Book reviews, Cosy mystery, Police procedural

Murder In The Fens by Clare Chase – Book Review

643AA7DF-AEF2-4741-A460-44F092490422

PUBLISHERS BLURB

When the body of twenty-year-old Julie Cooper is found – her pockets stuffed full of wilting flowers – in an iron-age hill fort on the edge of the fens, Detective Tara Thorpe and her team are called in to investigate. The evidence points to an illicit affair gone wrong… but is there more to the story?

As always at the Cambridge Constabulary, the case turns personal. Detective Blake is exhausted after the arrival of a new baby with wayward wife Babette, and Tara is keen to put as much distance between herself and Blake as she can – both at the station and on the hunt for the killer. Charming rookie officer Jez is the perfect distraction… but is he a little too good to be true?

Then Tara makes a startling breakthrough when she finds an unsettling family heirloom hidden in the late victim’s bedroom – a golden statue of a sinister-looking cat with emerald eyes. As she traces its origins, Tara begins to realise that Julie’s murder is no one-off crime, but a sinister plot with its roots in a terrible secret that was covered up decades earlier.

An unputdownable page-turner, perfect for fans of Faith Martin, Agatha Christie and Joy Ellis. Can be read as a standalone.

 

The Tara Thorpe Mystery Series:

Book 1 – Murder on the Marshes

Book 2 – Death on the River

Book 3 – Death Comes to Call

Book 4 – Murder in the Fens

67593730-14ED-461D-AD25-3C8CAB2A9F24

MY REVIEW

Murder in the Fens is the fourth book in the Tara Thorpe series, but I found it can easily be read as a standalone.

Tara used to be a journalist before joining the police, she finds her experience helps with her investigations…

The body of a young woman, Julie Cooper,  is found and Tara starts her investigation, with several suspects she has concerns her ‘friend’ Bella knows more than she is telling….

I liked the fast pace of this and they way the detectives thoughts change the more they find out and it gradually builds the picture and the tension….Tara’s stalker is back……will she find out who it is?

Great building of the relationships between the colleagues too……and their messy personal lives adds a feeling of reality to this clever, twisty and compelling cosy mystery. I can thoroughly recommend it.

Thank you to Bookouture for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook. This is my in honest, unbiased review.

You can buy a copy here

https://amzn.to/2xdj6cZ

55650F90-0C7B-468B-8F68-5E62477314F1

Author Bio:

Clare Chase writes women sleuth mysteries and recently signed a three-book deal with Bookouture for a new crime series set in Cambridge. The opening book, Murder on the Marshes, is available for pre-order and will publish in July 2018. The mystery follows investigative journalist Tara Thorpe as she teams up with Detective Garstin Blake to solve the murder of a young female professor at Cambridge University. The case takes them through the dark underbelly of Cambridge and in to the murky fens that surround the centuries-old city. The second and third books in the series are scheduled for publication in late 2018/early 2019.

After graduating from London University with a degree in English Literature, Clare moved to Cambridge and has lived there ever since. She’s fascinated by the city’s contrasts and contradictions, which feed into her writing. She’s worked in diverse settings – from the 800-year-old University to one of the local prisons – and lived everywhere from the house of a Lord to a slug-infested flat. The terrace she now occupies, with her husband and teenage children, presents a good happy medium.

As well as writing, Clare loves family time, art and architecture, cooking, and of course, reading other people’s books.

Clare’s debut novel, You Think You Know Me, was shortlisted for the Novelicious Undiscovered Award 2012, and an EPIC award in 2015. It was also chosen as a debut of the month by Lovereading.

You can find Clare’s website and blog at http://www.clarechase.com

Author Social Media Links:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ClareChase_

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/10204574.Clare_Chase

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ClareChaseAuthor/

3 thoughts on “Murder In The Fens by Clare Chase – Book Review”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s