Cosy mystery

Murder At The Dolphin Hotel by Helena Dixon – Book Review

08EAA09E-4A2C-47DF-A4B7-096FD127E66F
PUBLISHERS BLURB  

A room with a view… to murder

June 1933. Independent young Kitty Underhay has been left in charge of her family’s hotel, The Dolphin, on the tranquil English coast. She’s expecting her days at the bustling resort to be filled with comfortable chatter with chambermaids as they polish the mahogany desk and glittering candelabras of the elegant foyer. Everything must be perfect for the arrival of a glamourous jazz singer from Chicago and a masked ball that will be the cultural highlight of the season.

But when several rooms are broken into and searched, including Kitty’s own, she quickly realises that something out of the ordinary is afoot at the hotel. Soon rumours are flying in the cozy town that someone is on the hunt for a stolen ruby. A ruby that Kitty’s mother may well have possessed when she herself went missing during the Great War. And when the break-ins are followed by a series of attacks and murders, including of the town’s former mayoress, it seems the perpetrator will stop at nothing to find it.

Aided by ex-army captain Matthew Bryant, the Dolphin’s new security officer, Kitty is determined to decipher this mystery and preserve not only the reputation of her hotel, but also the lives of her guests. Is there a cold-blooded killer under her own roof? And what connects the missing jewel to the mystery from Kitty’s own past?

A classic page-turning murder mystery! Fans of Agatha Christie, Elizabeth Edmondson and T.E. Kinsey will love this unputdownable whodunnit.

E5698552-C015-43D6-8705-A850DB4E793D

MY REVIEW 

#1 In the Miss Underhay mystery series, set in 1933 Dartmouth.

Kitty Underlay’s grandmother own The Dolphin Hotel in Dartmouth. When a relative has a fall, her grandmother leaves to look after her in Scotland, leaving Kitty in charge.

But, she employs a security officer, ex-Captain Matt Bryant, to keep an eye on Kitty and the hotel as she is concerned about recent events locally.

Kitty is looking forward to her Jazz event she has organised, she even has a jazz singer from Chicago taking part. 

Then there’s breaking in the hotel, some rooms broken into…..but why? Were they looking for something in particular? The local Inspector begins an investigation and Kitty and Matt help too. There are deaths and things turn more sinister.

This is a beautifully written cosy mystery whodunnit in the vein of Agatha Christie and Josephine Tey. Charming, atmospheric and thoroughly entertaining. 

Thank you to Bookouture for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour, for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook.  This is my honest, unbiased review.

 

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

2DB4C0B2-21BE-4195-B8C3-C6B400F9EB92

Nell Dixon was born and continues to live in the Black Country. Married to the same man for over thirty-five years she has three daughters, a cactus called Spike, a crazy cockapoo and a tank of tropical fish. She is allergic to adhesives, apples, tinsel and housework. Her addictions of choice are coffee and reality TV. She was winner of The Romance Prize in 2007 with her book Marrying Max, and winner of Love Story of the Year 2010 with her book, Animal Instincts. She also writes historical 1930’s set cozy crime as Helena Dixon.

 

Author Social Media Links:

Website: http://www.nelldixon.com

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/nell.dixon

Twitter:      https://twitter.com/NellDixon

 

Buy Links: https://geni.us/B07XLM3SM6Social

  

8 thoughts on “Murder At The Dolphin Hotel by Helena Dixon – Book Review”

  1. I have this book on my to read list, seen some widely differing reviews so was a little put off. After reading yours I am considering picking it up sooner rather than later! 😄

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s