Book reviews, Psychlogical thriller

What She Did by Alex Kane – Book Review

40EE82FA-DE82-4847-BB17-94FE964C0BD4

PUBLISHERS BLURB

She’s your best friend. And your worst enemy…

Beth

Beth is a woman running from her demons. Moving to Glasgow to escape the tragedy that ended with the death of her ex-boyfriend, she’s trying to build a new life, to tentatively find new love. But her past is following her, and try as she might, she can’t shake the feeling that someone is watching her every move.

Victoria

Victoria is unhappily married to Greg. On their wedding day he told her he would love her until they grew old, but now he’s becoming secretive, staying out for ‘business meetings’ and growing distant from his wife. After finding incriminating texts on his phone, Victoria contacts an old friend for support, the one person in her life that has never let her down yet.

Lydia

Lydia knows she is the only one that can help Victoria. Jumping straight back into their friendship, despite the four-year absence from Victoria’s life, she vows to stop at nothing to help her get revenge. Good friends will do anything for each other, right?

But Lydia has made a new friend in Beth, and now, none of them are safe…

Three women. Three stories. One devastating secret.

An utterly gripping, dark psychological thriller with a twist that will make your jaw drop. Fans of B.A. Paris, The Wife Between Us and The Woman in the Window will be completely addicted.  

85A9A59F-F58C-4CE7-A42B-8EEDF50DB88D

MY REVIEW

What She Did by Alex Kane is a gripping, psychological thriller about three women, Beth, Victoria and Lydia…

Beth, escapes from an abusive relationship and trying to make a new life.  Victoria believes her husband is cheating on her and turns to her old friend, Lydia, to find out if he is.

I have to admit to getting a little confused at times by the many twists and turns in the story, it was a bit hard to keep up. But as the story progresses, they stories all link and the final gasp inducing twist is just brilliant….

A dark, thought provoking tale of domestic violence and the struggles women have in a male world.

Thank you to Sarah at Book On The Bright Side for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook. This is my honest, unbiased review.

You can buy a copy here 

https://amzn.to/2ZTPGwS

 

Author Bio:

ACE1BBC8-9023-41B6-92C2-D97F2A476F9B

Alex Kane is a psychological thriller writer who lives in Glasgow. She is a huge fan of the genre, with her favourite authors in the genre being Lisa Hall, BA Paris and Sarah Stovell. If she is not writing, she can be found drinking tea or gin, taking cat selfies and obsessing over Tom Hardy.

 

Links:

http://www.facebook.com/alexkanewriter

 

twitter.com/AlexKaneWriter

 

Instagram @alexkanewriter

 

Book reviews, Thriller

One Way Out by A.A. Dhand – Book Review

DDE5A099-C9FB-4D73-B685-28C32B4E2C7B

PUBLISHERS BLURB

The much-anticipated new Harry Virdee thriller from rising star A.A Dhand….

Bradford is Dhand’s city – he grew up there, studied there. He knows these streets as well as anyone.  Tensely paced and characteristically meticulously plotted, One Way Out takes you into the dark heart of a city under siege..

A bomb detonates in Bradford’s City Park.

When the alert sounds, DC I Harry Virdee has just enough time to get his son and his mother to safety before the bomb blows. But this is merely a stunt.

The worst is yet to come.

A new and aggressive nationalist group, the Patriots, have hidden a second device under one of the city’s one hundred and five mosques. In exchange for the safe release of those at Friday prayers, the Patriots want custody of the leaders of radical Islamist group Almukhtareen – the chosen ones.

The government does not negotiate with terrorists. Even when thousands of lives are at risk.

There is only one way out.

But Harry’s wife is in one of those mosques. Left with no choice, Harry must find the Almukhtareen, to offer the Patriots his own deal.

DCA124D6-A341-45FA-AA74-89FA05E2EA19

MY REVIEW

This is #4 in the Harry Virdee series, but can easily be read as a stand-alone.

Harry is enjoying his annual leave, by spending time with his mother and young son Aaron on a day out to City Park, Bradford……his wife is at Friday prayers in a nearby mosque……but then there’s a security alert and people need to leave the area….

There’s panic as people run to leave….Harry knows the area, so takes his mother and son to a nearby building that he knows has a cellar…..but his so worried about his wife, Saima…….then there’s an explosion! He is then called back to work….

A group calling themselves The Patriots are demanding the arrest of 4 extremists…..or they will detonate another bomb…..its in one of the 105 mosques in the city……but which one?

They also demand that if anyone leaves a mosque, they will detonate the bomb!

Harry has a lot to deal with, the family issues (his father disowned him for marrying a Muslim woman – this was heartbreaking), his wife is trapped in a mosque and he has been asked to find the 4 extremists…..will he sacrifice the 4 to save a thousand?…..

This is an incredibly tense thriller, all the more so as in the current world climate it feels all too plausible…..the thought that these events are controlled by politicians is very very scary….absolutely stunning writing by AA Dhand…

Thank you to Anne Cater and Random Things Tours for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the book  and this is my honest, unbiased review.

You can buy a copy here

https://amzn.to/2NuSy1I

 

Praise for A.A Dhand:

‘Outstanding, relentless, multi-layered… A crime debut to relish’ LEE CHILD

‘A SCORCHING story of a city divided…announces the arrival of a formidable crime writer’ DAILY MAIL

‘The blood count is high but the novel deserves attention for its sheer inventiveness & unbridled energy’ THE TIMES

‘A tense slice of neo-noir’ OBSERVER

‘One of the most multi-layered policemen to have appeared in recent years’ – MAIL ON SUNDAY

‘Delves deep into the dark side of Bradford, exploring a city riven by racial tensions.’ – SUNDAY EXPRESS

 

About the author:

7F023310-0033-4CAE-8CC7-38C35A448B5E

A.A. Dhand was raised in Bradford and spent his youth observing the city from behind the counter of a small convenience store. After qualifying as a pharmacist, he worked in London and travelled extensively before returning to Bradford to start his own business and begin writing. The history, diversity and darkness of the city have inspired his Harry Virdee novels.