Book reviews, Romance

Out With The Ex, In With The New by Sophie Ranald – Book Review

7BF304BC-8A4F-4F24-8A59-216797E6C2BD


PUBLISHERS BLURB 

Gemma didn’t expect her life to look like this. She’s still living with her mother, who steals her leggings and tells her off for leaving crumbs in the butter. After twenty failed interviews she thought she’d got her dream job as a journalist – except it turns out to be writing articles about cats that look like George Clooney. Luckily she has her wonderful boyfriend, Jack, to help her forget just how awful things are.

Then Jack dumps her out of the blue. With nothing but her childhood teddy bear, Stanley, and a whole heap of heartbreak, Gemma resolves to turn things around. She throws herself into her new job and soon she’s hanging out with cheeky, golden-haired hunk Charlie, eating in swanky restaurants and sipping trendy cocktails – and her old life seems like a distant memory.

But it’s not long until her shiny new world starts to lose its sparkle – and Gemma misses the days of wearing battered pink converse and eating peanut butter on toast in bed. Then Jack turns up, backpack in tow, and things start to go wrong with Charlie. ‘Out with the old, in with the new’, the saying goes. But what happens if neither one is quite right?

This laugh-out-loud romantic comedy is for anyone who’s ever cried their eyes out to love songs after a break-up or accidentally drunk-texted their ex. Fans of Sophie Kinsella and Lindsey Kelk will love this unmissable read which is all about falling in love with the most important person: yourself!

This book was previously published as the Truth About Gemma Grey.

A0F92D1D-9550-49A2-8BE0-4E358BB4079D

 

MY REVIEW 

Gemma and Jack have been together for 4 years when Jack says he wants to travel the world with his best friend. So while they initially discuss a long distance relationship, they break up.

So, Gemma takes to YouTube to vent her emotions and goes viral. As a result she becomes an influencer…..! She finds romance with another YouTube star……living the dream right? But is she?

Jack eventually returns from his travels. Will Gemma take him back or decide to make her own life in the real world?

A romantic comedy with a few tough moments and touches on the difficult subject of domestic violence but it’s overall a light, heartwarming tale. 

Thank you to Bookouture for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour, for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook. This is my honest, unbiased review. 

 

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

17203C8E-1C6B-4196-8B2F-0AAB4E0266C3

Sophie Ranald is the youngest of five sisters. She was born in Zimbabwe and lived in South Africa until an acute case of itchy feet brought her to London in her mid-20s. As an editor for a customer publishing agency, Sophie developed her fiction-writing skills describing holidays to places she’d never visited. In 2011, she decided to disregard all the good advice given to aspiring novelists and attempt to write full-time. After one false start, It Would Be Wrong to Steal My Sister’s Boyfriend (Wouldn’t It?) seemed to write itself. Her second, third and fourth novels followed. Sophie also writes for magazines and online about food, fashion, finance and running. She lives in south-east London with her amazing partner Hopi and Purrs, their adorable little cat. 

 

To find out about Sophie’s forthcoming releases and get access to free books and special offers, sign up to her newsletter at sophieranald.com or

 

 

Author Social Media Links:

Website: sophieranald.com

 

Twitter: @SophieRanald

 https://twitter.com/SophieRanald

 

Facebook: www.facebook.com/SophieRanald.

 

Amazon: https://geni.us/B07XY63YRTSocial

Apple Books: https://apple.co/2kzkp3m

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2kzf24f

Googleplay: http://bit.ly/2mwHgx7 

4 thoughts on “Out With The Ex, In With The New by Sophie Ranald – Book Review”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s