Book reviews

The Shop Window Murders by Vernon Loder

Love 5his Review

FictionFan's Book Reviews

How much is that body in the window?

😀 😀 🙂

In the run up to Christmas, Mander’s Department Store puts on an elaborate window display to attract the attention of passing shoppers. It turns out the display is even more elaborate than they intended, though, when onlookers spot that two of the figures aren’t mannequins – in fact, they’re corpses! One is Mr Mander himself, the brains behind the store, while the other is the strangely named Effie Tumour, one of the store’s department heads. She has been stabbed; he, shot. It’s up to Inspector Devenish of the Yard to work out who killed them, and how and why.

This falls mainly into the category of the puzzle mystery, or the howdunit, and unfortunately that’s never my favourite kind of plot. The detection tends to take the form of Devenish speculating as to how a piece of the puzzle…

View original post 376 more words

Book reviews

Blog Tour Review: Changeling – Matt Wesolowski

Great review…I’m looking forward to reading this

Beverley Has Read

Changeling by Matt Wesolowski

About The Book

On Christmas Eve in 1988, seven-year-old Alfie Marsden vanished in the dark Wentshire Forest Pass, when his father, Sorrel, stopped the car to investigate a mysterious knocking sound. No trace of the child, nor his remains, have ever been found. Alfie Marsden was declared officially dead in 1995.

Elusive online journalist, Scott King, whose ‘Six Stories’ podcasts have become an internet sensation, investigates the disappearance, interviewing six witnesses, including Sorrel and his ex-partner, to try to find out what really happened that fateful night. Journeying through the trees of the Wentshire Forest – a place synonymous with strange sightings, and tales of hidden folk who dwell there, he talks to a company that tried and failed to build a development in the forest, and a psychic who claims to know what happened to the little boy…

My Review

Short version of my review:

Oh. My. God. What…

View original post 803 more words

Book reviews

The Pigeonhole: A New Reading Experience

I’ve been using it for a while and think it’s pretty amazing….an online interactive book club….brilliant

Kate Kenzie

I recently signed up to The Pigeonhole, described on the website as a book club in your pocket. It offers a selection of new releases from top publishers and classics. The new Sophie Kinsella book is an option which I am looking forward to if I get chosen to read it.  The books  are released in sections and you read along with other readers. More on how it works can be found here

I saw an advert for it on social media and not only did the blurb of The Flower Girls by Alice Clark-Platts look good, the promise of a free book drew me in.  I am on a strict book budget this year. The more I read about the idea of the business the more I realised it could also help with my aim of reading more classic books. The big tomes, even on Kindle, are daunting…

View original post 291 more words

Book reviews

Review: Bound by Mark Lawrence (Book of the Ancestor 2.5)

Love the review….now need to read Bound

Amiiie's Books

5/5

Hello and welcome to my first review of 2019… and yes it is another Mark Lawrence review. Prepare for plenty of these throughout the year because I just discovered his books last year so I have plenty more to read.

*Spoiler Warning* This book takes place AFTER Grey Sister. There are references in this short story that might spoil Grey Sister a little bit for you. This review however is spoiler free! 

42633199

I read this on my dinner break at work. It is very short and sweet but so packed with everything you expect and need from a part of this series. This book is mainly centred around Nona, Ara and Regol. It also includes Sister Apple and Sister Kettle. Throw Zole in there and it would have been all my faves in one story. The story itself is mainly based around a serial killer and kissing. Like what…

View original post 331 more words

Book reviews

Book Review ~ Blog Tour ~ Changeling by Matt Wesolowski. #Thriller

I really like the sound of this….brilliant review

booksaremycwtches

Changeling AW.indd

On Christmas Eve in 1988, seven-year-old Alfie Marsden vanished in the dark Wentshire Forest Pass, when his father, Sorrel, stopped the car to investigate a mysterious knocking sound. No trace of the child, nor his remains, have ever been found. Alfie Marsden was declared officially dead in 1995.

Elusive online journalist, Scott King, whose ‘Six Stories’ podcasts have become an internet sensation, investigates the disappearance, interviewing six witnesses, including Sorrel and his ex-partner, to try to find out what really happened that fateful night. Journeying through the trees of the Wentshire Forest – a place synonymous with strange sightings, and tales of hidden folk who dwell there, he talks to a company that tried and failed to build a development in the forest, and a psychic who claims to know what happened to the little boy…

Review

I would like to thank the author, publisher Orenda Books and blog tour…

View original post 744 more words

Book reviews

The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley

I really enjoyed this….lovely review

The Last Word Book Review

COVER.jpg

The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley

What a cracking start to 2019 with a good old fashioned murder mystery and The Hunting Party (Harper Collins) the debut crime novel Lucy Foley and what a cracking edge of your seat thriller it turned out to be. The perfect read between Christmas and New Year as you will see why.

Lucy_Foley_crop.jpg

It is New Year’s Eve at a group of friends have come together to see in the New Year in style at The Loch Corrin Estate which is a typical out of the way hunting lodge in the Highlands. A Hogmanay to remember as it turned out for all the wrong reasons.

Snow is falling and it is turning out to be a white out, real blizzard conditions. So a group of friends who all went to oxford spend their New Year’s Eve year on year together. The story starts on New…

View original post 303 more words

Book reviews

Only a Mother by Elisabeth Carpenter #BlogTour #BookReview @LibbyCPT @orionbooks @orion_crime @Tr4cyF3nt0n

I love a good thriller, great review

Bucks, Books & Beyond

Only a Mother 1.jpg

Author: Elisabeth Carpenter

Genre: Psychological Thriller

Publication Date: 27 December 2018

Publisher: Orion

Paperback: 352 Pages


Synopsis

ONLY A MOTHER . . .

Erica Wright hasn’t needed to scrub ‘MURDERER’ off her house in over a year. Life is almost quiet again. Then her son, Craig, is released from prison, and she knows the quiet is going to be broken.
COULD BELIEVE HIM
Erica has always believed Craig was innocent – despite the lies she told for him years ago – but when he arrives home, she notices the changes in him. She doesn’t recognise her son anymore.
COULD LIE FOR HIM
So, when another girl goes missing, she starts to question everything. But how can a mother turn her back on her son? And, if she won’t, then how far will she go to protect him?
COULD BURY THE TRUTH

Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Louise Jensen, Katerina…

View original post 406 more words

Book reviews

The Wych Elm – Tana French

Great review……need to read this now

Cleopatra Loves Books

Crime Fiction
4*s

Having been an ardent follower of this author’s crime fiction in the Dublin Series, I was very excited indeed to hear she was publishing a stand-alone novel. It would be so easy to say this is different to that series but since one of the things I’ve enjoyed most about this author’s books is the fact that each one had a unique feel which sets it apart from most crime fiction series.

This book does however focus perhaps more on the psychological aspects of crime than her previous novels with a house also playing the part of centre stage.

Happy go-lucky Toby has had an easy ride of life and when things have gone wrong he has used his charm or has been rescued by a hefty dose of luck. Life is good until he is attacked by burglars in his flat and is hospitalised. The result…

View original post 540 more words

Book reviews

Summer In The Orchard by Fay Keenan #BookReview #BlogTour (@faykeenan) @Aria_Fiction @HoZ_Books #NetGalley #SummerInTheOrchard

Not my usual genre of reading, but great review

A Little Book Problem

51rzgcae0xl

Sophie Henderson loves her job at Carter’s Cider in the picturesque Somerset village of Little Somerby, but with summer dawning before yet another picking and pressing season, and her boss David showing no signs of wanting to hang up his cider jug, perhaps it is time to move on.

She’s all set to hand in her notice when Alex Fraser, an intern from Vancouver, comes to Little Somerby to learn everything he can about the cider business. With Sophie as his mentor, attraction between them starts to grow alongside the apples.

For Alex, however, being in Little Somerby is about more than cider, and as the summer grows warmer, and his relationship with Sophie blossoms, can he find the courage to tell her the truth before it’s too late?

I’m delighted to be on the blog tour today for Summer In The Orchard by Fay Keenan, the third book in…

View original post 646 more words

Book reviews

ARC Review: The Au Pair by Emma Rous

Great review

The Bookaholic Dreamer

The Au Pair by Emma Rous

37561550

Published on the 8th
of January 2019

Goodreads link

⭐️ Star-rating at the bottom of this review ⭐️

I received a free e-arc copy of the Au Pair in exchange for an honest review. Thank you so much to Edelweiss, the publisher and the author! Receiving a free copy has in no way affected my opinions.

Seraphine has always wondered what happened on the day she was born. She has a loving older brother, a goofy twin-brother, and a generous grandma, but she is still puzzled about that one day 25 years ago when her mother committed suicide by jumping off a cliff right after the birth of her and her brother. Seraphine’s family has never wanted to talk about the past, but she is set on finding out what happened after going through her father’s things and finding a photograph of her…

View original post 555 more words