Audiobook, Book reviews, Psychlogical thriller

Sleep by C.L. Taylor – Audiobook Review. @callytaylor @AvonBooksUK @audiobooks_com #Sleep

4295B0FC-DCA0-496C-84E6-CFAF4E17558C
PUBLISHERS BLURB 

Seven guests. Seven secrets. One killer. Do you dare to SLEEP?

‘Beware! Sleep does not do what it says on the tin: I was awake until the small hours under its dark and twisty spell.’ FIONA BARTON

All Anna wants is to be able to sleep. But crushing insomnia, terrifying night terrors and memories of that terrible night are making it impossible. If only she didn’t feel so guilty…

To escape her past, Anna takes a job at a hotel on the remote Scottish island of Rum, but when seven guests join her, what started as a retreat from the world turns into a deadly nightmare.

Each of the guests have a secret, but one of them is lying – about who they are and why they’re on the island. There’s a murderer staying in the Bay View hotel. And they’ve set their sights on Anna.

Seven strangers. Seven secrets. One deadly lie.

The million-copy bestseller is back in her darkest, twistiest book to date. Read it if you dare! Perfect for fans of Lesley Kara’s The Rumour and Cara Hunter’s DI Fawley Thrillers.

E7873A00-3FAE-4D60-834D-D6395B800289

MY REVIEW 

I was hooked from the very beginning, what a start! Read by Clare Corbett over 8hours 55mins, this is totally immersive. Clare is an excellent reader, she manages to convey the tension, emotions and each character is easily distinguishable. 

The story itself is about Anna.

Anna was the driver of a car that was involved in an accident that resulted in the death of two people and injuring a third…..she holds herself responsible and has insomnia and nightmares.

Trying to pull herself together, she takes a job on a small island in Scotland…..but there meets all sorts of characters…..they all seem to have secrets …and so the tension begins…

CL Taylor’s writing draws you in as if you were watching the story unfold from a distance, feeling very emotion……and fear! Just who is the guilty one ?…Heart pounding stuff.

I would like to thank Sanjana at Avon Books for the opportunity to be part of the blog tour, and for a copy of this audiobook from Audiobooks.com for free. This is my honest and unbiased review.

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

C.L. Taylor lives in Bristol with her partner and young son. She is a five times Sunday Times bestseller and her books have hit the number one spots on Amazon, Kobo, Audible, iBooks and Google Play. Cally has a degree in Psychology, with particular interest in abnormal and criminal Psychology. (Courtesy of Goodreads).

 



Book reviews, Family drama, Psychlogical thriller

Good Little Liars by Sarah Clutton – Book Review @sarahmclutton @bookouture #GoodLittleLiars

4478A203-EE67-4D93-BA48-6E3EFC6F167F
PUBLISHERS BLURB 

Your school friends know who you were before the flattering haircut, the great career, the loving family. They know secrets you’ve kept…

It’s been twenty-five years since Emma graduated from the prestigious Denham House Girls’ School. She thinks she’s finally shaken the shadow of the awkward, neurotic girl she was at school. But as a class reunion approaches, Emma finds herself right back there, moving into the headmaster’s old staff cottage with her daughter while her marriage implodes. It’s here though that Emma finds a photograph that had been hidden away: an explicit image of her school-friend Tessa, staring boldly at the camera, dated the day before her death.

Between catching up with old friends Marlee and Clementine, home for the reunion, and the demands of single parenthood, Emma has enough to distract her. But she can’t shake the image of the photograph. And the thought that this is proof of something she has long suspected: Jon Brownley, the current headmaster, was involved with Tessa. Emma had seen them arguing in the school grounds back then, and always regretted not speaking up after the death was ruled an accident. Now she’s certain she let Tessa down.

Marlee and Clementine have their own complex feelings about returning to their hometown. And when Emma starts to question what really happened to Tessa, all women must deal with the consequences of decisions they made all those years ago. Because the more Emma digs into the past, the more she discovers that everyone remembers it differently, and that the innocent schoolgirls she thought she knew, might be hiding some very big secrets.

A page-turning novel about family drama, lies, and the secrets we keep to protect those we love. Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, The Silent Wife and Kerry Lonsdale.

 

BD5D832C-7ED6-4E08-8CA7-E9462937B346

MY REVIEW

Set in Tasmania, Emma works for the admin department of Denham House School. She’s helping with the schools 25 year reunion when she sends an email intended for her friend Marlee, but she’s hit reply all by mistake. She’s sent an old school photo and some personal remarks about her husband and gives the impression she knows more about how her school friend Tessa had died.

Mortified, she leaves work early, only to arrive home and find her husband naked with their cleaner, Pia.

Meanwhile, Marlee has a new job in an architect’s office, and has a bit of a crush on her new boss, Ben, whose daughter has just been found in possession of drugs and could lose her job at the school.

Clementine, a successful artist is reluctantly returning to Hobart, just for the reunion.

There is the mystery surrounding Tessa’s death, but I felt this is primarily about the lives, relationships and drama’s of the three friends. It’s told with chapters from each of the main character’s perspectives and moves through past and present events to build the story. Not the fastest paced, but it helps build the characters and reveals the secrets that have been kept for years. A very engaging mystery drama.

Thank you to Bookouture for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook. This is my in honest, unbiased review. 

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

E55D3CF3-6404-4652-90B7-11C46F178A49

Sarah Clutton is an Australian author and former lawyer whose debut novel, Good Little Liars, mixes suspense and domestic drama with nuanced characters. Having majored in psychology in her original degree, Sarah is fascinated by people. How does the past shape us? Can we can learn empathy? What determines the outcomes when moral and legal boundaries collide?

Sarah’s work earned her the Dymocks/Fiona McIntosh Commercial Fiction Scholarship in 2018, a coveted national award run by one of Australia’s most successful commercial fiction authors and sponsored by Australia’s largest book chain. An alumna of the Australian Writers’ Centre novel writing course, and with a mostly-finished Master of Arts (Writing) that she has no interest in finishing because she prefers making stuff up, Sarah lives with her family in the very pretty tourist town of Bowral, near Sydney. She has lived all over Australia, and if she didn’t live in Bowral, she would live in Hobart, the most beautiful city she knows.

 

Author Social Media Links

 

FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/sarahcluttonauthor/

 

TWITTER: https://twitter.com/sarahmclutton