Book reviews, Children’s fiction

Timothy Mean And The Time Machine by William A. E. Ford – Children’s Book Review

A slight change of genre for me !

 

PUBLISHERS BLURB 

2019 READERS FAVORITE BEST SCI-Fi \ FANTASY CHILDREN’S BOOK AWARD*

With Timothy Mean’s amazing imagination and time machine, anything and anywhere is possible! 

Join Timothy on a magical rhyming adventure as he skips through time and pranks with pirates, gets daring with dragons, and even teases a T-Rex!

“It’s Monday. Hip hip hooray! Where shall we travel in time today?

With Timothy Mean, every day is a rhyme in time!

DA203A47-3963-4523-AACE-F62F481091CC

MY REVIEW 

Timothy is a bit of a rascal, he’s bored so in his imagination he builds a time machine and has a marvellous adventure every day of the week.

This is a simple rhyming story with an easy cadence and children will love its humour and the pranks he pulls. 

I’ve seen some reviews that feel there should be repercussions for Timothy’s behaviour and Yes they could be seen as naughty but his name is Timothy MEAN….so children will be able to make the link…..or the adult could ! And have a chat after the story..

I found this to be absolutely charming, it’s fun and the illustrations are so bright and full of details….I’ll certainly be getting a hard copy for my granddaughter.

Thank you to The Author for a free copy of Timothy Mean and The Time Machine. This is my honest and unbiased review.

you can buy a copy here 

https://amzn.to/2lyfi3P

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

William has always had a passion for books, writing and story-telling. William’s favourite way to end a cosy evening is to spend time dreaming up and reading bed-time stories to his five wonderful children.

Just one of his many stories, ‘Timothy Mean and the Time Machine’ was inspired by the spark of his children’s colourful imaginations as they tirelessly created unique, laughter filled days from even the most mundane, everyday objects and situations!

Born in England, William currently lives in Oslo, Norway with his wife and five children.

‘Timothy Mean and the Time Machine’ winner of the Readers Favorite Children’s Sci-Fi / Fantasy 2019 Award’ is William’s first published work and he plans to publish more books shortly. (Courtesy of Goodreads)

Book reviews, Psychlogical thriller

The Liar’s Sister by Sarah Denzil – Book Review

61AF0848-9BC3-4D8A-A00E-AF981E8C62C5

PUBLISHERS BLURB 

A SHOCKING DISAPPEARANCE. A VILLAGE FULL OF SECRETS.

Ten years ago, a boy named Samuel Murray went missing from the quiet village of Buckthorpe and was never seen again.

Rosie Sharpe cried over her missing friend for weeks after.

But her little sister Heather knows that Rosie’s tears hide the truth. 

Because the night Samuel was last seen, Heather watched her older sister climbing back through the window of their childhood bedroom. Her jacket torn, her eyes wild and her body trembling with fear.

Heather never told anyone what she saw, but secrets can’t stay buried forever…

A decade later, Rosie and Heather return to the home they grew up in when their mother falls ill. But when their house is ransacked and they receive a threatening note, it becomes clear that someone in the close-knit village doesn’t want them there.

When Heather finally confronts her sister about what really happened on the dark, rainy night Samuel vanished, Rosie’s version of the truth is more shocking than she could ever have imagined. But can she trust her sister? And who broke into their house that night? As the lies of the past begin to unravel, they have the power to put the lives of both women in terrible danger…

This twist-filled, page-turning psychological thriller from the million-copy-bestselling author of Silent Child will keep you hooked until the final, jaw-dropping pages. Perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors and The Girl on the Train.

 

F4F1F21D-A7D7-4879-BAF4-9BDB4FC12FB4

MY REVIEW 

This starts with Heather writing a letter to her sister Rosie….it says she thinks she is a murderer.

Heather returns home to support her mother, who is near the end of her life. She wants to see Rosie too. But, Heather and Rosie have drifted apart since Heather’s friend Samuel disappeared ten years ago.

Rosie was troubled, with various addictions and even passed out behind a sofa at her father funeral…

So Heather contacts her sister and she arrives, clean and sober to say her goodbye to her mother. But they receive a note after a break in and it seems the local village want them all gone. But why?

Told from each of the women’s perspective and from the past and present, we find out what happened all those years ago…this is a story of family and secrets….but who else knows ?

The Liar’s Sister is a fast read, in that it keeps your attention throughout, with secrets, lies and a marvellously twisty plot. Thoroughly entertaining.

Thank you to Bookouture for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour, for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook. This is my honest, unbiased review. 

 

You can buy a copy here 

 

https://amzn.to/2ntJXQm

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sarah A. Denzil is a British suspense writer from Derbyshire. In her alternative life–AKA Sarah Dalton–she writes speculative fiction for teenagers, including The Blemished, Mary Hades and White Hart.

Sarah lives in Yorkshire with her partner, enjoying the scenic countryside and rather unpredictable weather. 

Saving April, Sarah’s debut suspense thriller, is a psychological look into the minds of the people around us who we rarely even consider – our neighbours. What do we really know about them, and what goes on when the doors are closed?

 

Author Social Media Links:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/sarahadenzil/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/sarahdenzil

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/marmiteandbooks/

Website: https://www.sarahdenzil.com/

 

Book reviews, Psychlogical thriller

Dying To Tell by Keri Beevis – Book Review

F65A21DB-5DFC-437A-A10A-15A020574F0E

PUBLISHERS BLURB 

As the only survivor of a horrific car crash, Lila Amberson believes she is on the road to recovery after she is released from the hospital. Her memories of the accident are blurred though and a series of unsettling incidents leave her fearing for her safety. Does she have survivor’s guilt or is something molre sinister at play?

Jack Foley is reeling from the shock of losing his sister in the crash and when he first meets Lila, he lashes out, blaming her for Stephanie’s death. But when Lila gives him a locket that she believes belonged to his sister, it presents more questions than answers.

As Lila and Jack work together to find out what really happened on the night of the accident, they are unaware that someone is watching them closely. Someone who has much to lose if the truth comes out, and someone who is prepared to do everything necessary to ensure all loose ends are taken care of.

Keri Beevis - Dying to Tell_cover

 

MY REVIEW 

A tense psychological thriller set in Norfolk, in places I have been many times so it had a sense of familiarity to it for me.

Lila wakes in hospital with no memory of the car accident that left her the sole survivor. She was a passenger in her dates car, so no fault of hers.

She leaves hospital and starts to have flashbacks of the accident, she knows a young girl, Stephanie, who was driving the other car had died and wants to pay her respects at the funeral. Here she meets her brother, Jack, who is less than welcoming.

However, he feels bad for being so rude to her and he meets her to apologise….is there a budding romance here?

But, something sinister is lurking and first Lila gets pushed into the road, a bus just missing her, then there’s an intruder in her house….why would anyone want to hurt he

As Jack and Lila delve into Stephanie’s life, they find mention of The Bishop and threats of blackmail. Was the car accident really an accident? Who feels so threatened by Lila?

The characters are well developed and Lila and Jack are really likeable, which builds the tension even more, Others are plain creepy!

This is a slow burn of a thriller, with lots of clues and suspects in such a well plotted tale, it really keeps you hooked from the very start to the heart pounding end. 

Thank you to Bloodhound Books for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour, for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook.  This is my honest, unbiased review. 

You can buy a copy here 

https://amzn.to/2mTvjlo

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

506F1382-4588-4BB0-8D04-6CA5E0C3F51F

Keri Beevis wrote her first novel at age twenty, but it was a further twenty years before she was published after entering the Rethink Press New Novels Competition 2012. Her entry, Dead Letter Day, was a winner, earning her a publishing contract, and the book proved to be a minor hit, leading to a sequel, Dead Write. However it was Keri’s third novel, standalone mystery thriller The Darkness Beneaththat gained her the most success, along with many new fans, both in the UK and the USA.

Born in the village of Old Catton, less than a mile from where Anna Sewell was living when she wrote Black Beauty, Keri had a passion for reading and writing from a young age, though her tastes veered more to the macabre. 

Today she still lives in Norwich, along with her two naughty kitties, Ellie and Lola, and a plentiful supply of red wine (her writing fuel), where she writes a comedic lifestyle column for a local magazine. She loves Hitchcock movies, exploring creepy places, and gets extremely competitive in local pub quizzes. She is also a self-confessed klutz.

Keri’s previous books have all been US based and she is looking forward to the release of her first UK based novel, which is set in her beautiful home county of Norfolk.