Book reviews, Psychlogical thriller

The Dangerous Kind by Deborah O’Connor – Book Review

PUBLISHERS BLURB 

You know who they are. But you don’t know what they’ve done. .

We all recognise them. Those who exist just on the fringes of society. Who send prickles up the back of our neck. The charmers. The liars. The manipulators. Those who have the potential to go that one step too far. And then take another step.

Jessamine Gooch makes a living from these people. Each week she broadcasts a radio show looking into the past lives of convicted killers; asking if there was more that could have been done to prevent their terrible crimes.

Then one day she is approached by a woman desperate to find her missing friend, Cassie, fearing her abusive husband may have taken that final deadly step. But as Jessamine delves into the months prior to Cassie’s disappearance she fails to realise there is a dark figure closer to home, one that threatens the safety of her own family . . . 

Set over a long, dark winter in London and perfect for fans of HE SAID/SHE SAID, THE DANGEROUS KIND is at once a gripping thriller and a stunning portrayal of the monsters that live among us. 

6811F60B-D771-4285-AC24-2181FC750335

 

MY REVIEW 

Firstly, This marvellous book covers the incredibly disturbing and horrific crimes of child sexual exploitation and prostitution and as such can be heartbreaking to read……but Deborah O’Connor’s writing is so compelling you have to keep reading right to it’s heart thumping end…..

So, the story is told in chapters by Jessamine, Rowena and Jitesh……these seem to be totally random and not linked in any way…….but oh my….just wait..!

Rowena is 13, (and in the care system) and her ‘boyfriend’ Sunny says he owes a gang money and she needs to attend ‘parties’ with older men, some she recognises as famous….to help him repay his debt. She soon realises this is a lie, but it’s too late…

Jitesh, is a young, troubled guy……a bit of a tech wizard but very shy with people. He is troubled when Meera gets involved with his old friend Kishor…..

He also works with Jessamine……..for her new podcast.

Jessamine, works for BBC radio, in a show about criminal behaviour and is it possible to identify potential violent crimes and their perpetrators. Due to a her recent outburst at the BBC, she is suspended and decides to do an independent podcast….when she is approached by a young woman, who asks her to look into the disappearance of her friend Cassie…..she is intrigued and starts her investigation…….

This leads to danger for her and her daughter…….is someone close to home responsible ?

As the stories progress, they link and all the pieces suddenly come together in such a way that made me gasp…..it feels so real, with the relatively recent revelations (alleged allegations)of child abuse by TV personalities and people in positions of power, heartbreaking too….poor Billy!…I can’t say much more for fear of spoiling the story……yes it’s a tough subject, but Deborah O’Connor has handled it with her creative, and emotion packed writing….brilliant! .

I would like to thank the Pigeonhole and the Deborah O’Connor for the opportunity to read this book for free and this is my honest and unbiased review.

PURCHASE LINKS

Amazon

https://amzn.to/2Ongf90

 

Book reviews

No Looking Back by Alex Kane – Book Review

 

12958CC4-89F3-4F25-A6F0-53BF5FD3BEA0

PUBLISHERS BLURB 

He’ll find you… unless you find him first.

Kat Denton is a woman running away from her past. For the past sixteen years, her life has been a living hell as Jimmy, the man she fell in love with as a teenager, becomes ever more cruel and abusive. Following the fire that killed her parents, leaving her an orphan when she was just a teenager, Kat is utterly alone and can’t see a way out.

Until the day she finds out that she’s pregnant. Vowing to protect her child from Jimmy’s violence, Kat decides to fight for survival – for her and her unborn baby.

Fleeing the traveller camp that has been her lifelong home isn’t easy. But along with her sister in law, Kat escapes with just the clothes on her back and the one photograph she has of her parents.

Kat, along with her baby girl Lucia, starts to build a better life. But when she looks into what really happened in her parents’ death Kat uncovers dark secrets – including a revelation that will lead Kat back to the place she had been so desperate to run away from. Is she strong enough to uncover the truth and save everything that she loves most, or will Jimmy Denton have his revenge?

Previously published as Chasing the Traveller

A fast-paced, totally unputdownable crime thriller that fans of Mel Sherratt, Mandasue Heller and Kimberley Chambers will absolutely love.

89A3BA8E-15A7-4574-8A8D-E5074A781803

MY REVIEW 

Kat has suffered domestic violence for many years at the hands of her husband, Jimmy….even kept locked in the belly box as punishment for an unknown slight.

Kat is part of the travelling community but as her parents died when she was younger, all she had left was Jimmy and his family…she did love him……once.

As soon as the wedding was over he changed and the physical abuse began…

Finding herself pregnant, Kat realises she just can’t bring a baby into the world with Jimmy, so she gets help to leave the community, a huge risk to her self and Helen her sister in law.

After running away and setting up a new home she never feels completely safe…..so she decides to find out more about her parents by trying to find anyone who knew them, all she has is an address on an old photo….this ends up putting her in danger again……

This is a domestic thriller, the clever writing by Alex Kane really builds the tension and the characters are so well written I really really dislike Jimmy! And I learned a lot about the travelling community. It also deals with the emotive subject of domestic abuse and the impact this has. Not an easy read but a masterpiece of emotion.

Thank you to Sarah Hardy at Book on the Bright Side for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook. This is my honest and unbiased review. 

 

Author Bio:

9D4D7C07-FA5C-4D44-8138-5B2EC321E985

Alex Kane is a psychological thriller writer who lives in Glasgow. She is a huge fan of the genre, with her favourite authors in the genre being Lisa Hall, BA Paris and Sarah Stovell. If she is not writing, she can be found drinking tea or gin, taking cat selfies and obsessing over Tom Hardy.

Links:

www.facebook.com/alexkanewriter 

twitter.com/AlexKaneWriter

Instagram @alexkanewriter