Book reviews, Womens fiction

It’s Not You, It’s Him by Sophie Ranald – Book Review

8FB27B36-07A7-4FE1-996E-F49D83BB8B92

PUBLISHERS BLURB

New Year’s Eve. The most overrated night of the year, right? I have to get through a night of enforced fun, drink all the prosecco and talk about new beginnings. But I don’t want new beginnings. I want my old beginning back.

It’s been ten days, two hours and forty-three minutes since Tansy got dumped. Two heartbreaking weeks since Renzo, who made her weak at the knees and dizzy with excitement, found out Tansy’s secret – and ended it on the spot.

Since then, she’s spent every evening scrolling through their old photos, drunk texted him twenty-six times (he stopped reading after five), and lost count of how many packets of Kleenex she’s cried her way through.

That’s where Operation Get Renzo Back comes in. She ropes in a new wing-woman, maxes out her credit card and accidentally-on-purpose bumps into him at every opportunity. Oh, and she finds a fake boyfriend, as you do…

But while she’s busy pretending, Tansy’s plan is thrown a major curveball. She has to learn the hard way that it’s not her, it’s him – and that sometimes, a break-up can end up being the making of you.

A fresh, funny and fabulous novel for anyone who has been dumped, got a post-break-up haircut, stalked an ex on Facebook, and then realised they were WAY better off without them. Fans of Sophie Kinsella, Lindsey Kelk and Matt Dunn will love this laugh-out-loud read.
D1CC516C-ED77-4C35-B806-BD0E220A2F52

MY REVIEW

It’s Not You It’s Him is the story of Tansy…when Renzo told he loved her, Tansy felt the same but just had to tell him about her past….he dumped her there and then leaving her to rerun the scene over and over in her head.

Her flat mates are having a quiet evening to see in the New Year…..with lots of Prosecco flowing, she makes a New Years Resolution, she’s going to get Renzo back…….but after 26 texts (some drunken……we’ve all done it!!) and no response….she starts to make her plans…

She gets herself in a bit of a mess with her finances, but carries on her plan, arranging to be in the same places as Renzo by ‘accident’…..when this doesn’t work she starts to realise, maybe the problem is not her but him…

Tansy starts to grow up and realise the special someone may be closer than you think …

An amusing read but also it touches on the more emotive subjects of eating disorders, gambling and the exploitation of low paid workers…..thoroughly entertaining.

Thank you to Bookouture for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook. This is my in honest, unbiased review.

Author Bio:

F0535B24-B01E-46F9-8502-30DCF900D941

Sophie Ranald is the youngest of five sisters. She was born in Zimbabwe and lived in South Africa until an acute case of itchy feet brought her to London in her mid-20s. As an editor for a customer publishing agency, Sophie developed her fiction-writing skills describing holidays to places she’d never visited. In 2011, she decided to disregard all the good advice given to aspiring novelists and attempt to write full-time. After one false start, It Would Be Wrong to Steal My Sister’s Boyfriend (Wouldn’t It?) seemed to write itself. Her second, third and fourth novels followed, and The Truth About Gemma Grey was released in summer 2017. Sophie also writes for magazines and online about food, fashion, finance and running. She lives in south-east London with her amazing partner Hopi and Purrs, their adorable little cat.

 

To find out about Sophie’s forthcoming releases and get access to free books and special offers, sign up to her newsletter at sophieranald.com or

Author Social Media Links:

Website: sophieranald.com

Twitter: @SophieRanald

https://twitter.com/SophieRanald  

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/SophieRanald.

 

BOOK DETAILS

Title: It’s Not You It’s Him

Author: Sophie Ranald

Publication Day: 18/06/2019

Buy Links:

Amazon: https://geni.us/B07NL1LSSDSocial

Apple Books: https://apple.co/2HvX8ct

Kobo: https://bit.ly/2TOCVVR

Googleplay: http://ow.ly/lNUv30o87mm

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s