Book reviews, Cover reveal

The Scorched Earth by Rachael Blok – Book Review


PUBLISHERS BLURB 

Two years ago, Ben Fenton went camping for the night with his brother Leo. When Ben woke up, he was covered in blood, and his brother had gone. Days later, Ben was facing a charge of murder.

Ben’s girlfriend, Ana Seabrook, has always sworn he was innocent. And now, on the hottest day of a sweltering heat wave, a body has been unearthed in Ana’s village. A body that might be connected to what really happened between Ben and Leo that fateful night.

DCI Jansen, of St Albans police, is sure that Ana has something to hide. But until the police track down the identity of the body, he can’t work out how everything’s connected. Will Ana’s secrets stay buried forever? Or can Jansen bring them to light?

A6E01D09-49A3-47B3-A41D-27D7CC9E8495

MY REVIEW 

Brothers Ben and Leo want on a camping trip. One morning Ben woke, covered in blood and Leo was missing. He was arrested and imprisoned for murder, even though a body wasn’t found.

2 years later, Ben’s girlfriend, Ana hears of a body being discovered in a freshly dug grave….is this Leo’s body?

This is a tension packed whodunnit mystery with enough twists to keep you guessing.

I have to admit I struggled to get into this at the start, due to the staccato, short sentences, but I soon got into the rhythm and I found it really helped ramp up the tension. Did Ben kill Leo? Who dug the grave?

A twisty, tense and thoroughly entertaining read.

Thank you to Vicky Joss at Head Of Zeus books for the opportunity to take part in this blog tour, for the promotional material and a free ecopy of the book. This is my honest and unbiased review.
D43D95C2-E903-46D8-85AF-CC18D8C38F0F

Book reviews, Classic Fiction, Cosy mystery, Historical fiction

Died And Gone To Devon by T.P Fielden – Book Review

688A3A50-9637-417C-8AAC-A81907F953FF
PUBLISHERS BLURB

X marks the spot for murder…

Temple Regis, 1959: Devon’s prettiest seaside resort is thrown into turmoil by the discovery of a body abandoned in the lighthouse.

It’s only weeks since another body was found in the library – and for the Riviera Express’s ace reporter-turned-sleuth Judy Dimont, there’s an added complication. Her friend Geraldine Phipps is begging her to re-investigate a mysterious death from many years before.

What’s more, Judy’s position as chief reporter is under threat when her editor takes on hot-shot journalist David Renishaw, whose work is just too good to be true.

Life is busier than ever for Devon’s most famous detective. Can Judy solve the two mysteries – and protect her position as Temple Regis’s best reporter – before the murderer strikes again.
2ACDC57C-EDAF-4A97-9C11-45C9CB53E536

MY REVIEW

#4 in the Miss Dimont mystery series, but can easily be read as a stand-alone.

Set in the late 1950’s this is a murder mystery in a classic style.

Judy Dimont, wealthy, independent and a journalist with the Riviera Express newspaper.

In the seaside town of Temple Regis there has been a murder. As more bodies turn up Judy beings her investigation into murders past and present.

This has a marvellous cast of characters and the atmosphere of the post war years, all really brought to life by TP Fielden’s clever plot and wonderfully descriptive writing.

If you like a classic murder mystery in the vein of Josephine Tey or George Bellairs, you’ll love this.

Thank you to HQ for the opportunity to take part in this blog tour, for the promotional material and a free ecopy of the book. This is my honest and unbiased review.