Book reviews

Heartbreak Hotel (Alex Delaware #32) by Jonathan Kellerman – Book Review

PUBLISHERS BLURB 

In Heartbreak Hotel by New York Times No.1 bestseller Jonathan Kellerman, criminal psychologist Dr. Alex Delaware i nvestigates the death of his most mysterious patient to date. Fans of Michael Connelly and Harlan Coben will revel in this knife- sharp storytelling from the master of psychological suspense.

At nearly one hundred years old, Thalia Mars is a far cry from the patients child psychologist Dr. Alex Delaware normally treats. But the charming, witty woman convinces Alex to meet with her in a suite at The Aventura – a luxury hotel with a checkered history.

What Thalia wants from Alex are answers to unsettling questions – about guilt, patterns of criminal behaviour, victim selection. When Alex asks the reason for her morbid fascination, Thalia promises to tell all during their next session. But when he returns the following morning, his question goes unanswered, and new ones arise…

In their most puzzling investigation to date, Alex and homicide detective Milo Sturgis must peel back the layers of a fascinating but elusive woman’s life.

For Thalia Mars is a victim like no other, an enigma who harboured nearly a century of secrets and whose life and death draw those around her into a vortex of violence.

OVER THIRTY BESTSELLERS. 

HUNDREDS OF CASES SOLVED.

 

39B7DDF4-3951-4211-9EF5-8A4EAF05BCA8

MY REVIEW 

This is the 32nd book in the Alex Delaware series by Jonathan Kellerman and I must admit I have read a few of this series but not all..

It felt like meeting with an old friend to catch up with Alex and LAPD Detective Milo Sturgis…

This begins with Alex agreeing to meet Thalia Mars an old acquaintance and now 99 years old. They meet at the Aventura, the slightly down at heel hotel where she lives. She asks several questions about guilt and criminal behaviour but gives no reason why and asks for Alex to return the following day and she will tell more……but, as was slightly predictable to me, when he returns Thalia is dead, murdered !

So, Alex calls his friend Milo and so the investigation begins.

During their investigation they find Thalia may have been a moll for the gangster owner of the Aventura Hotel back in the 1940’s…..

I found this to be interesting with the looks to the LA of the past and the link to the current spate of murders…..a pretty good and easy, if not particularly thrilling, read….

I would like to thank the Author/the Publishers/NetGalley for the opportunity to read this book for free in exchange for a fair and honest review

2 thoughts on “Heartbreak Hotel (Alex Delaware #32) by Jonathan Kellerman – Book Review”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s