Book reviews, Thriller

White Scorpion by Rob Sinclair – Book Review

37FE9FDE-4600-4311-9D94-F262B8EF0CD1

PUBLISHERS BLURB 

Rule number one for an agent of the secretive JIA is to follow orders, no matter what. 

But James Ryker has never cared much for rules. He only wants to do what is right.

Assigned to join of crew of elite security personnel in Chabon, Africa, Ryker’s mission objective is clouded by politics and obfuscation, and he knows only that to protect British interests in the region, he is to infiltrate the close protection team of the government of Chabon, a country with a dark and violent past.

Arriving in Chabon’s crumbling capital, Kilpassa, Ryker finds a country on the brink of civil war. A growing civilian rebellion threatens peace, with claims of atrocities committed by both sides, including the frail government run by enigmatic President Benyu – a former military general who took control of the country in a violent coup. 

Drawn into Benyu’s inner circle, it soon becomes clear to Ryker that in Chabon, the lines between good and bad, and right and wrong, are nearly impossible to identify. 

With a crisis of epic proportions unfolding before his eyes, Ryker knows one thing for sure: with or without the backing of his superiors, he must take drastic action, and quickly, or risk putting millions of innocent lives in danger.

F94A6942-EE1E-4ADF-AB59-729129C7AFE7

MY REVIEW 

This is #5 in the Ryker series, but feel it can easily be read as a stand-alone.

Well this is action packed right from the very first chapter to the end.

James Ryker and his team are in Africa to take Muampa, as he is handed over all hell breaks out…..it’s an ambush that ends in the slaughter of his team and captive….just who has betrayed them?

The story then jumps back three weeks, so you can find out just how they gout 8nto the situation…..

Muampa is in charge of a rebel army, he’s brutal using torture and murder to gain information…..if he wins power in elections, then the UK government could lose £billions in revenue…..

What follows is a tale of power and betrayal with a touch of politics….just who can Ryker trust…..? How can he survive this time? 

If you like an action packed thriller in the vein of Jason Bourne or Strikeback you’ll love this.

Thank you to Bloodhound Books for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook.  This is my honest, unbiased review. 
You can buy a copy here 

https://amzn.to/2jT3EQp

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

 

5E54BA04-F348-452A-AE1B-013BC7B039AD

Rob is the author of the critically acclaimed and bestselling Enemy, James Ryker and Sleeper series of thrillers. His books have sold over 900,000 copies to date with many reviewers and readers having likened Rob’s work to authors at the very top of the genre, including Lee Child and Vince Flynn. 

Rob began writing in 2009 following a promise to his wife, an avid reader, that he could pen a ‘can’t put down’ thriller. He worked for nearly 13 years for a global accounting firm after graduating from The University of Nottingham in 2002, specialising in forensic fraud investigations at both national and international levels. Rob now writes full time. 

Originally from the North East of England, Rob has lived and worked in a number of fast paced cities, including New York, and is now settled in the West Midlands with his wife and young sons.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s