Book reviews, Thriller

Freefall by Jessica Barry – Book Review

PUBLISHERS BLURB 

Surviving the plane crash is only the beginning for Allison.

The life that she’s built for herself – her perfect fiancé, their world of luxury – has disappeared in the blink of an eye. Now she must run, not only to escape the dark secrets in her past, but to outwit the man who is stalking her every move.

On the other side of the country, Allison’s mother is desperate for news of her daughter, who is missing, presumed dead. Maggie refuses to accept that she could have lost her only child and sets out to discover the truth.

Mother and daughter must fight – for survival and to find their way through a dark web of lies and back to one another, before it’s too late…

Heart-stopping and addictive, FREEFALL is a stunning thriller that explores the deep and complex bond between mothers and daughters.

CB5B5CE9-87C0-4250-9602-107C0FE01373

MY REVIEW

Freefall begins with Allison surviving a plane crash, battered and bruised but alive. The only other passenger on the small plane, her fiancé did not survive….. she is in the mountains with few supplies, a little water and not much else…..only a sense that someone is going to try and find her….but she doesn’t want to be found!

Maggie, Allison’s mother, has been told by the local police that her daughter likely died in the crash…but she will not give up hope, she knows her daughter is strong and so sets out on a search for her Allison. At the time of Allison’s fathers death, they became estranged and have had no contact since.

The tale is told from the two perspectives of Allison and Maggie, giving background to both their stories……bleak at times but utterly compelling. It shows the unbreakable bond between a mother and her child and the lengths she will go to for them no matter what.

This is a slow burn, with the tension gradually building and building right to the truly heart thumping end…

An exceptional debut novel from Jessica Barry and I will be waiting impatiently for her next endeavour…..

I would like to thank The Pigeonhole, Jessica Barry and The Publishers for the opportunity to read this book for free in exchange for a fair and honest and unbiased review.

You can buy a copy here

>

Book reviews

Dirty Little Secrets by Jo Spain – Book Review

PUBLISHERS BLURB 

FROM THE NUMBER ONE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE CONFESSION AND CO-WRITER OF RTE ONE’S TAKEN DOWN

Six neighbours, six secrets, six reasons to want Olive Collins dead.

In the exclusive gated community of Withered Vale, people’s lives appear as perfect as their beautifully manicured lawns. Money, success, privilege – the residents have it all. Life is good.

There’s just one problem.

Olive Collins’ dead body has been rotting inside number four for the last three months. Her neighbours say they’re shocked at the discovery but nobody thought to check on her when she vanished from sight.

The police start to ask questions and the seemingly flawless facade begins to crack. Because, when it comes to Olive’s neighbours, it seems each of them has something to hide, something to lose and everything to gain from her death.

The new psychological thriller from the bestselling author of The Confession, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty.

8B4A4276-37F1-4278-9F3E-52DC8FAC6BEE

MY REVIEW 

This is a psychological thriller by Jo Spain and is set in a privileged and wealthy gated community close to a village in Wicklow,  Ireland. 

The body of Olive Collins, a retired woman, is found in a nasty, decomposing  state after lying undiscovered in her home for three months. DI Frank Brazil is jaded from all then atrocities he has seen and is close to retirement a and is upset when the evidence shows this may be a suspicious death and will need an full, in depth investigation….just what he needs!

However, his partner, Emma Child, young and ambitious is delighted with the challenge that lies ahead.

At first sight the small community appears totally respectable and quite normal, but why did no-one check on their neighbour Olive? Surely it would be neighbourly to wonder why she hasn’t been seen and to check on her…. 

The story is told from the perspectives of the inhabitants of the community and the police officers and in this way we find out, you just never know what goes on behind those closed doors !!!!

There are so many secrets, porn addiction, affairs, rivalries and so much more. Olive herself was a lonely woman who had made efforts to get to know her neighbours, but was constantly shunned and she was upset by this somewhat and used her knowledge to manipulate and upset those around her.

The police begin to uncover a whole range of emotions aimed at the dead Olive, rage, hate and more leading to many suspects…..just who hated her enough to kill….?

I enjoyed the great cast of characters and felt they well written and the story is gripping and utterly compelling right to the marvellous twisted ending….thoroughly entertaining.

I would like to thank the Author/the Publishers/NetGalley for the opportunity to read this book for free in exchange for a fair and honest review.

you can buy a copy here

//ws-eu.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&OneJS=1&Operation=GetAdHtml&MarketPlace=GB&source=ss&ref=as_ss_li_til&ad_type=product_link&tracking_id=bookwormery-21&language=en_GB&marketplace=amazon&region=GB&placement=B078YZQJ9X&asins=B078YZQJ9X&linkId=5003f66108d46d34d1d2225c44f10d9d&show_border=true&link_opens_in_new_window=true

About the Author

72D1211E-E0E6-42CF-A8B6-47D04822418F

 Jo Spain is the author of the Inspector Tom Reynolds series. Her first book, top ten bestseller With Our Blessing, was a finalist in the 2015 Richard and Judy Search for a Bestseller. The Confession her first standalone thriller, was a number one bestseller and translated all over the world. 

Jo is a graduate of Trinity College Dublin, a former political advisor in the Irish parliament and former vice-chair of InterTrade Ireland business body. 

She now writes novels and screenplays full-time. Her first co-written TV show TAKEN DOWN was broadcast in Ireland in 2018 and bought by international distributors Fremantle. 

Jo lives in Dublin with her husband and four young children. In her spare time (she has four children, there is no spare time really) she likes to read. Her favourite authors include Pierre Lemaitre, Jo Nesbo, Liane Moriarty, Fred Vargas and Louise Penny. She also watches TV detective series and was slightly obsessed with The Bridge, Trapped and The Missing. 

Jo thinks up her plots on long runs in the woods. Her husband sleeps with one eye open and all her friends have looked at her strangely since she won her publishing deal. (Courtesy of Goodreads)