Audiobook, Book reviews, Thriller, True Crime

Bleak Alley by Shane Dunphy – Audiobook Review

1FACD68A-3C0B-4A22-8BB4-8438F2125786
PUBLISHERS BLURB 

True crime within the dark heart of Irish gangs. Featuring original Irish folksongs written and performed by the author, Shane Dunphy.

He seems like a typical 16-year-old boy except that Mikey is walking the knife edge of crime. He’s tough and good with his fists, but when journalist Shane Dunphy is offered the chance to write his story, he discovers a lost, vulnerable child, in danger and desperate for help.

Shane descends into the perilous underworld of organised crime and discovers that the glamour of gangland life is riven with brutality and murder. Far from providing a means of survival for boys from broken families, the price they pay is often with their life.

With skill and empathy, and no little courage, Shane attempts to rescue Mikey from the clutches of warring gangland leaders and to restore the love and harmony of Mikey’s family which has been shattered by poverty and bad blood.

For fans of Peaky Blinders, Bleak Alley is the first in a series of true crime stories from the heart of Irish gangland life. The author provides extensive historical analysis of the rise of Irish street gangs and their outlaw Celtic culture, as well as original Irish folksongs.

Bleak Alley examines serious issues of social deprivation, state indifference and lawlessness with the pace and intrigue of a high-class thriller.

2CF29738-1A1D-4166-93A9-127F961E79EC

MY REVIEW

This audiobook, Bleak Alley is the true crime story of 16 year old Mikey, a young man from a troubled background. His mum is a schizophrenic and his alcoholic dad beats them both regularly. Mikey becomes caught up in a gang. 

Shane, a journalist wants to write about Mikey and wants to try to help him realise that being in a gang, heading for a life of violence and crime isn’t his only option.

This is not a tale for the faint hearted, it’s a gritty look at the reality of gang culture, the violence and exploitation of young vulnerable men in this lawless part of Irish gangland society. Very well read by Shane Dunphy and along with the Irish folk songs make this an unforgettable listen. 

Thank you to Ben at Midas PR for the opportunity to listen to this audiobook for free. This is my honest and unbiased review.

 

Only available from Audible 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s