Book reviews, Crime thriller, Police procedural

The Snow Killer by Ross Greenwood – Book Review

15FED856-AA93-4BA8-849A-4299D87F312A
PUBLISHERS BLURB 

‘FEAR THE NORTH WIND. BECAUSE NO ONE WILL HEAR YOU SCREAM…’

A family is gunned down in the snow but one of the children survives. Three years on, that child takes revenge and the Snow Killer is born. But then, nothing – no further crimes are committed, and the case goes cold.

Fifty years later, has the urge to kill been reawakened? As murder follows murder, the detective team tasked with solving the crimes struggle with the lack of leads. It’s a race against time and the weather – each time it snows another person dies.

As an exhausted and grizzled DI Barton and his team scrabble to put the pieces of the puzzle together, the killer is hiding in plain sight. Meanwhile, the murders continue…

The first in a new series, Ross Greenwood has written a cracking, crackling crime story with a twist in its tale which will surprise even the most hardened thriller readers. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham and Stuart MacBride.

AB3159D1-0D06-48E8-A4E7-A779FAAF547A

MY REVIEW 

Fifty years ago 3 men shot 4 people…..a father, mother and two children….left for dead in the snow, only 1 survived.

They grow up cared for by Uncle Ronnie, learning the tricks of a thief and poacher, always with thoughts of revenge. When the Uncle dies, they take the name Ronnie and exact their revenge……

Now it’s the present day, it’s snowing and a body has been found…

DI Barton is investigating the murder and things get dark….can he catch the a Snow Killer before any more deaths?

This is an incredibly gripping thriller,  just when you think you know where the tale is going a gasp inducing twist keeps you guessing. Clever plot, fast paced, dark and twisty…..brilliant. 

Thank you to Megan and Boldwood Books for the opportunity to be part of this blog tour, for the promotional material and a free ecopy of the book. This is my honest and unbiased review. 

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

87FE3B2F-6809-4FD6-9EBE-5353DC833290

Ross Greenwood, an author from Peterborough, has written six crime thrillers. He uses his experience of travelling and working all over the world to create layered believable characters that will capture your imagination. In 2011, Ross decided to take on a new challenge and became a prison officer. He writes murderers, rapists and thieves brilliantly because he worked with them every day for four years

 

Praise for The Snow Killer:

 

‘Move over Rebus and Morse….Explosive plot kept me turning the pages until the final dramatic twist.’ author Richard Burke

 

‘With The Snow Killer, master of the psychological thriller genre Ross Greenwood once again proves his talent for creating engrossing and gritty novels that draw you right in and won’t let go until you’ve reached the shocking ending.’ Caroline Vincent at Bitsaboutbooks blog

 

‘Ross Greenwood doesn’t write clichés. What he has written here is a fast-paced, action-filled puzzle with believable characters that’s spiced with a lot of humour.’ author Kath Middleton

 

WHAT READERS THINK OF THE SNOW KILLER:

‘Absolutely brilliant!!’

‘A crime novel with a social conscience.’

‘ It grabbed me a few pages in and wouldn’t let go’