Thriller

Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch

Just bought a paperback copy of Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch…..yes I have it on Kindle (and read it), yes I have it as an audiobook read by the wonderful Kobna Holdbrook-Smith (and listened to it) but I also wanted a physical copy…..who says bloggers don’t buy books…..!

thanks to Emma and Damppebbles Blog Tours for the £5 Amazon voucher…..so much choice, gummi bears or a book ? but it had to be a book obviously.

6E2E73C1-C777-4C25-9BC7-3F342366F84E

Book reviews, Cover reveal

The Friend Who Lied by Rachel Amphlett – COVER REVEAL

 

8EF173C3-2878-4C8C-A57F-CE8FF0168812

PUBLISHERS BLURB 

What she doesn’t know might kill her…

Lisa Ashton receives a last-minute reprieve from death two weeks before her birthday. Regaining consciousness, she is horrified to learn one of her friends has been killed – and saved her life.

As she recovers, she uncovers a trail of carefully guarded reputations, disturbing rumours, and lies. Soon, Lisa begins to wonder if one of her friends is hiding a terrible secret.

Because five of them entered the escape room that day, and only four got out alive.

And someone is determined to cover their tracks before she can find out the truth.

Can Lisa find the killer before someone else dies?

 

 

The Friend Who Lied: a twisted psychological thriller from USA Today bestseller Rachel Amphlett – perfect for fans of The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley and Friend Request by Laura Marshall.

HERE is the striking cover for The Friend Who Lied…….

1DFB834C-C5CA-49FA-95D5-B672DE79CE86

 

Author Bio:

BEF3BDF1-45B8-4F4C-A532-615954459556

Before turning to writing, USA Today bestselling author Rachel Amphlett played guitar in bands, worked as a TV and film extra, dabbled in radio as a presenter and freelance producer for the BBC, and worked in publishing as a sub-editor and editorial assistant.

She now wields a pen instead of a plectrum and writes crime fiction and spy novels, including the Dan Taylor and English Spy Mysteries espionage novels and the Detective Kay Hunter British police procedural series.

She’s a member of International Thriller Writers and the Crime Writers Association, with the Italian foreign rights for her debut novel, White Gold sold to Fanucci Editore’s TIMECrime imprint, and the first four books in the Dan Taylor espionage series contracted to Germany’s Luzifer Verlag.

 

Praise for Rachel Amphlett

 

“Thrilling start to a new series. Scared to Death is a stylish, smart and gripping crime thriller” ~ Robert Bryndza, USA Today bestselling author of The Girl in the Ice

 

“Scared to Death… moves along at breakneck speed with twists and turns” ~ Angela Marsons, bestselling author of the Detective Kim Stone crime thriller series

Links: 

Email: info@rachelamphlett.com

www.rachelamphlett.com

Twitter: @RachelAmphlett

Instagram: @RachelAmphlett

Facebook: Rachel Amphlett

 The Friend Who Lied – Twitter – pre-order video…

Purchase Links:

Amazon.com

 

https://www.amazon.com/Friend-Who-Lied-gripping-psychological-ebook/dp/B07R5KNTPD

 

Amazon.co.uk

 

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Friend-Who-Lied-gripping-psychological-ebook/dp/B07R5KNTPD

 

Kobo

 

https://www.kobo.com/en/ebook/the-friend-who-lied

 

Apple Books

 

https://books.apple.com/book/the-friend-who-lied/id1461832054

 

Google Play

 

https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Rachel_Amphlett_The_Friend_Who_Lied?id=59OVDwAAQBAJ

 

F53FF487-A6C8-42A5-A0CC-FC4102442CD1

 

Book reviews, Womens fiction

Moxie by Alex Poppe – Book Review

498140C5-EF80-49DC-B0FD-5EBB60B83BB8

PUBLISHERS BLURB

Jax, a magazine-cover model, has had half her face destroyed in a bomb blast. Drowning in whiskey and self-loathing, she must rebuild her life now that her beauty is gone.

Part love letter to New York, part commentary on social justice issues, Moxie is a timely and raw portrayal of the sometimes self-destructive search for identity and redemption.

8D906C4F-C642-47BE-B92D-F12A7FEC1E70

MY REVIEW

Alex Poppe has created a  stark, gritty portrait of human emotion. Jax was a model, beauty was her life and career, which is destroyed after her face was badly burned and scarred….full of despair and not a little self-pity, she starts drinking and doesn’t stop….but along the fraught journey, full of emotion.

Jax’s voice is strident yet poetic at times…..will the marvellous characters she meets help her find her real self?

A brilliantly engaging, eyebrow raising read…..a must read.

Thank you to Melanie at Frasers Fun House for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook. This is my honest, unbiased review.

 

Author Bio

84E21505-CF74-40B0-BFBD-9752D48E9459

Alex Poppe is the author of the debut novel Moxie (2019) and the story

collection Girl, World (2017). Girl, World was named a 35 Over 35 Debut Book Award winner, First Horizon Award finalist, Montaigne Medal finalist, and was short-listed for the Eric Hoffer Grand Prize. It was also awarded an Honorable Mention in General Fiction from the Eric Hoffer Awards. Her short fiction has been a finalist for Glimmer Train’s Family Matters contest, a nominee for the Pushcart Prize, and commended for the Baker Prize. Her non-fiction was named a Best of the Net nominee (2016), a finalist for Hot Metal Bridge’s Social Justice Writing contest, and has appeared in Bust and Bella Caledonia. She is an academic writing lecturer at the American University of Iraq, Sulaimani and is working on her third book of fiction with support from Can Serrat International Art Residency and Asociacíon Cultural LINEA DE COSTA DUPLO Artist in Residency programs.

Author links

Twitter: https://twitter.com/sapoppe

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Girl.World.Stories/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5101248.Alex_Poppe

Purchase Links:

Amazon UK:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Moxie-Alex-Poppe/dp/1948954028/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1553607167&sr=8-1&keywords=moxie+alex+poppen

Amazon US:

https://www.amazon.com/Moxie-Alex-Poppe/dp/1948954028/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=moxie+alex+poppe&qid=1553607251&s=gateway&sr=8-1-spell

 

Book Depository: https://www.bookdepository.com/Moxie-Alex-Poppe/9781948954020

 

Publication Date: 30th April 2019

Publisher: Tortoise Books

Est Page count: 242