Audiobook, Spotlight

*AUDIOBOOK SPOTLIGHT* for The Far Wild by Alex Knight

Welcome to The Bookwormery, today I have a SPOTLIGHT for the Audiobook of The Far Wild by Alex Knight…..

I am a big fan of audiobooks and listen to them regularly, this fantasy thriller sounds great.

Here is the publisher’s blurb:

The Far Wild

by Alex Knight and narrated by Peter Kenny, Stephanie Lane) and  Carlyss Peer and is available from Audible.co.uk.

An expedition gone awry.

Suni Koudounas is enamored with the wonders — and dangers — of the Far Wild. As a naturalist’s apprentice, she’s studied every book and expedition report about the miraculous wilderness. But when her mentor goes missing on expedition, Suni sets aside the Far Wild of ink and paper to venture after him into the primordial jungle.

A missing skyship.

As the empire’s most beloved adventurer — or most successful raconteur — Senesio Suleiman Nicolaou doesn’t want much. Wealth beyond measure, fame beyond reason, and a small kingdom somewhere warm should be about enough. When news of the rescue mission reaches him, Senesio knows there’s no better opportunity to add to his living legend.

The most dangerous wilderness known to man. 

With unexpected enemies above and monstrous predators in the jungles below, it’s up to Suni, Senesio, and their companions to uncover the truth of what’s happening in the Far Wild. It’s a revelation that will shake the empire to its core and reshape the lives of all involved — assuming, of course, they don’t all get eaten first.

This thrilling start to Alex Knight’s new fantasy series is perfect for fans of Michael Crichton’s Jurassic Park and Nicholas Eames’s Kings of the Wyld.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Alex Knight is filling good books with bad jokes one sentence at a time.

As an author of LitRPG and Fantasy his work includes the Nova Online Trilogy and the forthcoming fantasy thriller The Far Wild. 

As an aspiring twin he’s not making much progress, but remains determined.

In the past Alex has worked as everything from a dish washer at Busch Gardens to the Communications Coordinator at the Florida Attractions Association. After deciding he didn’t like stability or predictable paychecks he made the jump to being a freelance writer. Soon that turned into ghostwriting romance novellas, then ghostwriting full-blown science fiction novels, and finally, writing his own novels.

Alex grew up a sunbaked, outdoorsy Floridian and has lived in several places around the world. These days he’s on the gulf coast of Texas, in a bayou outside Houston.

When Alex isn’t writing, he’s likely clawing his way through champion rank in Rocket league, hiking, or plotting his triumphant return to Florida.

Spotlight, YA fiction

*SPOTLIGHT* for Number 10 by C. J. Daughterty

Welcome to the Bookwormery for a SPOTLIGHT featuring C. J. Daughterty’s  new novel, Number 10.

PUBLISHERS BLURB 

One of the UK’s most critically acclaimed teen authors returns with a new novel set in the world of her hugely popular Night School series.

Number 10 tells the spinetingling story of 16-year-old Gray Langtry, the daughter of the UK’s female prime minister, who is about to get in way over her head.

After a wild night with friends is splashed across the tabloids, Gray is grounded for two weeks at Number 10 Downing Street, no ifs no buts.

Left alone one night, with her mother at an important meeting, Gray discovers a secret network of government tunnels leading from 10 Downing Street to the Houses of Parliament and beyond.  What starts as a bit of fun, suddenly gets serious, when Gray stumbles across a secret late night cabinet meeting and overhears what sounds like a Russian-led plot to kill her mother.

Wasting no time, she rushes back to inform her mother’s security detail, but with no proof of what she heard, no-one will believe a wayward teenager. Now, it’s up to Gray to break out of Number 10 and warn her mother before it’s too late.

With the help of her best friend Chloe and love interest Jake McIntyre – who just happens to be the son of the leader of the opposition – will she make it in time to save her mother?  And what will she have to sacrifice in the process?

Number 10 is a Night School spin off series that sees CJ Daugherty back at her spine tingling best. Gripping, thrilling, and filled with intrigue, Number 10 explores the nexus of power in the UK from a teenager’s point of view.  

CJ Daugherty’s bestselling Night School books have sold over 1.5 million copies

• Translated into 25 languages worldwide

• Number 10 launches in the UK, USA, France, Germany, Spain, Israel, Latin America

• For fans  of Suzanne Collins, Cassandra Clare and, Holly Black.

About C.J. Daugherty

A former crime reporter and accidental civil servant, C.J. Daugherty began writing the Night School series while working as a communications consultant for the Home Office. The young adult series was published by Little Brown and went on to sell over a million and a half copies worldwide. A web series inspired by the books clocked up well over a million views. In 2020, the books were optioned for television. She later wrote The Echo Killing series, published by St Martin’s Press, and co-wrote the fantasy series, The Secret Fire, with French author Carina Rosenfeld.

While working as a civil servant, she had meetings at Number 10 Downing Street, and saw people disappearing through a small door leading to a staircase heading below ground level. This visit became the inspiration for Number 10.  FYI: She still doesn’t know if there are tunnels below Number 10. But she hopes there are.

Her books have been translated into 25 languages and been bestsellers in multiple countries. She lives with her husband, the BAFTA nominated filmmaker, Jack Jewers.

blog tour, Spotlight

*SPOTLIGHT* on Silence In The Shadows by Darcy Coates

ABOUT SILENCE IN THE SHADOWS

The world continues to change. Each passing day twists it further and pushes the surviving humans closer to the brink of extinction. But, for the first time, there is hope. Clare and Dorran set their sights back on Winterbourne Hall. It’s a daunting journey, but vital. Humanity needs more refuges—safe areas where food can be grown without attracting the attention of the hollow ones. Winterbourne promises to provide that. But their home is no longer a sanctuary…it has become a trap. By the time they realize just how dangerous it is, the door has slammed closed behind them…and their fight for survival is far from over.

Look at this stunning cover!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

Darcy Coates is the USA bestselling author of horror and suspense fiction and has sold over 200,000 eBooks and 50,000 audiobooks. Born in Mascot, Australia, Darcy’s childhood home backed onto a rainforest nature reserve and she got to experience all the wildlife that came with it: possums, foxes, kookaburras, and wild peafowl endangered yellow-bellied gliders, small animals that screamed like someone was being murdered, metre-long goannas who would fight cockatoos to snatch their eggs.

There were even rumours that a platypus was living in the creek in the nature reserve, though she was never lucky enough to see it. She once rescued an injured fledgling magpie (and had its mother attack her when she tried to release it).

Writing Horror Fiction

Darcy’s approach to storytelling is a reversal of the traditional horror structure. The traditional horror story involves penance where the protagonist has “sinned” and the narrative continues with characters confronting their past transgressions. But Darcy writes a different kind of horror: the protagonist is thrust into a bad situation from no fault of their own. They must fight, grow, and be vulnerable in order to survive. But, as long as they never give up, as long as they continue fighting no matter how dark the night gets, they’re rewarded at the end: their struggles were worth something. They can now rest.

Fascination with Haunted Houses

Darcy’s books blend classic gothic fiction and modern horror. She has always been fascinated by the creepy and unsettling, and loves combining traditional horror elements (abandoned houses, ghostly presences, wild forests and secret passageways) with fresh storytelling. Her real-life fears (she’s terrified of mannequins, but clowns are fine!) and inbuilt anxiety was useful for writing creepy fiction: by channelling her fears into her books and then dial them up to ten, thus creating scenarios that resonate with readers.

A fascination with haunted houses arose after scouring her local library shelves for horror novels but coming up empty handed with generic gore stories and metaphorical ghosts. That’s when Darcy decided to write the story herself: the most archetypal haunted house novel she could imagine; the kind of ghost story that could encompass the whole genre – where the ghost was ‘literal’ and not ‘metaphorical’.

Book reviews, FREE ON KINDLE, Spotlight

Vultures by Luke Tarzian

 Just seen this …..FREE FOR KINDLE AT THE MOMENT TOO

 

PUBLISHERS BLURB 

An enemy slain is not a conflict won… 

After decades of war the demon Te Mirkvahíl is dead. But its progeny endure, spilling from the Heart of Mirkúr, sowing death across the land of Ariath. If the people are to finally know peace, the Heart must be destroyed. Theailys An believes he can do just that with The Keepers’ Wrath, an infamous power focus wrought in Ariath’s yesteryears–but the weapon first must be reforged.

War spares no one…

Serece never intended to get involved in Ariath’s war. But history and demons have a way of pulling strings. When she learns Theailys An, a man whom she abhors, bears striking similarity to the first creator of The Keepers’ Wrath, Serece departs

 

her mountain world for Ariath to ascertain the truth.

From patience, hope…

For millennia Behtréal has walked the world alone. Rewriting history to resurrect his people is easier said than done. But Ariath holds the key–soon The Keepers’ Wrath will be remade.

Truth from madness…

As paths converge and a shadow falls across Ariath, one thing becomes increasingly and horrifyingly clear–these events have played out many times before.’

 

FREE ON KINDLE AT THE MOMENT :    https://amzn.to/2TRaDYH 

B0FCAD75-C3F7-4493-B6C7-7E13CF62F0C0

https://amzn.to/2TRaDYH