Book reviews, Fantasy

In Truth, Madness by Imran Khan – Book Review

2F41436A-839C-42C8-B3ED-3312349A3B2F

PUBLISHERS BLURB 

In Truth, Madness is the fictional story of a correspondent driven to despair by the Middle East and South Asia. A reporter strives to find the truth. The more truth they find, the more maddening the world becomes.

Meet Malek Khalil. In his mid-40s, Malek is a brilliant reporter with decades of experience in the field. If there has been a war, natural disaster or political crisis, Malek has been there and will be there.

But the years of conflict reporting have taken their toll and Malek is slowly unravelling. His colleagues, Neeka and Justin, have noticed a change in him. Neeka should know, she has been his producer for decades and knows him better than he knows himself. Justin the cameraman has shot his material for just as long. Together they make a formidable team. But they are only as strong as each other – and Malek is fast going down the rabbit hole.

Born a Muslim but an atheist to his core, Malek undertakes a voyage that takes him around the world and back in time to ancient Babylon as he finds himself arguing with a God in whom he doesn’t believe.

The novel takes place throughout the Middle East, South Asia and London where the backdrop of war, religion, political skullduggery and love play out to take the reader on a journey through some of the most dangerous parts of modern culture and the ancient world.

 

PRAISE

“Life on the road was never this much fun! All reporters should time travel!” – Adrian Finighan. Senior anchor, Al Jazeera English

“A darkly comic tale artfully blending mysticism and current affairs’ – Arwa Damon Senior International Correspondent”

14CFF3EA-BF9B-434D-B614-B25F53B62C07

MY REVIEW 

This is a clever mix of gritty journalism and a fantasy tale…..all told with a lively humour.

There is history, religion and politics in regions around the world, including Afghanistan, Pakistan and Iraq. A mix of current affairs, myth and time travel.

Malek also finds a wondrous book that downloads to his Kindle and here he finds he has a theological debate with a mystery voice…..is it God?

A beautifully written, original and engaging read. 

Thank you to Anne Cater and Random Things Tours for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook and this is my honest, unbiased review

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

C5662EF3-F0AA-433D-99C5-DC1567DC1D3D

Having kickstarted his career in the heady world of 1990s independent magazine publishing with work on Dazed and Confused, and launching seminal style title 2nd Generation, Imran Khan jumped into the mainstream with BBC London – hosting radio shows on popular culture, arts and news as the millennium approached. Despite having a face for radio, in 2001 he produced a series of short documentaries for BBC Newsnight, Britain’s leading current affairs programme. His work was noticed in the aftermath of the September 11th attacks and Channel 4 commissioned the award-winning film “The Hidden Jihad”, which he wrote and presented. Imran subsequently moved full-time into TV news, working as a BBC producer and correspondent reporting from Lebanon, London and Qatar, with freelance stints in Afghanistan and Iraq.

He became a correspondent for Al Jazeera English in 2005 and is known for his extensive reporting from Pakistan, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Palestine and Libya, as well covering the Arab Spring and the conflict in Syria. He continues to work as a correspondent for Al Jazeera English, dividing his time between the Middle East, South Asia and London.

Book reviews, Fantasy, Science fiction

The Undoing Of Arlo Knott by Heather Child – Book Review

456FF6F8-9AA0-4DF6-9870-CF7D54D4E039

PUBLISHERS BLURB 

WHAT IF YOUR LIFE HAD AN ‘UNDO’ BUTTON?

Arlo Knott develops the mysterious ability to reverse his last action. It makes him able to experience anything, to charm any woman and impress any friend. His is a life free of mistakes, a life without regret.

But second chances aren’t all they’re cracked up to be. As wonderful as his new life is, a mistake in Arlo’s traumatic childhood still haunts him and the temptation to undo, undo and keep undoing could be too much to resist.

Mainstream crossover fiction for fans of Matt Haig, Gail Honeyman and Rowan Coleman, from the author of Everything About You.

80A0964A-4FD8-4E29-B626-4C0E181CD5F2

MY REVIEW 

This starts with young Arlo helping his mum in the garden, he’s holding the ladder for her while she sands down some woodwork. He is then distracted by a slowworm and moves away from the ladder……..the tragedy that follows haunts him with guilt….could a slight boy have actually made a difference…?

Arlo then discovers he has a ‘gift’….he can jump back in time a few seconds….with practice this gets a little longer….at first he uses it to get himself out of situations, like eating his nans shortbread, or breaking something….but then he starts using it for his own gain, revenge on a bully, chatting to girls. Somehow just knowing what to say!

He becomes a selfish, self centred young man and takes advantage of many people…but then he falls in love with Sabra, a musician, who came into his life due to an accident that he had caused…….it changed her life plans forever.

While this all seems so lucky, Arlo is always tormented by his actions and never really satisfied with anything and this is a tale of sadness and a bit of melancholy….so many what if I’s?……his gift is a bit of a curse. Can Arlo come to realise his actions have far greater consequences…..? Or will this be his undoing?

I found this to be a captivating read, beautifully written and so thought provoking……who hasn’t had moments of regret and wondering….what if? I can thoroughly recommend it and this will be a must read for Book clubs everywhere.

Thank you to Tracy and Compulsive Readers for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook.  This is my honest, unbiased review.

You can buy a copy here 

https://amzn.to/2YyALMi

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

Heather Child’s experience in digital marketing has brought her into close contact with the automation and personalisation technologies that herald the ‘big data’ age, She lives in Bristol and Everything About You was her debut novel.

Book reviews, Fantasy

Thread of Hope by Rachel J Bonner – Book Review

8E47BEE4-73B7-4A99-9ED8-90378A0E5B81

PUBLISHERS BLURB

The enthralling sequel to the compelling Strand of Faith.

What if your secrets are so dangerous they could destroy the one you love?
Is honesty always the best policy?

Leonie may have run away but Prospero will find her. He loves her and he wants a future with her by his side whatever the consequences. Only when he does find her, he ought to tell her who he really is, outside the monastery. That’ll make her run again. Dare he risk it? But if he doesn’t tell her, someone else may…


Marriage to Prospero is what Leonie wants most and the one thing she knows she can’t have. If he found out what she was really like, what she’d been, what she’d done, he’d despise her and she couldn’t bear that. Better to leave now than live a lie – but it’s harder than she expected. If only…Gabriel is starting to discover the secrets inherent in Leonie, secrets that not even she knows, secrets that will tear the world apart. And the secrets he is keeping are tearing him apart. How can sacrificing those he loves possibly achieve peace when everything he discovers risks the death of
millions?

9377D054-AB15-4899-B2F1-E8ECE74F393F

MY REVIEW

Prospero wants to marry Leonie….but he’s a monk and his order do not marry. He will renounce his vows for her…..

Leonie has her own secrets, scars and nightmares, but Perry (Prospero) understands…

The marriage is agreed, and Perry teaches Leonie more….how to teleport…..is this a good idea?

During an incident  Leonie uses her new ability to save other people. But there are consequences and Leonie is left unconscious, in a coma……no one knows if or when she will wake…..Prospero must deal with his own guilt, he gave her the knowledge…and he feels lost without her….

This is a story of faith, god and fantasy all mixed into a beautifully written tale of love and consequences of our actions….one that will stay with you…

Thank you to Rachel’s Random Resources for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook. This is my honest, unbiased review.

 


Purchase Links:
Amazon Kindle – https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07NBH7J2T
Google Play –
https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Rachel_J_Bonner_Thread_of_Hope?id=bMCSDwAAQB
AJ
Other ebook retailers – https://books2read.com/threadofhope
During the book tour Strand of Faith will be at 99p, Thread of Hope is priced at £2.99.


Strand of Faith details…
A girl. A monk. An unthinkable sacrifice.
When the choice is between love and life, how can anyone decide?
In a post-apocalyptic future, a girl and a monk, both with extraordinary mental powers, have compelling reasons not to fall in love. But their choices will have consequences for the rest of the world.
After the troubles of his youth, Brother Prospero has found comfort and fulfilment in the monastery. Then he discovers something that forces him to reconsider his whole vocation. How can it possibly be right to leave a life of worship and service for human desire? And if he does leave, will the pressures from his past destroy him?


Orphaned and mistreated, Leonie has found sanctuary and safety at the Abbey. When she comes into contact with Prospero everything spirals out of her control. Everyone she’s ever loved has died. She can’t do that to him. But how can she walk away from the first place she’s truly belonged?


Abbot Gabriel is faced with an impossible choice. He can do nothing and watch the world descend into war. Or he can manipulate events and ensure peace – at the cost of two lives that he is responsible for. Is he strong enough to sacrifice those he loves?

 

Strand of Faith Purchase Links


Strand of Faith Amazon https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07GKZT8LF/
Strand of Faith Google Play
https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Rachel_J_Bonner_Strand_of_Faith?id=bQyBDwAAQBA
J
Strand of Faith Other retailers https://www.books2read.com/strandoffaith

 


Author Bio


Rachel J Bonner is the author of the four book Choices and Consequences series, the first of which, Strand of Faith, is due out in November 2018.
Getting a degree in engineering, followed by a career in accountancy is probably not a conventional path to becoming an author, particularly in paranormal romance. Rachel says that, although accountancy isn’t anything like as boring as everyone thinks, writing is a lot more fun. When not writing, she can be found walking in the beautiful countryside near where she lives, which has influenced much of the scenery in her books, or shooting things with her local archery club. Target
shooting only, honest. Nothing to worry about.


She also enjoys swimming, eating chocolate chip cookies and growing aromatic herbs, especially thyme and rosemary. It’s no coincidence that her heroine likes the same things.


Website http://www.racheljbonner.co.uk/
Blog http://www.racheljbonner.co.uk/blogofweek.html
Twitter https://www.twitter.com/racheljbonner1
Facebook https://www.facebook.com/racheljbonnerauthor
Newsletter sign
up http://www.racheljbonner.co.uk/newsletter.html or https://www.subscribepage.com/o8x8t3

<a class=”rcptr” href=”http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/33c69494222/&#8221; rel=”nofollow”
data-raflid=”33c69494222″ data-theme=”classic” data-template=”” id=”rcwidget_ci75sp7x”>a
Rafflecopter giveaway</a>
https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js
OR if you don’t like html or are on WordPress
http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/33c69494222/?