Book reviews, Crime thriller, Fantasy

The End Of The Line by Gray Williams – Book Review

PUBLISHERS BLURB 

A fast-paced thriller set on the streets of a London rife with undercover magic.

Abras, as they are known, can harness these illegal powers, but for con-artist Amanda Coleman – whose father was a powerful and abusive practitioner – magic is anathema.

When her criminal crew decide to hire an Abra to help with their heists, they don’t expect to raise a demon, or to quickly lose control of it. Now Coleman and her crew must travel across Siberia to a remote stone circle in order to kill this murderous creature, who has destroyed everything they hold dear.

But as the demon’s power grows, a battle of wills commences. Coleman must fight to survive, facing demons both in chains and within herself.

This dark and chilling thriller is perfect for fans of Lauren Beukes and James Oswald.

MY REVIEW 

The End Of The Line is a mix of crime fiction and fantasy, with plenty of action and magic.

There are quite a few characters and the timeline jumps between the past and present as the story unfolds. Mainly set in a small train carriage, a demon had been summoned and somehow escapes only to go on a rampage, so the story is around their travels to Russia to find it.

This has a clever plot, but I found it quite confusing, especially the first half,  as the story gradually comes together. It has a tense, almost claustrophobic atmosphere overall and is an entertaining read.

Thank you to the publishers and NetGalley for an eARC of The End Of The Line.