blog tour, Book reviews, Psychlogical thriller

Hush Little Baby by Jane Isaac – Book Review


PUBLISHERS BLURB 

Someone stole a baby…

One sunny day in July, someone took three-month-old Alicia Owen from her pram outside a supermarket. Her mother, Marie, was inside. No one saw who took Alicia. 

 

And no one could find her.

 

They silenced her cry…

 

Fifteen years later, a teenager on a construction site sees a tiny hand in the ground. When the police investigate, they find a baby buried and preserved in concrete. 

Could it be Alicia?

But the truth will always out.

When Alicia disappeared, the papers accused Marie of detachment and neglect. The Owens never got over the grief of their child’s disappearance and divorced not long after. By reopening the case, DC Beth Chamberlain must reopen old wounds. But the killer may be closer than anyone ever suspected…

The latest crime thriller featuring Family Liaison Officer DC Beth Chamberlain, Hush Little Baby is tightly plotted, fraught with tension and impossible to put down. Perfect for fans of Cara Hunter and K.L. Slater.

19F64152-886F-4D6D-A3EA-29E2CB34A02E

MY REVIEW 

Hush Little Baby is  #3 in the series featuring DC Beth Chamberlain, but can also be read as a stand-alone.

Three month old baby Alicia had been taken from her pram…..disappeared without a trace.

Now, 15 years later the remains of a baby’s body have been found buried on a construction site.

DC Beth Chamberlain is the family liaison officer, assigned to the family and is trying to find the answers they need.

When DNA evidence is found, it throws more questions and thingsgets increasingly dangerous for Beth….and her family. 

Wow, another nail biter of a psychological thriller from Jane Issac. It’s full of emotion and an almost unbearable sense of tension which makes this a true pager turner. I loved every nerve wracking moment…..

Thank you to Vicky and Head of Zeus for the opportunity to take part in this blog tour, for the promotional material and an eARC of Hush Little Baby. This is my honest and unbiased review.

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

29A7CA6C-9CAB-4233-83B8-A5ED9FC85A3D

Jane Isaac is married to a serving detective and they live in rural Northamptonshire, UK with their daughter, and dog, Bollo. Jane loves to hear from readers and writers. 

You can reach her via her website at http://www.janeisaac.co.uk Sign up to her book club at http://eepurl.com/1a2uT for book recommendations and details of new releases, events and giveaways.

 

Follow Jane: 

Facebook: @JaneIsaacAuthor

Twitter: @JaneIsaacAuthor

Website: http://www.janeisaac.co.uK

blog tour, Book reviews, Psychlogical thriller

Playdate by Alex Dahl – Book Review


PUBLISHERS BLURB 

It was meant to be your daughter’s first sleepover.

Now it’s an abduction.

Lucia Blix went home from school for a playdate with her new friend Josie. Later that evening, Lucia’s mother Elisa dropped her overnight things round and kissed her little girl goodnight.

That was the last time she saw her daughter.

The next morning, when Lucia’s dad arrived to pick her up, the house was empty. No furniture, no family, no Lucia.

In Playdate, Alex Dahl puts a microscope on a seemingly average, seemingly happy family plunged into a life-altering situation. Who has taken their daughter, and why?

79E50715-FE02-411D-8223-56AF59EAFCFA

MY REVIEW 

Elisa agrees her 7 year old daughter, Lucia, can go on a playdate and sleepover with her friend for the first time…..

But then the family she was staying with disappear, Lucia along with them. Every parent’s worst nightmare……

Was the sleepover just a plot to take Lucia?

The story then becomes a nationwide obsession as the hunt for Lucia begins.

A very clever plot, told from several perspectives has you totally gripped from start to finish. It’s twisty and fraught with a nerve wracking tension and I found this to be a thoroughly engrossing read.

Thank you to Vicky at Head Of Zeus for the opportunity to take part in this blog tour, for the promotional material and an eARC of Play date. This is my honest and unbiased review.

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

4D92E32E-436F-441F-87E4-7CB054337A3B

Alex Dahl is a half-American, half-Norwegian author. Born in Oslo, she studied 

Russian and German linguistics with international studies, then went on to complete 

an MA in creative writing at Bath Spa University and an MSc in business 

management at Bath University. A committed Francophile, Alex loves to travel, and 

has so far lived in Moscow, Paris, Stuttgart, Sandefjord, Switzerland, Bath and 

London. Her first thriller, The Boy at the Door, was a Sunday Times Crime Club star 

pick and was shortlisted for the CWA Debut Dagger. 

 

Twitter: @alexdahlauthor

Instagram: @authoralex

Facebook: @ alexdahlauthor 

blog tour, Book reviews, Science fiction, Steampunk, YA fiction

The Mechanical Maestro by Emily Owen – Book Review

3B787643-C123-490A-AA1B-795C54CC2ECE
PUBLISHERS BLURB 

Immerse yourself in the world of three brilliant siblings and their musical automaton, Maestro.

London, 1857.

Brothers George and Douglas Abernathy are clockmakers who are barely scraping a living in their family’s shop. They are also brilliant inventors with a sideline building custom- built androids and other technology ahead of its time. Their sixteen-year-old sister, Molly, is also a genius, specialising in transformative plant biology, but earns her keep by sewing.

The Abernathys’ fortunes improve dramatically when the brothers invent a clockwork automaton composer named Maestro, whose musical artistry takes London by storm. But there are those who believe Maestro is a fake, and others who think him a monstrosity.

As Maestro tries to make sense of the world of London’s high- society which he is thrown into, he incites the interest of sinister figures who would go to any lengths to discover what makes him tick.

E4ADF93B-C4DC-4AE7-8725-8AD7A9146DD7

MY REVIEW 

Set in Victorian London, The Mechanical Maestro is a mix of historical fiction and steampunk with lots of music too. It’s the tale of the Abernathy family and their wondrous inventions. It’s aimed at young adults, but I feel there is something for any age to enjoy.

The Abernathy’s, George, Douglas and Molly are inventors.

The brothers work in the clockmaker shop, but they spend a lot of time creating mechanical marvels, such as a clockwork mouse and a chess playing automaton with mixed results. But when challenged to create an automata that can play and create its own music they rise to the challenge and the mechanical maestro comes into being. His incredible music touches the soul.

Meanwhile Molly is working on her botanical inventions which are just as amazing.

A wealthy Lord takes ownership of Maestro, and begins to show him off to London, some believe him to be a trick, others believe he is an abomination….

I love this tale, from the beautiful descriptions of the Victorian world, the vast differences between the wealthy and the poor is clear, to seeing the world through Maestro’s eyes, the beauty in simple things and the sounds around him is a reminder of what we take for granted sometimes. Like seeing the world through the eyes of a child.

I can’t wait to see what the Abernathy family creates next….I’ll be watching for the next book in this series, that’s for sure. 

Thank you to Anne Cater and Random Things Tours for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour,  for the promotional materials and an eARC of the book. This is my honest, unbiased review.

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

Since completing her Masters by Research, Emily Owen has worked as an Archives Assistant at the University of Huddersfield. She lives in Wakefield, West Yorkshire. http://www.e-owen.uk

2FE7A210-6279-4BC3-84A2-3CFF8A7A0FA9