Book reviews, Psychlogical thriller

The Anglesey Murders by Conrad Jones – Book Review

20C15E2A-C083-4254-9495-BA97B4F5DD46

PUBLISHERS BLURB

DI Alan Williams is called to the recovery of two bodies from the sea at Trearddur Bay, during a storm. The lifeboat crew suspect they’re fishermen, washed away by a wave but they’re wrong. Alan and his detective sergeant, Kim Davies, realise the men were beaten and tied together before they entered the water. Two miles along the headland at Porth Dafarch, a third victim is found but there are no obvious links. As the number of victims increases, a major investigation team battles to unravel a deadly puzzle which, appears to have links to a series of historic murders from the 90’s.

In 1995, Peter Moore owned and operated the cinema in Holyhead. It is thought he assaulted over 40 men and he was arrested and charged with four murders, which he’d committed in as many months. He was jailed for life in 1996 and is still the only recorded Welsh serial killer. Fast forward to today and Detective Inspector Alan Williams is investigating a series of murders with uncanny similarities to the Peter Moore attacks. Is there a copycat on the loose or are the murders connected to the local underworld, which controls the supply of narcotics across North Wales and the North West? Finding a motive, is the challenge he might not win. ALL THE TIME THEY’RE TRACKING THE KILLER, THE KILLER IS STALKING THEM…

7FC0577E-E576-4ACE-A45F-8E9D9AC76C5C

MY REVIEW

I have to admit to being a fan of Conrad Jones writing and was looking forward to reading this……I certainly wasn’t disappointed.

It was the first time he’d killed and it felt good”

DI Alan Williams and his, DS Kim Davies investigate murders committed over a short time in North Wales. ( my son went to Uni in Bangor so I know a little of the area).

There is organised crime to deal with, drugs, guns etc and the Welsh Drug Squaf and the NCA…all while trying to solve these murders….are they by the same person or by several?

A marvellously twisty tale, with many characters and suspects to keep this tale racing along. I loved the grim atmosphere, with its stormy weather and dark seas, add the disturbing mind of the murderer, which makes this chilling thriller so gripping …I loved it.

Thank you to Sarah at Book On The Bright Side for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook. This is my honest, unbiased review.

You can buy a copy here (only 99p for Kindle at the moment too)

https://amzn.to/2FQFwFA

Author Bio:

7D3DC35F-D56D-4491-83B1-4DA3E56E45D6

Conrad Jones a 52-year-old Author, living in Holyhead, Anglesey, which I class as my home, before starting a career as a trainee manger with McDonalds Restaurants in 1989. I worked in management at McDonalds Restaurants Ltd from 1989-2002, working my way up to Business Consultant (area manager) working in the corporate and franchised departments.

In March 1993 I was managing the Restaurant in Warrington`s Bridge St when two Irish Republican Army bombs exploded directly outside the store, resulting in the death of two young boys and many casualties. Along with hundreds of other people there that day I was deeply affected by the attack, which led to a long-term interest in the motivation and mind set of criminal gangs. I began to read anything crime related that I could get my hands on.

I link this experience with the desire to write books on the subject, which came much later due to an unusual set of circumstances. Because of that experience my early novels follow the adventures of an elite counter terrorist unit, The Terrorist Task Force, and their leader, John Tankersley, or `Tank`and they are the Soft Target Series, which have been described by a reviewer as ‘Reacher on steroids’.  

I had no intentions of writing until 2007, when I set off on an 11-week tour of the USA. The Day before I boarded the plane, Madeleine Mcann disappeared and all through the holiday I followed the American news reports which had little or no information about her. I didn’t realise it at the time, but the terrible kidnap would inspire my book, The Child Taker years later. During that trip, I received news that my house had been burgled and my work van and equipment were stolen. That summer was the year when York and Tewksbury were flooded by a deluge and insurance companies were swamped with claims. They informed me that they couldn’t do anything for weeks and that returning home would be a wasted journey. Rendered unemployed on a beach in Clearwater, Florida, I decided to begin my first book, Soft Target. I have never stopped writing since. I have recently completed my 20th novel, The Journey, something that never would have happened but for that burglary and my experiences in Warrington.

As far as my favourite series ever, it has to be James Herbert’s, The Rats trilogy. The first book did for me what school books couldn’t. It fascinated me, triggered my imagination and gave me the hunger to want to read more. I waited years for the second book, The Lair, and Domain, the third book to come out and they were amazing. Domain is one of the best books I have ever read. In later years, Lee Child, especially the early books, has kept me hypnotised on my sunbed on holiday as has Michael Connelley and his Harry Bosch Series.    

 

Book reviews, Police procedural, Psychlogical thriller

Stone Cold Heart by Caz Frear – Book Review

0E97A357-3191-4921-A9B3-4FCD350ED1EE

PUBLISHERS BLURB

For fans of BA Paris and Laura Marshall comes the much-anticipated sequel to SWEET LITTLE LIES, the Richard & Judy Search for a Bestseller competition winner.

When DC Cat Kinsella is approached by Joseph Madden for help with his wife, Rachel, there’s not much she can do. Joseph claims that Rachel has been threatening him, but can’t – or won’t – give Cat details as to why. Dismissing it as a marriage on the rocks, Cat forgets about it. Until Joseph is arrested for murder. But it’s not his wife that he’s killed . . .

Naomi Lockhart was a young PA who worked for Rachel’s sister-in-law, Kirstie Connor. She was found dead after a party that Kirstie hosted that was also attended by Rachel and Joseph and evidence links Joseph to her murder.

 

Complications:

 

  1. Joseph’s defence is that his wife is setting him up.
  2. Rachel is outraged at her husband’s arrest and insists that he is innocent.
  3. The evidence against Joseph might not be beyond reasonable doubt.

 

The truth is never simple. Who would you believe?
DFCC2686-82F0-4B62-A987-94BEBC2BB5D5

MY REVIEW

#2 book featuring Cat Kinsella, but while you miss the background to the Maryanne story it’s easy to read as a stand-alone.

DC Cat Kinsella is picking up her coffee from The Grindhouse, and the flirty barista, chases after her, he wants a quick chat. He asks for advice on his wife, said she’s acting oddly and threatening him, saying she will make him pay…..he won’t elaborate any further so Cat tells him it could be Controlling and Coercive behaviour and to speak to his local police station……she then forgets it, but gets her coffee elsewhere from then on…

Then the body of Naomi Lockhart is found and when interviewing friends and family, they find Joseph, the flirty Barista….is a prime suspect.

He says his wife is setting him up……she says he didn’t do it…just who did kill Naomi?

This is told in Cat’s voice, her humour and personality shine through with all its flaws and personal life issues alongside her determination as a detective. The working relationship she has with Parnell feels so true to life, with its banter and emotions…all credit to Caz Frear’s creative writing…..

It’s not a fast paced read, but there are plenty of twists and turns, with Cat’s internal thoughts adding to the investigation, to make this a compelling page-turner…..

Thank you to Tracy and Compulsive Readers for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook.  This is my honest, unbiased review.

You can buy a copy here (and it’s only 99p for Kindle at the moment too)

https://amzn.to/2YnusHn

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

649ADC84-F904-4E88-896B-27C3A4FA6497

Caz Frear grew up in Coventry, England, and spent her teenage years dreaming of moving to London and writing a novel. After fulfilling her first dream, it wasn’t until she moved back to Coventry thirteen years later that the second finally came true. She has a degree in History & Politics, and when she’s not agonizing over snappy dialogue or incisive prose, she can be found shouting at Arsenal football matches or holding court in the pub on topics she knows nothing about. Sweet Little Lies is her first novel. (Courtesy of Goodreads)