Book reviews, Classic Fiction, Cosy mystery, Historical fiction

Died And Gone To Devon by T.P Fielden – Book Review

688A3A50-9637-417C-8AAC-A81907F953FF
PUBLISHERS BLURB

X marks the spot for murder…

Temple Regis, 1959: Devon’s prettiest seaside resort is thrown into turmoil by the discovery of a body abandoned in the lighthouse.

It’s only weeks since another body was found in the library – and for the Riviera Express’s ace reporter-turned-sleuth Judy Dimont, there’s an added complication. Her friend Geraldine Phipps is begging her to re-investigate a mysterious death from many years before.

What’s more, Judy’s position as chief reporter is under threat when her editor takes on hot-shot journalist David Renishaw, whose work is just too good to be true.

Life is busier than ever for Devon’s most famous detective. Can Judy solve the two mysteries – and protect her position as Temple Regis’s best reporter – before the murderer strikes again.
2ACDC57C-EDAF-4A97-9C11-45C9CB53E536

MY REVIEW

#4 in the Miss Dimont mystery series, but can easily be read as a stand-alone.

Set in the late 1950’s this is a murder mystery in a classic style.

Judy Dimont, wealthy, independent and a journalist with the Riviera Express newspaper.

In the seaside town of Temple Regis there has been a murder. As more bodies turn up Judy beings her investigation into murders past and present.

This has a marvellous cast of characters and the atmosphere of the post war years, all really brought to life by TP Fielden’s clever plot and wonderfully descriptive writing.

If you like a classic murder mystery in the vein of Josephine Tey or George Bellairs, you’ll love this.

Thank you to HQ for the opportunity to take part in this blog tour, for the promotional material and a free ecopy of the book. This is my honest and unbiased review.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s