Book reviews

Tears Of Fire by Gordon Bickerstaff – Book Review

F4A3617B-DFB1-4F83-84C9-064E137762C6
PUBLISHERS BLURB 

Conspiracy. Espionage. Spy Story. 

Two serial killers have been getting away with murder for years. For them, it’s a well-paid hobby while they bide their time. It’s about to stop when everything slots into place for them to leap to the next level. Payback for the people who killed their parents.

Lambeth Group investigator, Gavin Shawlens, is on their trail. But all is not as it seems and he is pushed way out of his depth when the killers turn on his family. Gavin’s Lambeth Group partner, Zoe Tampsin, is cut off from him and fighting her own battle to stay alive.

They need to connect but Zoe will face an impossible choice. Stop the killers before they pull off the most audacious murder that will shock the world and change it forever. Or, rescue Gavin’s family from the jaws of evil.  
81D7D2A4-7342-4245-A425-B776B36F8396

MY REVIEW 

This is the latest chapter in the Lambeth Group thriller series by Gordon Bickerstaff. 

As always the action starts from the off, so you are totally gripped straight away.

Gavin and Zoe are back! I love the relationship between these two, it really adds depth to their characters, also makes you care for them and I do sometimes worry about their safety!!!

There’s fraud, intrigue involving Korean assassins and lots of action in this great addition to the series…..plenty to keep even hardened ‘spy’ fiction readers thoroughly entertained.

Thank you to Sarah at Book On The Bright Side for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour, for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook. This is my honest, unbiased review. 

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

D5118718-0397-470E-BE61-5A51E21D1562

I was born and brought up in Glasgow, Scotland. I studied biochemistry, and I’ve worked in several Scottish Universities where I did research on enzymes and taught biochemistry. After thirty years of teaching and research I retired my academic pen and took of a fiction pen.

I write medical-themed thrillers. Deadly Secrets was published in 2013, and was followed by Everything To Lose in 2014, The Black Fox in 2015, Toxic Minds in 2016, Tabula Rasa in 2017 and Tears of Fire in 2018. I live in central Scotland with my wife and we enjoy reading, writing, and walking in the hills.

 

Links:

 

Bookbub:  https://www.bookbub.com/profile/gordon-bickerstaff  

 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100012357701552     

 

Twitter:  @GFBickerstaff

 

Goodreads Author Page: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5776209.Gordon_Bickerstaff

 

Website: http://bit.ly/1g4gEoa

 

Book reviews, Classic Fiction, Classic style whodunnit, Cosy mystery

Blind Witness by Vicki Goldie – Book Review

B9644A41-4DB1-48D4-BCAF-E123A82691C6
PUBLISHERS BLURB 

In 1922 a blind WW1 veteran and former intelligence officer attends a weekend with his aristocratic wife and her family at a country house in the New Forest, Hampshire, England. Fourteen people sit down to dinner on the Friday night; by the end of the weekend there are two murders, an attempted murder and a suicide.

This is book one in a series of humorous murder mysteries and introduces young sleuths The Hon Melissa Charters and her war veteran husband Major Alastair Charters.

The pair collaborate using Melissa’s powers of observation and Alasdair’s old skills gained in the Secret Intelligence Service to investigate the events unfolding over the weekend. A murder mystery with a spy plot told from many different points of view in the tradition of Simon Brett, M C Beaton and Kerry Greenwood.

Will our investigators discover who is behind the murders?

2F716EBC-517F-48E6-8D86-8C0B9087FBBA

MY REVIEW 

Book 1 of the Charters’ mystery series.

Set in the 1920’s U.K., this is a classic style whodunnit. 

Melissa and her husband, Major Alisdair Charters are at a family event, when a body is found. 

Major Charters was blinded by injuries he sustained at war, but his other senses have become enhanced and he is able to listen to those around him, who seem to pretty much disregard him.  But he learns so much.

Can he and Melissa discover the killer before any more deaths?

This is a fast paced, easy to read, fun and glitzy whodunnit, all set among the privileged classes. It has plenty of twists and surprises to make this an immensely enjoyable read. 

Thank you to Anne Cater and Random Things Tours for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour,  for the promotional materials and a free copy of the book. This is my honest, unbiased review.

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

08653921-4281-42F3-B001-D4017C1048E8

Vicki worked as a Chartered Librarian for the Royal National Institute of Blind People and then for the past 19 years in public libraries in Bournemouth and Poole. There she enjoyed arranging and attending writing courses and author events, including such luminaries as Fay Weldon and Peter James. With the Reading Agency and other librarians round the country she reviewed and selected books for The Radio Two Book Club. All the time writing away in her spare time.

Born in California but brought up in England she was introduced to the Golden Age of crime authors at an early age by her mother. She is married to a blind physiotherapist, and it is from his mother, born in a large country house in Devon (now a hotel), educated by governess and with a cut glass voice like the Queen, that she absorbed real life stories about the twenties and thirties.

She has always had a fascination with the Art Deco period and the Golden Age of crime writing. She has been filling her house with Art Deco inspired artefacts and clothing for 40 years.

Blind Witness is her debut novel and is the beginning of the Charters Mysteries Series featuring Major Alasdair Charters and The Honourable Melissa Charters.

Book reviews, Crime thriller

Into The Dark by Karen Rose – Book review

16C54D74-14B2-464E-BA10-D8F7158A0C17
PUBLISHERS BLURB 

Sunday Times bestselling author Karen Rose is back with the gripping fifth instalment of the Cincinnati series. Fans of James Patterson, Karin Slaughter and Tess Gerritsen will love this unputdownable race to stop a serial killer out for revenge.

When Michael Rowland saves his younger brother Joshua from the clutches of his stepfather, he runs for his life with his brother in his arms. From his hiding place he sees the man who has made their lives a misery taken away in the trunk of a stranger’s car, never to be seen again.

Doctor Dani Novak has been keeping soccer coach Diesel Kennedy at arm’s length to protect him from her dark secrets. When they are brought together by the two young brothers who desperately need their help, it seems they might finally be able to leave their damaged pasts behind them.

But as the only witness to the man who kidnapped and murdered his stepfather, Michael is in danger. As Diesel and Dani do all that they can to protect him, their own investigation into the murder uncovers a much darker web of secrets than they could have imagined.

As more bodies start to appear it’s clear that this killer wants vengeance. And will wipe out anything that gets in his way…

696E2ECE-3A26-4D9D-B8E6-E12200E8BDAF

MY REVIEW 

#5 in the Cincinnati series but can easily be read as a stand-alone.

Young Michael saves his little brother from an abduction by his stepfather, only then to witness a murder.  

Micheal has been injured, not only during the rescue of his brother, but by the abuse by his stepdad and his mother’s violence. 

The killer is on a mission to stop abusers, to make them suffer before they die, but he knows Michael can identify him.

When Michael’s mother ‘forgets’ to pick up Joshua from soccer, Michael ruses to pick him up and meets Diesel, the coach, who sees his injuries and so takes the boys to Dani, a doctor at the local free clinic. Here the abuse is seen and the authorities get involved. As Michael is deaf, Dani, who is also hearing impaired, can sign with him and a close bond forms.

There’s also a bit of romance between Dani and Diesel, one of the most endearing, yet tough couples. I love their interactions and the gradually growing feelings they have for each other.

This is an emotional, yet dark and compelling thriller. The heartbreaking abuse alongside a murder mystery is so gripping, it made me angry, tearful and tense over and over. An astounding, thoroughly entertaining read. 

Thank you to Anne Cater and Random Things Tours for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour,  for the promotional materials and a free copy of the book. This is my honest, unbiased review.
You can buy a copy here 

https://amzn.to/2puIg6N

 

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

77B8B9A8-B5F4-4132-B0AE-B3AA0B945DA7

KAREN ROSE was introduced to suspense and horror at the tender age of eight when she accidentally read Poe’s The Pit and The Pendulum and was afraid to go to sleep for years. She now enjoys writing books that make other people afraid to go to sleep.

Karen lives in Florida with her family, their cat, Bella, and two dogs, Loki and Freya. When she’s not writing, she enjoys reading, and her new hobby – knitting.

 

PRAISE FOR KAREN ROSE:

‘Intense, complex and unforgettable’

James Patterson

‘Karen rose writes the kind of high-wire suspense that keeps you riveted’

Lisa Gardner

 

   ‘Fast and furious’

The Sun