Book reviews

Book.tv launches tonight with a reading from Ruthless Women………LIVE from her home !

Welcome to The Bookwormery this evening, I’m excited at this new channel for BOOKS….launching tonight at 10pm with a reading from Ruthless Women by the author herself…..Melanie Blake 

All you have to do is download OOOOO from the app store on your smartphone, (it’s free), and then open the Book.TV channel at any time between 10pm – 11pm to tune into Melanie Blake’s live reading.

Here are some more details: 

Launching Book.TV with Melanie Blake   

OOOOO the revolutionary live-streaming video platform launch dedicated channel Book.TV with live guest appearance from bestselling author Melanie Blake reading on International Woman’s Day, Monday 8th 10pm  

Developed by the Tech leaders behind Wish.com and Tik Tok, OOOOO is the ground-breaking interactive platform where live entertainment meets shopping; an immersive social realm that presents an exhilarating and interactive live experience across a network of digital ‘tv’ channels dedicated to all interests and passions.

Monday 8th sees the launch of the dedicated channel for avid literature fans and book worms, Book.TV. To mark International Woman’s Day, at 10pm renowned author Melanie Blake will make a guest appearance with a live, intimate reading of her famously scandalous book ‘Ruthless Women’ live and direct from her home to yours. Viewers are also provided with the exclusive chance to purchase signed, limited edition copies during the live performance.

Named “the new Queen of the Bonkbuster” and the rightful heir to Jackie Collins’ crown by The Times UK, celebrity agent and Sunday Times Bestselling author Melanie Blake will launch Book.TV on OOOOO with her smash hit novel – Ruthless Women which is currently at no.4 in the UK bestseller charts. So addictive it’s been described as a “binge read,” Ruthless Women is perfect for fans of Killing Eve and The Devil Wears Prada.

Book.TV – Hear the Story, Meet the Author

Book.TV is a channel devoted to celebrating talented authors, independent bookshops and book worms, delivering a lucrative platform and much-needed boost for the UK’s publishing industry impacted by the pandemic.

Book.TV is an informative and interactive live shoppable channel with the aim to provide entertainment and education to the OOOOO community, immersing them in the world of written word and literature through live, entertaining and shoppable readings.

Book.TV provides the opportunity for established and emerging authors to perform live readings to a highly engaged, interactive crowd. At the same time, the audience can discover new talent, virtually ‘meet and greet’ their favourite authors and enjoy free live, intimate performances.

Content will also be tailored to capture different audiences, with live shows dedicated to the reading of comercial fiction, crime thrillers, YA romance, literary classics, children’s books and timeless comics hosted by the authors themselves. Live shows on he platform are currently reaching up to 10k viewers, with lots of new readers to be made every single night.

The platform is also a unique, lucrative sales channel for the author, publisher or book retailer to gain earning potential during real-time performances. Copies of the narrated book, including exclusive first editions and signed copies, will be available for purchase during the show.

What really makes the live-streamed experience on Book.TV inimitable is both viewers and performers can enjoy two-way interaction, with a cutting-edge integrated ‘tipping’ feature to further bolster earnings during the show. This feature enables fans to purchase and send virtual ‘gifts’ to the narrator, with each symbol representing a monetary value they receive post-show.

OOOOO’s mission to help people earn a living doing what they love, and to build and inspire like-minded communities. The company has also set its sights on building not-for-profit channels, with the aim being to first and foremost educate and inspire the audience. Avenues are also being explored to leverage the concept to drive fundraising efforts for charity beneficiaries.

Laura Palmer Publishing Director at Head of Zeus has said: The new Book.TV channel on OOOOO.com is a game changer for the publishing industry. Imagine if authors could directly sell books to their fans via twitter or Instagram? This is exactly what OOOOO.com offers. At a time when we need diverse retail channels more than ever, when book festivals are postponed and authors are unable to go to signings, OOOOO.com has come up with a solution that the publishing industry badly needs. Melanie Blake’s audience are digital savvy shoppers who are more likely to buy their books on their weekly supermarket shop than visit a bookshop, and as OOOOO.com is the UK’s fastest growing social media app, it has the ability to transform the way not just authors but the entire publishing industry sells books. It’s the beginning of a new digital era for book sales, and I hope as many of the publishing industry as possible tune in at 10pm on Monday 8th March to see how it works.

Melanie Blake, author of bestseller Ruthless Women says: “When I wrote Ruthless Women last March, during the first lockdown, never in a million years did I believe we’d still be in lockdown when it came out. OOOOO.com launching a new channel dedicated to books is a game changer for authors everywhere in the UK. At the moment, as an author, I can’t meet my readers or sign books. Being able to sell signed copies of my book and speak to my readers on OOOOO.com is the closest I will get to a book signing or author event in lockdown. I am beyond honoured to be the first author to launch the new books channel on OOOOO.com. Becoming a Sunday Times Bestseller has been the biggest achievement of my career as an author and now OOOOO.com has found a way for me to share this success with my readers, so I am over the moon. Anyone joining me at 10pm on Monday the 8th March is in for a wild ride as I will be reading from the juiciest parts of my new novel Ruthless Women – trust me when I say it’s not for the faint hearted!”

OOOOO Co-founder, Sam Jones, says: We are thrilled to be launching Book.TV with bestselling author Melanie Blake. The launch of Book.TV is part of our wider goal to provide educational and informative channels for the OOOOO community. Book.TV will connect the audience with the wonderful world of written word, renowned authors like Melanie and emerging talent through a unique, live and interactive experience.  

The past year has resulted in many of us adopting a slower pace of life, spending more time indoors than ever and filling the time once dedicated to socialising. Reading  books is a great distraction, and though many more pages would’ve been turned, the book business has no doubt seen a detrimental impact with book festivals and book signings cancelled, and bookshops both large chains and independent stores closed.

“Our view is that the retail industry will never truly recover from this year. Instead, people will form new habits and seek new ways to earn a living. We want to be part of this inevitable shift, with Book.TV playing a key role in bolstering the publishing industry.”