Book reviews, Womens fiction

It’s Not You, It’s Him by Sophie Ranald – Book Review

8FB27B36-07A7-4FE1-996E-F49D83BB8B92

PUBLISHERS BLURB

New Year’s Eve. The most overrated night of the year, right? I have to get through a night of enforced fun, drink all the prosecco and talk about new beginnings. But I don’t want new beginnings. I want my old beginning back.

It’s been ten days, two hours and forty-three minutes since Tansy got dumped. Two heartbreaking weeks since Renzo, who made her weak at the knees and dizzy with excitement, found out Tansy’s secret – and ended it on the spot.

Since then, she’s spent every evening scrolling through their old photos, drunk texted him twenty-six times (he stopped reading after five), and lost count of how many packets of Kleenex she’s cried her way through.

That’s where Operation Get Renzo Back comes in. She ropes in a new wing-woman, maxes out her credit card and accidentally-on-purpose bumps into him at every opportunity. Oh, and she finds a fake boyfriend, as you do…

But while she’s busy pretending, Tansy’s plan is thrown a major curveball. She has to learn the hard way that it’s not her, it’s him – and that sometimes, a break-up can end up being the making of you.

A fresh, funny and fabulous novel for anyone who has been dumped, got a post-break-up haircut, stalked an ex on Facebook, and then realised they were WAY better off without them. Fans of Sophie Kinsella, Lindsey Kelk and Matt Dunn will love this laugh-out-loud read.
D1CC516C-ED77-4C35-B806-BD0E220A2F52

MY REVIEW

It’s Not You It’s Him is the story of Tansy…when Renzo told he loved her, Tansy felt the same but just had to tell him about her past….he dumped her there and then leaving her to rerun the scene over and over in her head.

Her flat mates are having a quiet evening to see in the New Year…..with lots of Prosecco flowing, she makes a New Years Resolution, she’s going to get Renzo back…….but after 26 texts (some drunken……we’ve all done it!!) and no response….she starts to make her plans…

She gets herself in a bit of a mess with her finances, but carries on her plan, arranging to be in the same places as Renzo by ‘accident’…..when this doesn’t work she starts to realise, maybe the problem is not her but him…

Tansy starts to grow up and realise the special someone may be closer than you think …

An amusing read but also it touches on the more emotive subjects of eating disorders, gambling and the exploitation of low paid workers…..thoroughly entertaining.

Thank you to Bookouture for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook. This is my in honest, unbiased review.

Author Bio:

F0535B24-B01E-46F9-8502-30DCF900D941

Sophie Ranald is the youngest of five sisters. She was born in Zimbabwe and lived in South Africa until an acute case of itchy feet brought her to London in her mid-20s. As an editor for a customer publishing agency, Sophie developed her fiction-writing skills describing holidays to places she’d never visited. In 2011, she decided to disregard all the good advice given to aspiring novelists and attempt to write full-time. After one false start, It Would Be Wrong to Steal My Sister’s Boyfriend (Wouldn’t It?) seemed to write itself. Her second, third and fourth novels followed, and The Truth About Gemma Grey was released in summer 2017. Sophie also writes for magazines and online about food, fashion, finance and running. She lives in south-east London with her amazing partner Hopi and Purrs, their adorable little cat.

 

To find out about Sophie’s forthcoming releases and get access to free books and special offers, sign up to her newsletter at sophieranald.com or

Author Social Media Links:

Website: sophieranald.com

Twitter: @SophieRanald

https://twitter.com/SophieRanald  

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/SophieRanald.

 

BOOK DETAILS

Title: It’s Not You It’s Him

Author: Sophie Ranald

Publication Day: 18/06/2019

Buy Links:

Amazon: https://geni.us/B07NL1LSSDSocial

Apple Books: https://apple.co/2HvX8ct

Kobo: https://bit.ly/2TOCVVR

Googleplay: http://ow.ly/lNUv30o87mm

Book reviews, Psychlogical thriller

The Dream House by Jess Ryder – Book Review

0B90FC82-BD20-4161-BB7E-0F25ADE3211D

PUBLISHERS BLURB

It’s everything she’s ever wanted…

When I first set eyes on Westhill House with its breath-taking views of the sea I knew Jack and I could make this our forever home.

It may be falling apart with an overgrown garden, but with some tender loving care, we can repair this beautiful building and perhaps our relationship too…

But the more time I spend renovating our new house, the more time Jack is spending at work.

At least Lori is here to keep me company.

She has her own troubles yet she always listens to mine.

She’s helping to restore the house, uncovering its secrets one by one.

Like the children’s drawings under the wallpaper in the back bedroom.

The hidden papers underneath the floorboards in the turret room.

And the fact that Westhill House is a place women used to go to feel safe…

Lori seems to know a lot about Westhill House.

The question is, why?

A gripping, spine-chilling read brimming with secrets and lies. If you loved The Girl on the Train, The Wife Between Us or The Woman in the Window then this dark, twisting psychological thriller from Amazon chart bestseller Jess Ryder is guaranteed to have you gripped.

2A28A94C-CB68-42A0-951E-720AE3C607DF

MY REVIEW

After the death of her parents, Stella buys a nearly derelict house, her plan is to turn it into her dream home, with her boyfriend Jack.

One night, a battered and beaten woman named Lori knocks on the door, pleading for help.

Stella is all for helping Lori, to protect her from a violent husband, but Jack has reservations….he’s not sure she’s telling the whole truth…..Stella just cannot leave Lori to fend for herself so she has to make a decision……Jack or Lori…but will her decision bring back memories of her own past to haunt her.

The other part of the story, set a few decades before, is about Kay and what she feels is a wonderful man, Alan…but as soon as they are married it turns out he is violent and controlling and Kay needs to escape…

Will Kay and Lori escape their nightmares.? And just how are these two stories linked?

A clever, wonderfully gripping domestic thriller by Jess Ryder….a totally compelling read.

Thank you to Bookouture for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook. This is my honest, unbiased review.

You can buy a copy here (only £1.99 at the moment)

https://amzn.to/2XscrdI

Author Bio:

4747F156-F27B-40E5-B854-F2A42226290A

Jess Ryder is the author of three psychological thrillers – ‘Lie to Me’ (April 2017) and ‘The Good Sister’ (August 2017), and The Ex-Wife (June 2018) -all published by Bookouture. She also writes books for children, teens and young adults as Jan Page, with many titles published including ‘Selina Penaluna’. With many years’ experience as a scriptwriter, she loves watching television crime drama. Jess is a passionate reader and particularly enjoys thrillers. She blogs about writing, reviews books and interviews writers at http://www.jessryder.co.uk and http://www.janpagewriter.com.

Jess lives with her partner in London, UK and has four grown-up children.

 

Author Social Media Links:

Website: http://jessryder.co.uk/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JessRyderAuthor/

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/jessryderauthor