Book reviews, Cosy mystery, LGBTQ

Careless Whisper by T S Hunter – Book Review

135856E6-0207-4F53-9BEE-2A91B80EC89F

PUBLISHERS BLURB 

LOOSE LIPS COST LIVES.

It’s 1986, and Adam Cave, lead singer of sensational pop group Loose Lips, is struggling to stay in the closet, especially as his group is going through a messy split, and media speculation about the reasons behind it are rife.

Joe Stone is assigned to Adam as a runner for the behind-the-scenes, warts and all expose of the recording of the bands last album, and an unlikely friendship begins to form.

But when Adam’s manager, Jack Eddy, is found dead in Adam’s hotel room, in what looks like a sex game gone wrong, Joe turns to his flatmate, Russell, to help him clear the pop star’s name, and keep his secret.

Russell, meanwhile, has a secret of his own. He’s just been for a test, the results of which may change his life forever.

 

A1A70654-75B5-4783-A657-AEB57102B7AF

MY REVIEW 

#3 In The Soho Noir series….Don’t you just love the cover?

Set in Soho, London in 1986, a time of crimped hair, Marathon bars and the Bangles….

Joe has said goodbye to his boyfriend, the gorgeous Luc, because he didn’t want to settle down yet…he’s not the ‘pop loving club-bunny’ that Luc called him but neither is he ready for pipe and slippers, so they part.

Joe is a runner now, working for PJ as he is working on an expose of life in the band, Loose Lips….Adam Cave, the lead singer and he has a secret….he’s gay..his manager Jack feels it should be kept from Adam’s adoring teenage girl fans…his band mates, the twins think the same…

But then Jack is found dead, Adam is arrested for murder…..and Joe and Russell begin the investigation….will they find the truth?

A wonderful, cosy crime mystery all set in the 80’s, with its music, fashion, homophobia and the affect AIDS had on so many people…brilliant characters and so atmospheric……I can’t wait to read more of Joe, Russell and the fabulous Patty.

Thank you to RedDog Press for a copy of the ebook. This is my honest and unbiased review.

 

Book reviews, Psychlogical thriller

We Were Sisters by Wendy Clarke – Book Review

3C91EC77-8455-45AA-86E9-09C830699ECA

PUBLISHERS BLURB 

I turn to where I left my baby in his pushchair and pull up short. With a racing heart, I look around wildly, fear gripping my stomach. I only looked away for a moment. The pushchair and my baby are gone. 

Kelly is taking her twin daughters to their first day of school, ushering them into the classroom, her heartbreaking to think they might not need her anymore, when she turns around and sees that her newborn baby is gone.

As a desperate search ensues, baby Noah is quickly found – parked in front of a different classroom. But when Kelly reaches forward to comfort him, she finds something tucked beside his blanket. A locket that belonged to her sister Freya. A locket Kelly hasn’t seen since the day Freya died.

And then Kelly’s perfectly-ordered life begins to unravel…

We Were Sisters is a heart-pounding suspense thriller that will grip you until the very last page. Fans of Behind Closed Doors, Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train won’t be able to stop reading this incredible book.

D737FD79-100A-48F0-8AD6-1CD6640C1DC6

MY REVIEW 

Kelly has three children, twins Isabella and Sophie, and baby Noah. She is struggling a bit with baby Noah as he doesn’t sleep and her anxiety is sometimes too much. She counts, as this seems to calm her….if she can count to twenty before Noah wakes then everything will be ok…even down to the steps between lampposts, just to calm down…

Then one day, Noah’s pram is moved and she finds a locket in his blankets….she recognises it…..it belonged to Freya, her sister who died many years ago.

Is lack of sleep causing her to imagine things or is someone trying to send her a message?

This is told from Kelly’s point of view, both Kelly before and Kelly now….showing her loveless childhood and her relationship with Freya…..the heartbreak of her death and the secrets kept by her parents…

It also covers the care and foster system and the effects of constantly moving children around different homes and the trauma this can cause. A truly emotional, gripping psychological thriller full of secrets and breathtaking revelations…I can thoroughly recommend it…..

Thank you to Bookouture for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook. This is my in honest, unbiased review. 

 

Buy Links:

Amazon: https://geni.us/B07RSB413TSocial

Apple Books: https://apple.co/2HgJt7O

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2LF8uOl

Googleplay: http://bit.ly/2LFPuix

 

 

Author Bio:

2F7753A1-A787-48ED-9C2C-25690FF485FB

Wendy Clarke started her career writing short fiction and serials for national women’s magazines. After having over three hundred short stories published, she progressed to writing novels. With a degree in psychology, and intrigued with how the human mind can affect behaviour, it was inevitable that she would eventually want to explore her darker side.

What She Saw is her debut psychological thriller, published by Bookouture, with a second coming out in August 2019.

In her previous life, Wendy has published three collections of short stories and has been a short story judge for the Chiltern Writers Group, Nottingham Writers Group and The Society of Women Writers and journalists.

Wendy lives with her husband, cat and step-dog in Sussex and when not writing is usually dancing, singing or watching any programme that involves food

  

Author Social Media Links

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/WendyClarkeAuthor/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/WendyClarke99