Book reviews

Escape to The Little French Cafe by Karen Clarke – Book Review

 

5516F8AB-FDBF-47FF-88C4-7757D7F20652

PUBLISHERS BLURB 

Publication Day:  March 18th 2019

On the beautiful French coast lies the Café Belle Vie, a peaceful haven offering a warm welcome and delicious pains au chocolat – and where Natalie’s quiet life is about to be turned upside down…

When thirty-one-year-old Natalie Bright’s boyfriend dumps her and immediately gets engaged to his ex-girlfriend, she escapes her heartbreak and moves to the charming village of Chamillon on the Île de Ré.

She’s determined to build a new life there: writing about farmer’s markets for a local magazine, exploring the local vineyards on her bike, and taking advantage of the sunshine. And in the Café Belle Vie she finds a bustling community – including new best friend Charlie – and a near-constant supply of cakes.

All in all, things are looking pretty good.

So when a blast from the past – her teenage crush Jay Merino – suddenly turns up in Chamillon, Natalie’s thrown. She’s sworn off men ever since she moved to France, but she and Jay have a connection that stretches back years.

But could taking a chance on an old flame complete her new life – or ruin everything she’s worked so hard for?

A gorgeous rom com full of sunshine, croissants and sparkling romance! Perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson, Zara Stoneley and Debbie Macomber.

094A075F-119B-4961-826D-FB48F9B4BBCA

 

MY REVIEW 

Firstly, isn’t that an adorable cover ?

Escape to the Little French Café by Karen Clarke is a absolutely charming, cosy and fun read.

Natalie Bright is a writer, she has run away from a broken relationship by moving to a picturesque village in France and is staying with her father… She writes a column for a magazine for expats, but spends a lot of her time at the local Cafe Belle Vie. Her best friend Charlie runs the cafe with his mum. I did wonder if romance would blossom for this pair…..!

Natalie’s Dad’s dating escapades are hilarious, his new image was a laugh out loud moment…..that brown quiff….!!!

Natalie really wants to work for Magnifique, the successful French magazine but can’t even get an interview…..but then she finds out the famous actor, Jay Merino is filming nearby, she tells them she knows him (she did kiss him once many ears ago when they lived on the same estate) and says she can get an exclusive interview…..

Luckily for Natalie, Jay does remember her and that kiss and agrees to the interview…..there is certainly chemistry here….

The budding romance falters when someone leaks Jay’s personal information to the media….will they recover?

The characters are endearing and Natalie’s mishaps are so relatable…. This is an lovely, easy read with beautifully descriptive writing and its light, fun and ultimately heartwarming. Although I do now crave coffee and a pain au chocolat…..! 

Thank you to Bookouture for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook  in exchange for my honest and unbiased review.

You can buy a copy here…..

Amazon UK

https://amzn.to/2U0C2sC

Amazon USA

https://amzn.to/2Hw0bBq

 

 

Author Bio:

E6988F78-D02A-471B-AC06-EAE25CC1D25E

Karen Clarke writes romantic comedy novels. Her BEACHSIDE series is set in the fictional seaside town of Shipley and features recurring characters, but each book can be read as a standalone. She is currently working on a new, three-book series set in Devon.

Karen has also written three romcoms with a paranormal twist, all available to download

When she’s not working on her novels, Karen writes short stories for women’s magazines and has had over three hundred published globally. Some of them can be read in her short story collection ‘BEHIND CLOSED DOORS…and other Tales with a Twist’

Karen lives in Buckinghamshire with her husband and three grown-up children.

 

Author Social Media Links

 

FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/karen.clarke.5682

TWITTER: https://twitter.com/karenclarke123

WEBSITE: https://www.karenclarkewriter.com

 

 

Buy LINKS

Amazon: https://geni.us/B07LG91GTTSocial

Apple Books: https://apple.co/2Gwy3O1

Kobo: https://bit.ly/2EkqFD5

Googleplay: http://ow.ly/RZH430nKEvm