Book reviews, Psychlogical thriller

The Grave Digger’s Boy by R.R. Newman – Book Review

D567D6AD-FE40-4B12-BCBE-412FF9680E9C

PUBLISHERS BLURB 

As a boy, Ben was a witness in the disappearance and suspected murder of a beautiful young woman, Esther Garrett, which led to an intense adolescent obsession.

Twenty years later, the conviction of her murder is overturned due to a police corruption scandal.  Ben’s obsession is reawakened when Esther’s sister asks for his help investigating the crime.

As Ben is drawn deeper into the case, he will be forced to face the truth about his own life and soon finds himself questioning everything he ever believed.

Was Esther really murdered?

And if so, could the killer be closer to home than anyone ever imagined?
91A4F75F-ED91-4B13-B6AA-A400120C60EC

MY REVIEW

Ben, a young boy is on his dad’s bus, when a girl is harassed by a man. When she gets off the bus, this man follows her……a girl is then reported missing. Wash she murdered?

It had always bothered Ben, that he feels he should have done something…he’s a bit obsessed with this case. 

Now an adult and living in London, a case review (due to police corruption)brings this case back into focus and he becomes caught up in it again. Can he help find out what happened to Esther? Just who is lying and who is telling the truth?

A slow paced, but gripping thriller with great characters, full of descriptive writing and a marvellously twisty ending…..

Thank you to Bloodhound Books for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook.  This is my honest, unbiased review. 

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

BE17763D-E80B-455C-91BC-085D9E41AF5D

Ray Newman grew up in Devon and Somerset, and lives in Bristol, where he works as a writer and editor in trade publishing.

His first novel, The Grave Digger’s Boy, is a psychological crime novel set in the West Country.

Ray studied English at Cambridge, specialising in American literature and crime fiction, and worked in central government communications after graduating.

Under the name ‘Ray Bailey’ he has co-authored two multi-award-winning non-fiction books, on beer and pubs respectively.

He has also written articles on architecture, history and culture for Fortean Times, the Modernist and the Bristol Magazine, among other publications.

Book reviews, Crime thriller, Psychlogical thriller

The Alphabet Murders by Lars Schütz – Book Review

7E98D35D-B04C-47E9-A199-F1E08CB1F3F2

PUBLISHERS BLURB 

FOR THIS KILLER, IT’S A GAME OF A B C 

Criminal profilers Jan Grall and Rabea Wyler are assigned the gruesome case of a man found murdered in a wildlife park. Later, two more bodies are found, both brutally mutilated, and authorities soon realise that the victims are linked by the letters of the alphabet tattooed on their skin. 

Then the killer strikes again and Grall and Wyler receive a mysterious package containing a blood-encrusted scrap of skin marked with a letter. And when Grall’s hotel room is marked with a Z, the race is on to find out who this vicious killer is. Before it’s too late . . . 

A tense and exciting serial killer thriller by debut author, Lars Schutz.

8477CE69-A34E-4BCA-B8DA-8FAD1E3B9B12

MY REVIEW 

This starts with someone being tortured with a tattoo gun….and then the story really begins with the finding of two bodies, both gruesome deaths and they have been tattooed …one with an A, the other a B…..then a 3rd is found …disembowelled and tattooed with a C…..

All the murders have been committed in such a short time …clearly planned, but what and who links them all?

Jan Grall and his assistant, Rabea Wyler begin their investigation, as profilers can they discover the killer’s identity and stop any more deaths?

With believable, likeable characters that have their own personal issues and with a twisty, gruesome plot this is a dark, gripping and utterly compelling thriller. It’s hard to believe this is Lars Schütz debut, I will certainly be looking out for more by this author. 

Thank you to Tracy and Compulsive Readers for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook.  This is my honest, unbiased review.

Book reviews, Crime thriller, Police procedural, Psychlogical thriller

Her Silent Cry by Lisa Regan – Book Review

3C3D6052-819C-4BE1-9EF0-BE20F80652DD

PUBLISHERS BLURB 

Round and round she goes, blonde pigtails flying, her high-pitched giggle catching on the wind. But as the ride slows to a stop, her seat is suddenly empty. Little Lucy is gone…

When seven-year-old Lucy Ross is snatched from the carousel in Denton city park, Detective Josie Quinn joins the frantic search. She’s the one who finds Lucy’s sparkly butterfly backpack abandoned by the ticket booth, a note with a devastating message stuffed inside: answer your phone, or your sweet little darling will die…

The next day, Lucy’s parents are filled with hope when they pick up a call which they think is from their babysitter – but instead it’s a chilling male voice on the line. Josie races to the babysitter’s small apartment only to find her lifeless body in a tangle of sheets on her bed.

Josie is faced with the most high-stakes case of her career as each new phone call from someone connected to the family ends with the shocking discovery of another body. This twisted killer wants revenge, and he won’t stop until the Ross family are in pieces…

Something is telling Josie that Lucy’s parents aren’t giving her the whole truth, but digging deeper into their lives will force her to confront a life-changing secret of her own. Does Josie have what it takes to crack this case? She has no choice if she’s going to bring Lucy home alive…

An absolutely unputdownable new crime thriller from an Amazon, USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author. Readers who love Robert Dugoni, Angela Marsons and Rachel Caine will be hooked until the final, jaw-dropping page.

B5BA505C-DAB3-44FA-B75B-D2BB0D3F1D9E

MY REVIEW 

Lucy Ross, the butterfly obsessed little girl has gone missing…last seen on the carousel with her mum….how could she just disappear?

Detective Josie Quinn was there herself…..but didn’t see anything untoward….

But then a note is found…..Lucy has been kidnapped.

Then they receive a call from the nanny’s phone …with demands …but where is the Nanny?

There are murders, threats and so much tension it’s palpable at times….will they find out who the killer is? Will they manage to find Lucy before it’s too late?

A clever plot, great characters, Josie Quinn is so likeable, and enough tension and twists to keep you on tenterhooks throughout….a brilliant read.

Thank you to Bookouture for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook. This is my in honest, unbiased review. 

 

Buy Links :

 

Amazon: https://geni.us/B07SW5H9QKSocial

Apple Books: https://apple.co/2KIvTfr

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2IIFZKV

Googleplay: http://bit.ly/2X3t8fn

 

Author Bio:

E5D0E346-5859-4A45-AF95-860FDDE8008B

Lisa Regan is an Amazon bestselling crime novelist.  She has a Bachelor’s Degree in English and Master of Education Degree from Bloomsburg University.  She is a member of Sisters In Crime, Mystery Writers of America and International Thriller Writers. She lives in Philadelphia with her husband and daughter. Find out more at her website: http://www.lisaregan.com

 

Author Social Media Links:

 

FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/Lisa-Regan-189735444395923/

TWITTER: https://twitter.com/Lisalregan

WEBSITE: http://www.lisaregan.com

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6443334.Lisa_Regan

 

Book reviews, Horror

Hellrider by JG Faherty – Book Review

 

F8200848-A0DE-4CDB-9A20-D666E5BA3339

PUBLISHERS BLURB 

When Eddie Ryder is burned alive by fellow members of the Hell Riders motorcycle gang for ratting on them, he vows revenge with his dying breath. He returns as a ghost, with his custom motorcycle Diablo by his side and launches a campaign of vengeance that leaves plenty of bodies in its wake.

1113544C-DFF3-4134-9920-36E0BCBD3847

MY REVIEW 

Eddie used to be a member of the biker gang, The Hell Riders, but threatened with a jail sentence, he grassed up other gang members. Now persona non grata, he runs his garage and struggles to care for his emphasema ridden mum, and his 16 year old brother, Carson.

One night, working out in his garage, the Hell Riders firebomb the building, not knowing or caring if Eddie was inside…..he dies!

BUT, so full of anger, he comes back to seek revenge……along with his beloved Diablo…

If you like Grindhouse, as in Death Proof etc you’ll love this….it has violence, blood, revenge, bikes, and even a little teen romance in this small town horror….can Carson and Kellie stop his brother before the town is destroyed? Fun, gory and brilliant…

Thank you to Anne Cater and Random Things Tours for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the book  and this is my honest, unbiased review.

You can buy a copy from Flame Tree Press here:

https://www.flametreepublishing.com/Hellrider-ISBN-9781787582644.html

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

C8BAF1CD-4172-46F9-9FBB-0169F799D0C7

A life-long resident of New York’s haunted Hudson Valley, JG Faherty is the author of 6 novels, 9 novellas, and more than 60 short stories, and he’s been a finalist for both the Bram Stoker Award (The Cure, Ghosts of Coronado Bay) and ITW Thriller Award (The Burning Time).

He writes adult and YA horror, science fiction, dark fantasy, and paranormal romance, and his works range from quiet, dark suspense to over-the-top comic gruesomeness. As a child, his favorite playground was a 17th-century cemetery, which many people feel explains a lot.

You can follow him at http://www.twitter.com/jgfaherty, http://www.facebook.com/jgfaherty, http://www.jgfaherty.com, and http://jgfaherty- blog.blogspot.com/

 

AWARDS:

Finalist, Bram Stoker Award – Superior Achievement in a Novel (2015)

Finalist, Thriller Award, International Thriller Writers (2014)

Finalist, Bram Stoker Award; – Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel (2011)

Winner, Tales from the Moonlit Path Halloween Contest (2006) Winner, Hot Summer Something Contest, fromtheasylum.com (2006)

 

FLAME TREE PRESS is the new fiction imprint of Flame Tree Publishing. Launching in 2018 the list brings together brilliant new authors and the more established; the award winners, and exciting, original voices.