Book reviews, Comedy

Base Cowboys by Mark Farrer – Book Review

C9DF15F5-B732-4BB9-A5CC-FCD8F1E28E4B

PUBLISHERS BLURB 

BASE COWBOYS is a comic crime trilogy set in the Scottish Borders. It is the sixth laugh-out-loud book in the CULLEN series written by Borders author Mark Farrer and will appeal to readers of Christopher Brookmyre, Carl Hiaasen, Nick Spalding or Tom Sharpe. The book tells the stories of three amoral ne’er-do-wells, their unfortunate and accidental intrusion into Cullen’s life, and the imaginative ways he finds of ensuring (his) justice is done:

 

Dirty Barry

The first casualty of adultery is… the tooth!

Barry Sullivan is a sordid dentist who resorts to blackmail to keep his string of married women in line. But now Cullen has toothache – and a very different interpretation of the dental code of practice.

 

Bronchial Billy

Meet Billy – the fastest gun in a vest.

Billy is a geriatric slum landlord desperate to win first prize in a Country & Western gunfight competition. But his trigger-happy birthday celebrations provoke Cullen, and now Billy must pay. Will he meet his High Noon at the Grand Ole Opry or will he go out with a bang? Whatever happens, there’s sure to be fireworks.

 

Pale Ale Rider

There’s trouble brewing…

Tyler is a teenage tearaway with the eyes of a serial killer. But when he decides to rob Big Paul’s local pub, he gets more than he bargained for. Will Tyler lose his bottle, or just get smashed? Cullen thinks he’s seen dead eyes like those before, and now he has a plan: he’s not bitter, he’s just a little twisted.

 

B8ED7266-F78D-4122-8A8D-485A9AFADC55

MY REVIEW 

Base Cowboys is a book containing three novellas, all featuring the cowboy hat wearing Cullen.

118D45C8-1E61-482F-929B-E02E03E73533

Dirty Barry

This novella is about a dentist called Barry (Beaver), who loves women….too much and is a pest to say the least…

It starts in a cheese store, he’s helping protect Archie from rivals, but ends up injured (this is just hilarious and full of cheese related puns)

“Archie let out a plaintive cry. “My Stinking Bishop!””

Cullen, needs a dentist and finds out the true nature of Barry……but Cullen has his own sense of justice and….goes a bit ‘Marathon Man’ on him….

I love the slapstick humour and it made me laugh out loud at times….the epilogue brings it all together too.

41420571-01CF-4090-9384-EE259B502B91

Bronchial Billy

Billy Gillespie is a slum landlord..

Vincent wants to own the Grand Ole Opry…

Stinky Pete, lives up to his flatulent name…

More hilarity, sex and violence ensues……

65B62D9A-A899-4140-A619-D8A363189544

Pale Ale Rider

‘Trust the Soup’

This shows the darker side of ordinary people….a story of a child growing up without a father and ends up being just like him….

It still has the honour but a little more pathos than the previous novella’s in this volume, but still has laugh out loud moments….

“”I’ve slept with a Brazilian!” Tyler boasted. “OMFG!” Tracey shrieked in horror. “How many is a brazillion?””

Thank you to Damppebbles Blog Tours for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook. This is my honest, unbiased review. 

 

About Mark Farrer:

Mark Farrer is the author of six comedy novels and novellas, each set in the Scottish Borders with a distinctive Scottish backdrop – whether salmon farming, textile mills, Rugby Sevens or the Scottish criminal justice system. His books are multi-stranded storylines involving larger-than-life characters, whose plans and incompetence inevitably exceed their wits. All feature an itinerant loner, Cullen, who lives off the grid and finds himself inadvertently drawn into someone’s crazy scheme, only for his own (very individual) sense of right and wrong to be offended. That’s generally when things start to go wronger.

 

 

Social Media:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/mark_farrer @mark_farrer

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/markjfarrer/

Website: http://markfarrer.com/

Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Mark-Farrer/e/B074S4XMGL/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

 

 

Purchase Links:

Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Base-Cowboys-Mark-Farrer-ebook/dp/B07V4744HM/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=base+cowboys&qid=1562760339&s=gateway&sr=8-1

Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/Base-Cowboys-Mark-Farrer-ebook/dp/B07V4744HM/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=base+cowboys+mark+farrer&qid=1562760430&s=gateway&sr=8-1

4B586D18-5119-4D30-80AC-083FDE7BAEA1

 

 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Base Cowboys by Mark Farrer – Book Review”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s