beach among the Antony Gormley statues; a crucified man with a bible verse above him and a heavy metal band logo carved into his forehead…

Are you one of the elect?

Dr. Helen Hope is a lecturer in eschatology – the study of death, judgement, and the destiny of humankind. She is also a Calvinist nun, her life devoted to atoning for a secret crime.

When a body is found crucified on a Liverpool beach, she forms an unlikely alliance with suspect Mikko Kristensen, lead guitarist in death metal band Total Depravity. Together, they go on the trail of a rogue geneticist who they believe holds the key – not just to the murder, but to something much darker.

Also on the trail is cynical Scouse detective Darren Swift. In his first murder case, he must confront his own lack of faith as a series of horrific crimes drag the city of two cathedrals to the gates of hell.

Science meets religious belief in this gripping murder mystery.

EA761D9C-2369-4731-8B3B-8F4D6D550632

MY REVIEW 

I read Consuming Fire recently by Catherine Fearns and thoroughly enjoyed it, so wanted to read the previous novel featuring Quinn and Helen….so glad I did….

A young man is found tied to a cross, murdered….. so it begins…who would do such a thing, a crazy serial killer, a gang killing or a religious zealot…?

DI Darren Swift, on his first major case as DCI and his colleague, DC Colette Quinn are part of the team to investigate and hopefully solve this bizarre case.

Quinn meets Helen Hope a Calvinist nun, who studies death and humanity and her ‘friend’ Mikko,  a rather colourful, death metal musician who help bring some sense of reason to this dark and disturbing crime.

Swift is keen on following a drug angle in the murder case, but Helen discovers that there someone is mixing the concept of fate with DNA and genetics……mixing science with religion….

There are great characters in Quinn, Helen and Mikko, which is a real credit to Catherine Fearns creative and expressive writing…..twisty, dark and full of detail….brilliant.

I would like to thank the Author/the Publishers/NetGalley for the opportunity to read this book for free in exchange for a fair and honest review

Buy a copy here

UK

USA

About the Author

3CCD967D-BCA0-49BA-89F8-7B2C193F9732

CATHERINE FEARNS is an author, journalist and heavy metal guitarist from Liverpool. In previous incarnations she was a financial analyst, a cocktail pianist and a breastfeeding counsellor. Her first novel, Reprobation, was published by Crooked Cat Books in October 2018 and quickly became an Amazon bestseller. The follow-up, Consuming Fire, is currently on pre-order and will be available in early 2019.

Book reviews

The Anomaly by Michael Rutger – Book Review

e974b558-5ec7-4d1b-889f-1e1ce28db238PUBLISHERS BLURB 

An utterly gripping thriller perfect for fans of Dan Brown, Michael Crichton and Stephen King. The Anomaly will leave you breathless until the final page has been turned . . .

THEY SOUGHT THE TRUTH 

A team of explorers seek ancient treasures, hidden in a secret cave.

At first it seems they will return empty handed. Then their luck turns.

THEY FOUND A NIGHTMARE 

But the team’s elation is short-lived as they become trapped there in the dark, with little possibility of escape.

Then events take an even more terrifying turn.

For not all secrets are meant to be found . 

MY REVIEW

Nolan Moore is the ‘Star’ of The Anomaly Files, a YouTube documentary show that investigates various myths and legends, and they are on a quest to find Kincaid’s Cavern in the Grand Canyon. They only have vague directions and descriptions of the area…..so off they go !.

There is Ken, a smoking, drinking, old hand producer, he of the witty one liners, such as “Let it be known that I can wave my own penis around, should the need arise.”

Pierre, the handsome cameraman.

Gemma, a journalist along to document the journey in writing.

Feather, the ever cheerful tag along from the investors and Dylan the tour guide.

A rag tag group, with some great characters and the sarcastic wit between them gives some laugh out loud moments at times.

The story is, do they find Kincaid’s Cavern ? Is there a Cradle of Life ?? and are there monsters ? Oh indeed there are ……!

This is a great read, with some nice pop culture references and it feels like a mix of X-Files, Indiana Jones and Tomb Raider….it’s truly gripping with some great humour, tension, excitement and some surprises along the dark and scary way. I loved this and can thoroughly recommend it.

Thanks to Bonnier Zaffre for a free copy for an honest review

@BonnierZaffre

#TheAnomaly

 

//ws-eu.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&OneJS=1&Operation=GetAdHtml&MarketPlace=GB&source=ss&ref=as_ss_li_til&ad_type=product_link&tracking_id=bookwormery-21&language=en_GB&marketplace=amazon&region=GB&placement=B075XPPFY5&asins=B075XPPFY5&linkId=5996e7df9befd2cd09c3e17c79e3b22a&show_border=true&link_opens_in_new_window=trueI