Book reviews

5* #Review – If Only I Could Tell You – Hannah Beckerman @orionbooks @hannahbeckerman

Love this review …added to my TBR

Jane Hunt Writer

A twist that will break your heart . . . An ending that will put it back together

Audrey’s family has fallen apart. Her two grown-up daughters, Jess and Lily, are estranged, and her two teenage granddaughters have never been allowed to meet. A secret that echoes back thirty years has splintered the family in two but is also the one thing keeping them connected.

As tensions reach breaking point, the irrevocable choice that one of them made all those years ago is about to surface. After years of secrets and silence, how can one broken family find their way back to each other?

Amazon UK

I received a copy of this book from Orion Publishing Group via NetGalley in return for an honest review.

My Thoughts…

Audrey’s family appears irrevocably broken, and she doesn’t know why. Her greatest wish is to see her daughters talking again, but is…

View original post 151 more words

Book reviews

The Day Of The Accident

Nice review…I really enjoyed this book too

Chrissi Reads

Day of the AccidentHow did I get it?:
NetGalley- thanks to Penguin Books

Previously reviewed by the same author:
My Sister’s Bones

Synopsis:

They say you killed…But What If They’re Wrong?

Sixty seconds after she wakes from a coma, Maggie’s world is torn apart

The police tell her that her daughter Elspeth is dead. That she drowned when the car Maggie had been driving plunged into the river. Maggie remembers nothing.

When Maggie begs to see her husband Sean, the police tell her that he has disappeared. He was last seen on the day of her daughter’s funeral.

What really happened that day at the river?
Where is Maggie’s husband?
And why can’t she shake the suspicion that somewhere, somehow, her daughter is still alive?

Thoughts:

I really enjoyed My Sister’s Bones from Nuala Ellwood, so when I found out that she was bringing out another book, I got on and requested it. I’m…

View original post 221 more words

Book reviews

Bitter Edge by Rachel Lynch – Book Review

EDA8E984-75D2-4BC2-8D5A-967CB882D162

PUBLISHERS BLURB 

DI Kelly Porter is back, but so is an old foe and this time he won’t back down… When a teenage girl flings herself off a cliff in pursuit of a gruesome death, DI Kelly Porter is left asking why. Ruled a suicide, there’s no official reason for Kelly to chase answers, but as several of her team’s cases converge on the girl’s school, a new, darker story emerges. 

One which will bring Kelly face-to-face with an old foe determined to take back what is rightfully his – no matter the cost.

Mired in her pursuit of justice for the growing list of victims, Kelly finds security in Johnny, her family and the father she has only just discovered. But just as she draws close to unearthing the dark truth at the heart of her investigation, a single moment on a cold winter’s night shatters the notion that anything in Kelly’s world can ever truly be safe.

Don’t miss this gripping crime thriller featuring a phenomenal detective. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Patricia Gibney and Robert Bryndza.

EFD97245-A64A-4878-82F3-7A0790A0002B

MY REVIEW

Set in the beautiful Lake District, DI Kelly Porter is decorating her home for Christmas, supported as always by her partner Johnny. They are both planning a nice family Christmas in a few days, as they off duty, albeit on-call.

However, a 16 year old girls body is found after a fall……was she pushed or did she jump? After examination it is deemed a suicide and that young Jenna was a drug user.

There are then links to another missing girl….Faith….last seen at the local fairground…..

Kelly visits the young girls school, The Derwent Academy and meets Faith’s, so called friends and her teachers, where she feels there is more to their stories than meets the eye….and so the investigation begins in earnest..

There is so much going on in this tale, but it flows so well, due to Rachel Lynch’s clever writing, that it’s easy to follow right to shocking end….

There’s kidnap, bullying, drugs, sexual assault, murder and suicide and can be a bleak read at times but it’s a gripping, heart rending and twisted book with a satisfying end. I love the characterisation and I really like Kelly, who is such a dedicated and determined police officer, totally relentless in her search for the truth and justice for all affected. A brilliant read and I can thoroughly recommend it.

Buy a copy here (click on image – Amazon link)

Thank you to Canelo for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook  in exchange for my honest, unbiased review.

4C80B1DC-E8D9-4320-8A32-204AC6F3A03B.jpeg

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Rachel Lynch ​grew up in Cumbria and the lakes and fells are never far away from her. London pulled her away to teach History and marry an Army Officer, whom she followed around the globe for thirteen years. A change of career after children led to personal training and sports therapy, but writing was always the overwhelming force driving the future. The human capacity for compassion as well as its descent into the brutal and murky world of crime are fundamental to her work.

Bitter Edge By Rachel Lynch

Release Date: 25th February 2018 Launch price of £1.99 ISBN: 9781788632676 Territories: World

Title: Bitter Edge

Author Name: Rachel Lynch

Previous Books (if applicable): Dark Game, Deep Fear and Dead End

Genre: Crime Fiction

Release Date: 25th February 2019