Book reviews, Classic Fiction, Classic style whodunnit, Cosy mystery

Blind Witness by Vicki Goldie – Book Review

B9644A41-4DB1-48D4-BCAF-E123A82691C6
PUBLISHERS BLURB 

In 1922 a blind WW1 veteran and former intelligence officer attends a weekend with his aristocratic wife and her family at a country house in the New Forest, Hampshire, England. Fourteen people sit down to dinner on the Friday night; by the end of the weekend there are two murders, an attempted murder and a suicide.

This is book one in a series of humorous murder mysteries and introduces young sleuths The Hon Melissa Charters and her war veteran husband Major Alastair Charters.

The pair collaborate using Melissa’s powers of observation and Alasdair’s old skills gained in the Secret Intelligence Service to investigate the events unfolding over the weekend. A murder mystery with a spy plot told from many different points of view in the tradition of Simon Brett, M C Beaton and Kerry Greenwood.

Will our investigators discover who is behind the murders?

2F716EBC-517F-48E6-8D86-8C0B9087FBBA

MY REVIEW 

Book 1 of the Charters’ mystery series.

Set in the 1920’s U.K., this is a classic style whodunnit. 

Melissa and her husband, Major Alisdair Charters are at a family event, when a body is found. 

Major Charters was blinded by injuries he sustained at war, but his other senses have become enhanced and he is able to listen to those around him, who seem to pretty much disregard him.  But he learns so much.

Can he and Melissa discover the killer before any more deaths?

This is a fast paced, easy to read, fun and glitzy whodunnit, all set among the privileged classes. It has plenty of twists and surprises to make this an immensely enjoyable read. 

Thank you to Anne Cater and Random Things Tours for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour,  for the promotional materials and a free copy of the book. This is my honest, unbiased review.

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

08653921-4281-42F3-B001-D4017C1048E8

Vicki worked as a Chartered Librarian for the Royal National Institute of Blind People and then for the past 19 years in public libraries in Bournemouth and Poole. There she enjoyed arranging and attending writing courses and author events, including such luminaries as Fay Weldon and Peter James. With the Reading Agency and other librarians round the country she reviewed and selected books for The Radio Two Book Club. All the time writing away in her spare time.

Born in California but brought up in England she was introduced to the Golden Age of crime authors at an early age by her mother. She is married to a blind physiotherapist, and it is from his mother, born in a large country house in Devon (now a hotel), educated by governess and with a cut glass voice like the Queen, that she absorbed real life stories about the twenties and thirties.

She has always had a fascination with the Art Deco period and the Golden Age of crime writing. She has been filling her house with Art Deco inspired artefacts and clothing for 40 years.

Blind Witness is her debut novel and is the beginning of the Charters Mysteries Series featuring Major Alasdair Charters and The Honourable Melissa Charters.

1 thought on “Blind Witness by Vicki Goldie – Book Review”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s