blog tour, Book reviews, Spy thriller

The Moscow Whisper by Michael Jenkins – Book Review

73BCAF1A-C125-479B-BB48-E2AE12A6C3D9
PUBLISHERS BLURB
 

‘Sometimes you have to enter the death zone to save the innocent.’

A top-secret clique of former spies meet for dinner to hatch a plan to murder a competitor, not knowing that they are under surveillance from a covert arm of British Intelligence. Hours later, with bodies strewn across a terrace, a piece of secret intelligence reveals an international plot of colossal magnitude.

For disgraced agent Sean Richardson, this is the beginning of a deniable mission to infiltrate and disrupt a group of Russian mercenaries who are working clandestinely to take over a nation state.

Acting covertly as an illicit arms trafficker, Sean is dropped into a deadly cauldron of terrorism and high-tech weaponry that will take a nation down. As the bullets fly and the chaos rains in, can Sean take down the merchants of death…or has he finally met his match?

The third in a set of spy thrillers that have been expertly crafted with stunning plot lines, magnificent locations, and twists that leave you gasping for air. 

Perfect for fans of Frederick Forsyth, Robert Ludlum, Tom Clancy, and Scott Mariani.

16CF3AE5-8755-4276-9DA2-51BE22AC055C

MY REVIEW 

The Moscow Whisper is #3 in the series featuring Sean Richardson, it can be read as a stand-alone (I have read the previous two books).

Sean is a former undercover agent for British intelligence when he is recruited again, by Jack, to work for a very secretive department, putting his life in danger….once again.

Sean travels the world to uncover plots within plot, within plots…..to stop a potential terrorist take over that would have global repercussions. With double agents and so much treachery, it’s difficult to trust anyone…..

Can Sean stop a violent coup?

Wow, what a rollercoaster ride….a twisty, action packed spy thriller, with such a clever, complex plot to keep you guessing. If you like an intelligent, topical spy thriller, then you are going to love this……just brilliantly entertaining from start to a finish that will leave you breathless….

Thank you to Damppebbles Blog Tours for the opportunity to take part in this blog tour, for the promotional material and an eARC of The Moscow Whisper. This is my honest and unbiased review.

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

A807EE77-9CEF-4C58-8260-B21FCDD8383A

I started climbing at 13, survived being lost in Snowdonia at 14, nearly drowned at 15, and then joined the Army at 16. Risk and adventure was built into my DNA and I feel very fortunate to have served the majority of my working career as an intelligence officer within Defence Intelligence, and as an explosive ordnance disposal officer and military surveyor within the Corps of Royal Engineers.

I was privileged to serve for twenty-eight years in the British Army as a soldier and officer, rising through the ranks to complete my service as a major. I served across the globe on numerous military operations as well as extensive travel and adventure on many major mountaineering and exploration expeditions that I led or was involved in.

I was awarded the Geographic Medal by the Royal Geographical Society for mountain exploration in 2003 and served on the screening committee of the Mount Everest Foundation charity for many years. It was humbling after so many years of service when I was awarded the MBE for services to counter-terrorism in 2007.

 

Social Media:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/FailsafeQuery

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/thefailsafethrillers/

Website: https://www.michaeljenkins.org/

 

Purchase Links:

 

Amazon UK:  https://amzn.to/304eLH4 Amazon US: https://amzn.to/3flLXR1

373CCE11-E457-4288-90CE-BF18157D79BE

Book reviews, Spy thriller

Awakening Of Spies by Brian Landers – Book Review

9D91B0A0-FC3C-46A9-A4FC-AB986F0C3CB0

PUBLISHERS BLURB 

 

Thomas Dylan is an unlikely spy.

Rejected by MI6 he joins the Ministry of Defence where his first mission is a total failure. Unexpectedly he is then sent to Rio de Janeiro to recover a submarine interrogator stolen from the US Navy.

 

In Brazil he discovers that those supposedly on his side, MI6 and the CIA, have their own priorities and his life is not one of them.

 

A murderous game which began with the death of a British spy in Argentina is being played out in a city of sun, sea and secret police. When he comes face-to-face with the brutal realities of Brazil’s military dictatorship Dylan has to trust somebody. But who?

 

He knows for sure that the woman he wants to trust has been lying to him from the very beginning. But why?

 

This is a fast-paced thriller in the vein of John le Carré and Eric Ambler.
52764A14-5266-4850-9C67-34CE7D623F6C

MY REVIEW 

 

Awakening Of Spies is the tale of Thomas Dylan, an unassuming man who had believed he was bound for a job behind a desk, but instead ends up as a spy.

There is a marvellously complex plot, lots of action around the world, London, Holland, Brazil…. and plenty of tricks and twists to keep you hooked. There’s also a little romance too. A thoroughly gripping and engrossing spy thriller. I’ll be looking out for the next book in the series.

Thank you to Literally PR for the opportunity to take part in this blog tour, for the promotional material and a copy of Awakening Of Spies. This is my honest and unbiased review.