Book reviews, Psychlogical thriller, Thriller

The Pact by Amy Heydenrych – Book Review

3D8C488E-59F9-45E8-B282-4BFC8DB45FDF
PUBLISHERS BLURB 

When your dream job turns into a nightmare, who can you turn to? A gripping and chilling suspense novel about the deadly intentions of office life, for fans of The Rumour and Michelle Frances’ The Temp.

What if a prank leads to murder?

When Freya arrives at her dream job with the city’s hottest start-up, she can’t wait to begin a new and exciting life, including dating her new colleague Jay. However, Nicole, Jay’s ex and fellow employee, seems intent on making her life a misery.

After a big deadline, where Nicole continually picks on her, Freya snaps and tells Jay about the bullying and together they concoct a revenge prank. The next morning, Nicole is found dead in her apartment . . .

Is this just a prank gone wrong? Or does Freya know someone who is capable of murder – and could she be next?
A8B7ECF2-E78C-4009-95F7-5A8BD7E16AC3

MY REVIEW 

Freya starts a new job in a fast paced tech company as a data scientist, a coder. She quickly excels at her job, finds romance with a colleague, Jay, but then Nicole, another colleague starts picking fault with her work, her appearance and everything in between. 

She reports the bullying to her boss, But nothing seems to be done. After a drunken evening Jay suggests a prank on Nicole, but when Nicole’s body is found in her flat, they wonder if things went too far. Now Freya is receiving upsetting text messages, someone is watching her……is it Nicole’s killler?

Told in chapters set in the past and present, and from Freya’s and the journalist’s, Isla’s perspectives, showing how events built and how Freya’s health suffered due to the constant stress at work and the investigation into Nicole’s death. A tale of bullying and sexual harassment in the workplace. Tense, twisty and with some real surprises in this gripping psychological thriller.

Thank you to Tracy and Compulsive Readers for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour,  for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook. This is my honest, unbiased review.

 

You can buy a copy here

 

https://amzn.to/2OnZNXL

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Amy Heydenrych is a writer and book blogger based in South Africa. She has been shortlisted twice for the acclaimed Miles Morland African Writing Scholarship. Her short stories and poems have been published in multiple anthologies including Brittle Paper, The Kalahari Review and the Short Sharp Stories anthologies. When she is not writing her own fiction, she ghost-writes books and columns for global tech and financial companies.

  

3 thoughts on “The Pact by Amy Heydenrych – Book Review”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s