Book reviews

#BlogTour A Fatal Flaw by Faith Martin

Sounds good, I do like Faith Martin’s writing so one for my TBR

Cheryl M-M's Book Blog

Today it is my turn on theBlogTour A Fatal Flaw by Faith Martin.This is the third book in the Ryder and Loveday series, a cosy crime series with an unusual crime fighting duo.

About the Author

Faith Martin has been writing for 30 years. She signed a massive 3-book deal with the publishers Harper Collins/HQ, who have published her Ryder & Loveday novels. All three novels, A Fatal Obsession, A Fatal Mistake and A Fatal Flaw are available now.

Follow@FaithMartin_Nov@HQDigitalUK@HQStories

Buy A Fatal Flaw

About the book

1960, Oxford

As the city of Oxford prepares itself for the inaugural Miss Oxford Honey Beauty Pageant at The Old Swan Theatre, excitement is in the air. But when one of the leading contestants is found dead, suspicion hangs over the competition.

Poisoned, the authorities assume her death was suicide. But after a malicious series of pranks and…

View original post 383 more words

Book reviews

#BlogTour┃#BookReview: The Lost Man by Jane Harper (@LittleBrownUK) #TheLostManIsComing

A brilliant review from Damppebbles ….

damppebbles.com

the lost man.jpg“‘He had started to remove his clothes as logic had deserted him, and his skin was cracked. Whatever had been going through Cameron’s mind when he was alive, he didn’t look peaceful in death.’

Two brothers meet at the remote border of their vast cattle properties under the unrelenting sun of the outback. In an isolated part of Australia, they are each other’s nearest neighbour, their homes hours apart.

They are at the stockman’s grave, a landmark so old that no one can remember who is buried there. But today, the scant shadow it casts was the last hope for their middle brother, Cameron. The Bright family’s quiet existence is thrown into grief and anguish.

Something had been troubling Cameron. Did he choose to walk to his death? Because if he didn’t, the isolation of the outback leaves few suspects…”

Happy Monday! I am delighted to welcome you to my…

View original post 761 more words

Book reviews

BlackBerry and Wild Rose by Sonia Velton – Book Review

B5A70514-74CD-4625-BA23-5056CA089AAF

BOOK BLURB 

For fans of Jessie Burton and Tracy Chevalier, a rich historical debut set among the Huguenot silk weavers of Spitalfields in the late 18th century.

WHEN Esther Thorel, the wife of a Huguenot silk-weaver, rescues Sara Kemp from a brothel she thinks she is doing God’s will. Sara is not convinced being a maid is better than being a whore, but the chance to escape her grasping ‘madam’ is too good to refuse.

Inside the  Thorels’ tall house in Spitalfields, where the strange cadence of the looms fills the attic, the two women forge an uneasy relationship. The physical intimacies of washing and dressing belie the reality: Sara despises her mistress’s blindness to the hypocrisy of her household, while Esther is too wrapped up in her own secrets to see Sara as anything more than another charitable cause.

It is silk that has Esther so distracted. For years she has painted her own designs, dreaming that one day her husband will weave them into reality. When he laughs at her ambition, she strikes up a relationship with one of the journeyman weavers in her attic who teaches her to weave and unwittingly sets in motion events that will change the fate of the whole Thorel household.

43BF3164-19A3-4BF2-9C3E-D1958746C004

MY REVIEW 

Blackberry and Wild Rose is Sonia Velton’s historical fiction debut and is based around the silk workers in 1860s Spitalfields in London. 

It is told from the points of view of Sara and Esther and illustrates the hardship and poverty at the time. 

It also covers the conflict between journeyman weavers and master weavers and the fact that women were unable to work in certain professions, including art. This is so beautifully written, an ethereal yet grounded tale of just what it must have been like to live and fight against the every day adversities of this age.

In my opinion, Sonia Velton has written a stunning and elegant tale which show the strengths of women who even when so downtrodden show such hope and determination to improve their lives, those of others and to follow a dream. Remarkable writing.

Buy a copy from Amazon here:

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

image and bio from Goodreads

A4FCB54A-6811-4529-A7BE-1E8F9E81191A

Sonia Velton has been a solicitor in Hong Kong, a Robert Schuman Scholar in Luxembourg and spent eight years being a full-time Mum of three in Dubai. She now lives in Kent. Her first novel, BLACKBERRY AND WILD ROSE, tells the story of a fictional household of master silk weavers living in eighteenth century Spitalfields. The protagonist is loosely inspired by Anna Maria Garthwaite who was the foremost silk designer of the mid-eighteenth century and the title takes its name from an actual silk design. The novel was shortlisted as a work in progress for the Lucy Cavendish Fiction Prize 2015 and longlisted for the Myslexia Novel Competition.

Book reviews

The Binding by Bridget Collins – Book Review.

 

0BAE47AA-1CFA-45D7-B045-2EB762F8EFBA

 

PUBLISHERS BLURB 

Imagine you could erase grief.

Imagine you could remove pain.

Imagine you could hide the darkest, most horrifying secret.

Forever.

Young Emmett Farmer is working in the fields when a strange letter arrives summoning him away from his family. He is to begin an apprenticeship as a Bookbinder—a vocation that arouses fear, superstition, and prejudice among their small community but one neither he nor his parents can afford to refuse.

For as long as he can recall, Emmett has been drawn to books, even though they are strictly forbidden. Bookbinding is a sacred calling, Seredith informs her new apprentice, and he is a binder born. Under the old woman’s watchful eye, Emmett learns to hand-craft the elegant leather-bound volumes. Within each one they will capture something unique and extraordinary: a memory. If there’s something you want to forget, a binder can help. If there’s something you need to erase, they can assist. Within the pages of the books they create, secrets are concealed and the past is locked away. In a vault under his mentor’s workshop, rows upon rows of books are meticulously stored.

But while Seredith is an artisan, there are others of their kind, avaricious and amoral tradesman who use their talents for dark ends—and just as Emmett begins to settle into his new circumstances, he makes an astonishing discovery: one of the books has his name on it. Soon, everything he thought he understood about his life will be dramatically rewritten

 

269BB329-57E8-48B7-B055-729D92DBF3DD

 

MY REVIEW 

Emmet Farmer is recovering from an illness, he’s still very weak but he’s back working on the farm with his sister Alta. But then a letter arrives and he is sent away to be an apprentice to Seredith, a binder.

Poor Emmet, a little naive has no idea why he isn’t allowed to read books, but Seredith explains that books hold memories, real memories taken from people willingly, so they can forget…

He starts to recover his health and is slowly learning how to make the books, but not yet the actual ‘binding’……

There is tragedy and fear as when he leaving the cottage to work for a commercial binder, he sees a book with his name on it….what has he forgotten? Why does he fear, on one hand yet on the other feel drawn to Lucian Darnay?

The story is told from the perspectives of Lucian and Emmet, switching between the present and the past to show what memories have been bound in this stunning, beautifully written tale of love and loss. 

The idea of binding sounds so wonderful, to have awful, tragic or maybe violent memories removed, put into a book to be kept safe, BUT as with all things, this could and would be abused by the morally corrupt for their own ends. The idea that people could also sell their memories for a ‘trade’ Binding for others enjoyment is just repugnant, but I’m sure it would happen. I loved the idea that novels are just made up memories and are therefore frowned upon. 

Bridget Collins has created a thought provoking tale, I wonder, if you could have bad memories removed, would you? Who would you trust to hold the book safe and not pass it to others to read……not a pleasant thought really is it ?

I loved the characters and Emmet and Lucian are just wonderful, I was so engrossed in their tale, and loved them both due to Bridget Collins captivating, spellbinding and emotive writing, I may have left a little of myself in The Binding with them….a beautiful, must read book. 

I would like to thank the Author/the Publishers/NetGalley for the opportunity to read this book for free in exchange for a fair and honest review. I have also purchased a hardback copy myself.

#TheBinding #NetGalley