blog tour, Book reviews, Police procedural, Psychlogical thriller

Shed No Tears by Caz Frear – Book Review


PUBLISHERS BLURB 

Christopher Masters, known as ‘The Roommate Killer’, strangled three women over a two-week period in a London house in November 2012. Holly Kemp, his fourth victim, was never found.

 

Until now.

 

Her remains have been unearthed in a field in Cambridgeshire and DC Cat Kinsella and the major investigation team are called in, but immediately there are questions surrounding the manner of her death. And with Masters now dead, no one to answer them.

DCI Tessa Dyer, the lead on the 2012 case, lends the team a hand, as does DCI Steele’s old boss and mentor, the now retired Detective Chief Superintendent Oliver Cairns.

With Masters dead, Cat and the team have to investigate every lead again.

BUT IF YOU’D GOT AWAY WITH MURDER, WHAT WOULD YOU DO WHEN THE CASE IS RE-OPENED?

ED0152E3-D5BF-42E5-96B0-ADF28A1A2840

MY REVIEW 

Shed No Tears is #3 in the series featuring DC Cat Kinsella, but can also be read as a stand-alone.

This is a police procedural, serial killer thriller and so much more.

Cat is such a likeable, well developed character and as a result you are with her every step of the way as she deals with her family drama, a relationship, her dark investigation into the murders and so much tension as she, and her team, try to stop a killer.

A brilliantly, twisty plot with red herrings, secrets and revelations that will keep you hooked to the very end. A thoroughly entertaining read.

Thank you to Tracy at Compulsive Readers for the opportunity to take part in this blog tour, for the promotional material and an eARC of Shed No Tears. This is my honest and unbiased review.

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

 

Caz Frear grew up in Coventry, England, and spent her teenage years dreaming of moving to London and writing a novel. After fulfilling her first dream, it wasn’t until she moved back to Coventry thirteen years later that the second finally came true. She has a degree in History & Politics, and when she’s not agonizing over snappy dialogue or incisive prose, she can be found shouting at Arsenal football matches or holding court in the pub on topics she knows nothing about. Sweet Little Lies is her first novel.

Book reviews, Police procedural, Psychlogical thriller

Stone Cold Heart by Caz Frear – Book Review

0E97A357-3191-4921-A9B3-4FCD350ED1EE

PUBLISHERS BLURB

For fans of BA Paris and Laura Marshall comes the much-anticipated sequel to SWEET LITTLE LIES, the Richard & Judy Search for a Bestseller competition winner.

When DC Cat Kinsella is approached by Joseph Madden for help with his wife, Rachel, there’s not much she can do. Joseph claims that Rachel has been threatening him, but can’t – or won’t – give Cat details as to why. Dismissing it as a marriage on the rocks, Cat forgets about it. Until Joseph is arrested for murder. But it’s not his wife that he’s killed . . .

Naomi Lockhart was a young PA who worked for Rachel’s sister-in-law, Kirstie Connor. She was found dead after a party that Kirstie hosted that was also attended by Rachel and Joseph and evidence links Joseph to her murder.

 

Complications:

 

  1. Joseph’s defence is that his wife is setting him up.
  2. Rachel is outraged at her husband’s arrest and insists that he is innocent.
  3. The evidence against Joseph might not be beyond reasonable doubt.

 

The truth is never simple. Who would you believe?
DFCC2686-82F0-4B62-A987-94BEBC2BB5D5

MY REVIEW

#2 book featuring Cat Kinsella, but while you miss the background to the Maryanne story it’s easy to read as a stand-alone.

DC Cat Kinsella is picking up her coffee from The Grindhouse, and the flirty barista, chases after her, he wants a quick chat. He asks for advice on his wife, said she’s acting oddly and threatening him, saying she will make him pay…..he won’t elaborate any further so Cat tells him it could be Controlling and Coercive behaviour and to speak to his local police station……she then forgets it, but gets her coffee elsewhere from then on…

Then the body of Naomi Lockhart is found and when interviewing friends and family, they find Joseph, the flirty Barista….is a prime suspect.

He says his wife is setting him up……she says he didn’t do it…just who did kill Naomi?

This is told in Cat’s voice, her humour and personality shine through with all its flaws and personal life issues alongside her determination as a detective. The working relationship she has with Parnell feels so true to life, with its banter and emotions…all credit to Caz Frear’s creative writing…..

It’s not a fast paced read, but there are plenty of twists and turns, with Cat’s internal thoughts adding to the investigation, to make this a compelling page-turner…..

Thank you to Tracy and Compulsive Readers for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook.  This is my honest, unbiased review.

You can buy a copy here (and it’s only 99p for Kindle at the moment too)

https://amzn.to/2YnusHn

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

649ADC84-F904-4E88-896B-27C3A4FA6497

Caz Frear grew up in Coventry, England, and spent her teenage years dreaming of moving to London and writing a novel. After fulfilling her first dream, it wasn’t until she moved back to Coventry thirteen years later that the second finally came true. She has a degree in History & Politics, and when she’s not agonizing over snappy dialogue or incisive prose, she can be found shouting at Arsenal football matches or holding court in the pub on topics she knows nothing about. Sweet Little Lies is her first novel. (Courtesy of Goodreads)