Book reviews, Historical fiction

A Shadow On The Lens by Sam Hurcom – Book Review (Now available in Paperback)

I originally posted this in September 2019, but as the marvellous book is now available in paperback, I’m just reposting…..

 

PUBLISHERS BLURB 

The Postmaster looked over my shoulder. As I turned to look I saw a flicker of movement from across the street. I felt unseen eyes peer at me.

He walked away without another word. I watched as he climbed onto his bicycle and sped away down the street. I turned back and looked over my shoulder.

Someone had been watching us.

  1. Thomas Bexley, one of the first forensic photographers, is called to the sleepy and remote Welsh village of Dinas Powys, several miles down the coast from the thriving port of Cardiff. A young girl by the name of Betsan Tilny has been found murdered in the woodland – her body bound and horribly burnt. But the crime scene appears to have been staged, and worse still: the locals are reluctant to help.

As the strange case unfolds, Thomas senses a growing presence watching him, and try as he may, the villagers seem intent on keeping their secret. Then one night, in the grip of a fever, he develops the photographic plates from the crime scene in a makeshift darkroom in the cellar of his lodgings. There, he finds a face dimly visible in the photographs; a face hovering around the body of the dead girl – the face of Betsan Tilny.

A757E4BE-D760-4791-8928-BE5402D84ACF

MY REVIEW 

Betsan Tilney has been murdered and her body burnt. Due to the local villagers superstitions, her body is being kept in an abandoned church. They feel the Death is the result of the demon, Calon Fawr.

Thomas Bexley, a forensic photographer is sent to document the evidence, but he is unwell with a fever and starts to see things …including a shape over the body in one of his photographs …or is it just a flaw?

He visits Bethan’s mother and while unwell he is certain she told him, “Do not look for her with your eyes”….

Will Thomas find the killer, or is there something even darker walking in the village?

This is a creepy, gothic supernatural mystery in the vein of Poe and Lovecraft, there are even rats scratching in the ceiling….if like a historical, supernatural mystery then you’ll love this.

Thank you to Tracy and Compulsive Readers for the opportunity to originally participate in the blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook.  This is my honest, unbiased review.

Book reviews, Crime thriller, Murder mystery

No Mercy by Robert Crouch – Book Review


PUBLISHERS BLURB 

COULD YOU KILL IF JUSTICE FAILED YOU? 

Highways Inspector, Derek Forster, couldn’t go on after the death of his wife. Even though he had a secret lover, he took his own life. Or did he? 

Samson Capote, the restaurateur from hell, brutally attacked and left to die in a deep freezer. Did he antagonise too many people? Was he sharing Forster’s secret lover? 

Millionaire entrepreneur, Clive Chesterton, falls from his yacht and drowns in Sovereign Harbour. Why did he have Forster’s missing journals in his cabin? 

When Kent Fisher becomes a murder suspect, he realises he could be the next victim of a killer who shows no mercy. 

Can Kent connect the deaths and solve the mystery before the killer gets to him?

13AF0D9B-0831-4C62-816F-17505948EC74

MY REVIEW 

#5 in the Kent Fisher mystery series and yes it can be read as a stand-alone but you are missing a great series….

Kent is an animal sanctuary owner, an Environmental Health Officer and a private detective, an eclectic mix to say the least. His personal life is a mess, an ex turns up in a wedding dress, wanting him back and  Freya his new partner wants him to decide just want he wants.

But, when a client of Freya’s is found dead, an apparent suicide, she asks Kent to look into it for her. He speaks to the police too and agrees something is not as it seems. So the mystery begins….

When a disgruntled restaurateur, who has made a complaint about Kent and the council, is found dead the mystery deepens. Is Kent himself in danger?

This is an intriguing murder mystery with a great character in Kent, his gentle humour brings a lightness to the tale. Great fun, an intriguing mystery and thoroughly entertaining.

Thank you to the author, Robert Crouch, for the opportunity to read this for free. This is my honest and unbiased review.

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

BE99B6EB-AFED-4D23-A2C5-57717BB37C41

Robert Crouch writes the kind of books he loves to read. Books ranging from the classic whodunit by authors like Agatha Christie, the feisty private eye novels of Sue Grafton, thrillers by Dick Francis, and the modern crime fiction of Peter James and LJ Ross.

He created Kent Fisher as an ordinary person, drawn into solving murders. He’s an underdog battling superior forces and minds, seeking justice and fair play in a cruel world. These are the values and motivations that underpinned Robert’s long career as an environmental health officer.

He now writes full time from his home in East Sussex. When not writing, he’s often find walking on the South Downs with his West Highland white terrier, Harvey, taking photographs and researching the settings for future Kent Fisher mysteries.

 

You can contact him via his website – https://robertcrouch.co.uk

Twitter – @robertcrouchuk

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/robertcrouchauthor