Book reviews, Womens fiction

The Happiness Project by Pippa James – Book Review. #blogtour #bookreview

9FC8DFCE-8AFC-4C53-91FE-3F56F239F4A9W

PUBLISHERS BLURB 

Prepare to be captivated by one of the most poignant and uplifting books you will read this year, perfect for readers who loved One Day in December and The Keeper of Lost Things. 

1) Exercise more 

2) Eat healthily 

3) Learn how to live again… 

Forty-year-old Alison Lund has always carefully planned everything in her well-ordered life, from colour co-ordinating her beautiful house to persuading her excitable son Alexander that sticker charts are more fun than misbehaving. But Alison’s perfect world has just fallen apart… 

Her head is left spinning when her beloved larger than life mother-in-law, Maggie, passes away and Alison is left heartbroken. Every afternoon they’d talk and laugh over a pot of tea, she was the glue that kept Alison together through the first few tough years of motherhood. And now Alison is trying to figure out a future without her. 

With a little help from her two best friends, Alison resolves to be more Maggie. After an emotional New Year’s Eve get together, the three women create a happiness project, challenging themselves to step outside their comfort zones and make the most of every single day. 

Daring to do things differently, can Alison learn to live more spontaneously and find happiness along the way? Or will letting go be harder than she ever imagined? 

1EE83857-D4BB-45A5-AD63-BAFEA025579F

MY REVIEW 

Frankie and Kate arrive at Alison’s home on New Year’s Eve bearing wine. Alison convinces them to make New Years Resolutions and so they plan the changes they want to make for the coming year. 

Alison wants to exercise more to get back her fitness. Kate wants to find more zen during her third pregnancy, to just enjoy it this time round. Frankie just wants a job and not the multi-drop parcel delivery she has just quit…

Each of these women must make their way with the various parenting problems, some relationship issues and past friends all trying to fulfil their happiness project.

The three friends are very different, ‘scary’ Alison is the ultimate organiser and part earth mother. Kate is quite shy and generally stressed by life…Frankie flits about, moody, scatty and lovable.

I love Pippa James’ writing, the way the three friends interact, with their relatable problems and insecurities feels so real. The question I’m sure every mother has asked, am I doing this right ? What makes a good mother? And the pressure women feel to be able to do it all is immense and this is reflected  in this tale wonderfully.

This is not all airy and light, the friends do have arguments and issues are serious but it’s also got its light times with some laugh out loud moments to break the tension.

Pippa James has written a completely relatable, funny, heartwarming novel about being a mother, a friend and ultimately happiness…..wonderful.

Thank you to Bookouture for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour and for the promotional materials and a free copy of the ebook  in exchange for my honest review. 

Buy a copy here (Amazon affiliate link)

7E353D76-01F1-4489-8BF1-F28BAA83C0DD

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Growing up in Birmingham, Pippa James was never without at least one book on the go and therefore lived several different lives concurrently. As an adult, she would like to spend much of her time the same way, but she now lives a chaotic life in a small Derbyshire town with her husband and two children. Her writing is frequently interrupted by parenting duties and her day job as a teacher and the only way she can find a quiet space to think, is by taking her laptop to the pub to drink tea and write, which she does at every opportunity.

You can follow Pippa on Twitter @PippaJamesBooks or Facebook.com/PippaJamesAuthor 

1 thought on “The Happiness Project by Pippa James – Book Review. #blogtour #bookreview”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s