Currently reading

Where the Dead Fall by MJ Lee – just started reading

51A50A08-960A-493B-BF5D-969A39217D99

 

Ive just been lucky to be approved on NetGalley for MJ Lee’s Where the Dead Fall…….I was going to save it for the weekend but couldn’t resist a peek….

“He turned his head and licked the slime-covered wall, tasting the rancid wet mould on his tongue as he searched for moisture.”

Well now I’m hooked after 2 sentences……!

Book reviews

Heartbreak Hotel (Alex Delaware #32) by Jonathan Kellerman – Book Review

PUBLISHERS BLURB 

In Heartbreak Hotel by New York Times No.1 bestseller Jonathan Kellerman, criminal psychologist Dr. Alex Delaware i nvestigates the death of his most mysterious patient to date. Fans of Michael Connelly and Harlan Coben will revel in this knife- sharp storytelling from the master of psychological suspense.

At nearly one hundred years old, Thalia Mars is a far cry from the patients child psychologist Dr. Alex Delaware normally treats. But the charming, witty woman convinces Alex to meet with her in a suite at The Aventura – a luxury hotel with a checkered history.

What Thalia wants from Alex are answers to unsettling questions – about guilt, patterns of criminal behaviour, victim selection. When Alex asks the reason for her morbid fascination, Thalia promises to tell all during their next session. But when he returns the following morning, his question goes unanswered, and new ones arise…

In their most puzzling investigation to date, Alex and homicide detective Milo Sturgis must peel back the layers of a fascinating but elusive woman’s life.

For Thalia Mars is a victim like no other, an enigma who harboured nearly a century of secrets and whose life and death draw those around her into a vortex of violence.

OVER THIRTY BESTSELLERS. 

HUNDREDS OF CASES SOLVED.

 

39B7DDF4-3951-4211-9EF5-8A4EAF05BCA8

MY REVIEW 

This is the 32nd book in the Alex Delaware series by Jonathan Kellerman and I must admit I have read a few of this series but not all..

It felt like meeting with an old friend to catch up with Alex and LAPD Detective Milo Sturgis…

This begins with Alex agreeing to meet Thalia Mars an old acquaintance and now 99 years old. They meet at the Aventura, the slightly down at heel hotel where she lives. She asks several questions about guilt and criminal behaviour but gives no reason why and asks for Alex to return the following day and she will tell more……but, as was slightly predictable to me, when he returns Thalia is dead, murdered !

So, Alex calls his friend Milo and so the investigation begins.

During their investigation they find Thalia may have been a moll for the gangster owner of the Aventura Hotel back in the 1940’s…..

I found this to be interesting with the looks to the LA of the past and the link to the current spate of murders…..a pretty good and easy, if not particularly thrilling, read….

I would like to thank the Author/the Publishers/NetGalley for the opportunity to read this book for free in exchange for a fair and honest review

Book reviews

Sea Babies by Tracey Scott-Townsend @authortrace @Wildpressed #LoveBooksGroupTours

Lovely content….beautiful

bytheletterbookreviews

Book Description:

Lauren Wilson is travelling by ferry to the Outer Hebrides, about to begin a new job as a social worker. When somebody sits opposite her at the cafeteria table, she refuses to look up, annoyed at having her privacy disturbed.But a hand is pushing a mug of tea towards her, and a livid scar on the back of the hand releases a flood of memories.

Some people believe in the existence of a parallel universe. Does Lauren have a retrospective choice about the outcome of a terrible recent accident, or is it the bearer of that much older scar who has the power to decide what happens to her now? 

Content Post:

SEA BABIES Narrative Poem (Based on the author’s novel) By Tracey Scott-Townsend

It was always about the baby.

Not long afterwards, I wondered how I could grieve so much

For someone that I never knew

But…

View original post 1,842 more words