Book reviews, Crime thriller, Police procedural

The Silence Of Severance by Wes Markin – Book Review. @markinwes @cazvinbooks @TheSilenceOfSeverance

D8CB6000-CE71-4E54-8E40-5EE611AD868F
PUBLISHERS BLURB 

Your wedding day should be the most unforgettable day of your life. And this is one wedding that will never be forgotten.

When a police officer’s wedding day ends in brutality and chaos, DCI Michael Yorke is pulled away from his own wedding and into the bloodiest chain of events Wiltshire has ever seen.

As a heatwave tightens its grip on Salisbury, Yorke and his team face a race against time to find the most sinister and intelligent adversary they have ever faced. Christian Severance. But as the team chase Severance into the shadows of a dark past, Yorke’s own history starts to drag itself into the present. 

Can they stop Christian Severance before he achieves the unthinkable? And will Yorke survive the revelations that claw at him from the darkness?

 

 

The DCI Yorke Series:

#1 One Last Prayer for the Rays ​: bit.ly/OneLastPrayerfortheRays​ 

#2 The Repenting Serpent​​: bit.ly/RepentingSerpent

#3 The Silence of Severance​​: bit.ly/SilenceofSeverance

5B377AE9-344C-4F01-A687-D202D76F07C4

MY REVIEW 

This is #3 in the DCI Michael Yorke series, I found it can easily be read as a stand-alone.

I was hooked right from the start . A police officers wedding end is a bloody, chaotic mess… and DCI Michael Yorke is called in to investigate.

A suspect is identified as Christian Severance and so the chase begins. As the murders and mutilations continue the tension builds! Can they stop him before he carries out his plan? 

This is not a book you can leave as you really do need to know what’s going to happen next in this nail biting thriller. With lots of twists this is dark and utterly compelling.

Thank you to Caroline Vincent and Bits about Books for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour, for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook  in exchange for my honest, unbiased review.

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

60168700-DC19-4167-8132-1E74F2B522A1

Wes Markin is a hyperactive English teacher, who loves writing crime fiction with a twist of the macabre.

Having finished the third instalment in the DCI Yorke series, ‘The Silence of Severance’, Wes is now working on the fourth instalment of DCI Yorke’s wild ride. He is also the author of ‘Defined,’ a prequel to his DCI Yorke novels, which takes the reader back to his blood-soaked university days.

Born in 1978, Wes grew up in Manchester, UK. After graduating from Leeds University, he spent fifteen years as a teacher of English, and has taught in Thailand, Malaysia and China. Now as a teacher, writer, husband and father, he is currently living in Harrogate, UK.

Wes Markin on Social Media

Twitter​​​twitter.com/MarkinWes

Facebook Author Page​www.facebook.com/WesMarkinAuthor

Goodreads Author Page​bit.ly/GRtoWesMarkin

Amazon Author Page​author.to/WesMarkin

CAROLINEVINCENT.CO.UK | caroline@carolinevincent.co.uk

 

Book reviews, Cosy mystery, Home

A Spell Of Murder by Kennedy Kerr – Book Review. @kennedykerr5 @bookouture @ASpellOfMurder

65C8A735-C84A-4317-AE17-907D9E00E130
PUBLISHERS BLURB 

In the sleepy town of Lost Maidens Loch, people sometimes disappear… Down a quiet lane in town sits a little shop full of oddities you’d probably miss if you weren’t looking for it. This is Love’s Curiosities Inc., and its owner, Temerity Love, is sought by experts all over the world for her rare and magical gift: the ability to find lost things and learn their stories.

When Lost Maidens’ pretty local school teacher is found murdered by a poisoned cup of tea, a strange antique hand mirror is discovered nearby. Temerity – with the help of witchy sister Tilda, their cats Scylla and Charybdis and the lovingly eccentric local townspeople – is determined to divine the story behind the mirror and its part in Miss Molly Bayliss’ untimely death.

If only grumpy out-of-towner Angus Harley of Lost Maidens Police wasn’t on the scene. Temerity can’t solve the crime without him, but he’s distracting, and in more ways than one. Can this unconventional duo solve the most mysterious murder ever to blight Lost Maidens Loch before the killer strikes again?

A magical and unputdownable whodunnit, perfect for fans of Adele Abbott, Amanda M. Lee and Leighann Dobbs.

97652881-7BE4-4B30-B6F5-B8E5677D8224

MY REVIEW 

A Spell of Murder is the start of a new series by Kennedy Kerr. 

This is a cosy mystery, with a magical touch. 

Set in Scotland, Temerity Love runs a shop, Love’s Curiosities and lives over the store with her sister Tilda. They share their home with two cats and a large parrot, Hebrides. 

Both the sister have a touch of magic about them, Tilda is a herbalist and a witch, and Temerity has a gift of being able to find lost things….

When a local teacher is found murdered, the local police investigate, with the help of Temerity. 

This is a unique take on a police procedural, with well developed, quirky characters and a twisty plot. All in all an engaging and entertaining tale.

Thank you to Bookouture for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook. This is my honest, unbiased review. 

 

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

FBF4D609-A44E-41B5-A758-0CCD7FDA408B

Kennedy Kerr is the author of the Lost Maidens Loch witch-themed cozy mystery series. She is from a Scottish family and adores the magic and mystery of Scotland and all the Celtic lands: cairns, misty mountains, stone circles and misty lochs are her particular favourite things. She is the proud owner of a cuddly black cat called Twinkle, who evidently believes she is a princess.

Kennedy also loves cooking and baking all types of food, which is almost as much fun as eating it.

 

Author Social Media Links

 

FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/kennedykerrauthor/

 

TWITTER: https://twitter.com/KennedyKerr5

 

Book reviews, Classic Fiction, Fantasy

Foxfire, Wolfskin and other Stories of Shapeshifting Women by Sharon Blackie – Book Review. @sharonblackiemythmakings @annecater @septemberbooks @RKbookpublicist #FoxfireWolfskin

52BACF2A-2B0F-44ED-9660-D08665B1C119
PUBLISHERS BLURB 

Part rally cry, part warning, part manifesto and all parts enchanting, Sharon Blackie’s Foxfire, Wolfskin is a deeply evocative and haunting collection. Humming with the strength of our immutable voices, each story sings with the transformation that is possible when women take agency of our lives. I want to press this powerful book into the hands of everyone I know and say, listen.’  Holly Ringland, author, The Lost Flowers of Alice Hart

‘Sharon Blackie has wrought a new-old magic for our times: glorious, beautiful, passionate myths written for this critical moment in time. They show who we could have been, and they give us a glimpse of a world-that-could-be. There’s still time to make it happen.’ Manda Scott, author of the Boudicca series, and A Treachery of Spies

Charged with drama and beauty, this memorable collection by a master storyteller weaves a magical world of possibility and power from female myths of physical renewal, creation and change. It is an extraordinary immersion into the bodies and voices, mindscapes and landscapes, of the shape-shifting women of our native folklore.  We meet the Water Horse of the Isle of Lewis, the huldra, the Scandinavian supernatural forest-dweller, and Baba Yaga of Slavic folklore (but will she help you or kill you?) Here too is the Snow Queen; the wild bird-woman of the Sliabh Mis Mountains; Blodeuedd, the Welsh ‘flower-faced’ woman.  

Drawing on myth and fairy tales found across Europe – from Croatia to Sweden, Ireland to Russia – Sharon Blackie brings to life women’s remarkable ability to transform themselves in the face of seemingly impossible circumstances. These stories are about coming to terms with our animal natures, exploring the ways in which we might renegotiate our fractured relationship with the natural world, and uncovering the wildness – and wilderness – within.

 

57CC724F-A104-486B-80A6-CA5743C9A369

MY REVIEW

This is a collection of short stories with a theme of strong women, all based on myths and legends from countries around the world. 

But, it’s not that simple…..there is magic, heartbreak, love, fear and power. It is beautifully written and really touches a nerve at times and will make you laugh and cry. 

For me, Last Man Standing is heartbreaking, and will make you cry for the old man. For the world we are destroying, but it has love at its core. 

Wolfskin, shows the cruelty of some men, and their comeuppance. 

Foxfire, is just stunning, the descriptions of the woods and the amber fox are just so clear, you can almost feel the silence of the forest.

This is just three tales, but there are many more intense and powerful stories, each with a lovely, simple illustration too.

I have fallen in love with this book and will be encouraging everyone to read it…..there will be at least one story that touches your soul. 

Thank you to Anne Cater and Random Things Tours for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the book. This is my honest, unbiased review.
You can buy a copy here

https://amzn.to/2n4LtZC

37FFFE3F-B173-4892-A3BC-B3BD01214C93

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

FB67DDB5-A592-4EC1-ADE3-ADFBFD4312F5

SHARON BLACKIE:

Dr Sharon Blackie is a writer, mythologist and psychologist, and an internationally recognised teacher of the mythic imagination. Her bestselling book, If Women Rose Rooted, won a 2016 Nautilus award, and laid out a haunting heroine’s journey for every woman who finds power, inspiration and solace in the natural world.  She has an international following through her online communities, and the courses and workshops she offers through ‘The Hedge School’. Her first novel, The Long Delirious Blue, was described by the Independent on Sunday as ‘hugely potent’. She lives in Connemara, Ireland. http://www.sharonblackie.net.

‘A new Sharon Blackie is always a cause for celebration’ Melissa Harrison

Sharon Blackie’s titles available from September publishing: The Enchanted Life (ISBN 978-1910463888, £14.99) and If Women Rose Rooted (978-1-912836-01-7, £8.99 paperback published August 2019)