Book reviews

#BookReview Little by Edward Carey @BelgraviaB

A great review…..l

Books and Me!

About the book

‘Don’t miss this eccentric charmer!’ — @MargaretAtwood

‘Edward Carey’sLittleis one of the most original historical novels of the year.’ —The Sunday Times

“There is a space between life and death: it’s called waxworks”

The wry, macabre, unforgettable tale of an ambitious orphan in Revolutionary Paris, befriended by royalty and radicals alike, who transforms herself into the legendary Madame Tussaud.

In 1761, a tiny, odd-looking girl named Marie is born in a village in Alsace. After the death of her parents, she is apprenticed to an eccentric wax sculptor and whisked off to the seamy streets of Paris, where they meet a domineering widow and her quiet, pale son. Together, they convert an abandoned monkey house into an exhibition hall for wax heads, and the spectacle becomes a sensation. As word of her artistic talent spreads, Marie is called to Versailles, where she tutors a…

View original post 360 more words

Book reviews

Deliver Me by Karen Cole #BookReview

Brilliant review….

mychestnutreadingtree

About this book…

THE NIGHT SHE DOESN’T REMEMBER WILL BE THE ONE SHE CAN’T FORGET

When Abby’s doctor tells her she’s two months pregnant she doesn’t believe him. She can’t be – she hasn’t had sex for over a year. But to her astonishment and dismay, multiple tests confirm it’s true.

Desperately searching for an explanation, Abby recalls New Year’s Day – the terrible hangover, the hole in her memory where the night before should have been and the inexplicable sense of unease – and realises that this baby must have been conceived at her best friend Danny’s NYE party.

Horrified that someone would have taken advantage of her intoxicated state, Abby enlists the help of Danny to find out which of the party guests assaulted her. But, when she starts to receive anonymous messages, it seems that while she has been looking into the father of her baby, someone…

View original post 526 more words

Book reviews

ARC Book Review: In an Absent Dream (Wayward Children #4) by Seanan McGuire

A great review….

A Book. A Thought.

Title: In an Absent Dream (Wayward Children #4)

BySeanan McGuire

Pages187

Publication: January 8th 2019

ByTor.com

GenreYA|Fantasy|Fiction

You can buy it HEREBook Depository

This is the story of a very serious young girl who would rather study and dream than become a respectable housewife and live up to the expectations of the world around her. As well she should.

When she finds a doorway to a world founded on logic and reason, riddles and lies, she thinks she’s found her paradise. Alas, everything costs at the goblin market, and when her time there is drawing to a close, she makes the kind of bargain that never plays out well.

For anyone . . .

|| Goodreads ||

View original post 1,100 more words

Book reviews

#Review The Story Keeper by Anna Mazzola @Anna_Mazz @AnneCater #RandomThingsTours

This sounds interesting…great review

The Quiet Knitter

51xga7ejbxl-_sx323_bo1204203200_

** My thanks to the publisher for my copy of this book and to Anne at Random Things Tours for my invite to take part in the blog tour **

Description:

From the author of THE UNSEEING comes a sizzling, period novel of folk tales, disappearances and injustice set on the Isle of Skye, sure to appeal to readers of Hannah Kent’s BURIAL RITES or Beth Underdown’s THE WITCH FINDER’S SISTER.

‘A wonderful combination of a thrilling mystery and a perfectly depicted period piece’ Sunday Mirror

Audrey Hart is on the Isle of Skye to collect the folk and fairy tales of the people and communities around her. It is 1857 and the Highland Clearances have left devastation and poverty, and a community riven by fear. The crofters are suspicious and hostile to a stranger, claiming they no longer know their fireside stories.

Then Audrey discovers the body of a…

View original post 388 more words

Book reviews

#BlogTour: Lost Lives by Lisa Cutts @LisaCuttsAuthor @BeckyMcCarthy_ @simonschusterUK #5Stars #MustRead

Sounds great

Over The Rainbow Book Blog

I’m so excited to be kicking off the blog tour for this fantastic book today. To say I was blown away by it is a huge understatement and I really recommend it!

Lost Lives is available in ebook now and in paperback on the 10th January 2019. You can purchase or pre-order your copy in the link below.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Lost-Lives-unputdownable-real-life-detective-ebook/dp/B079X3SSMZ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1546845843&sr=8-1&keywords=lost+lives+lisa+cutts

Before I share my review with you here is a little bit about the book.

Book Synopsis:

SHE TRUSTED THEM WITH HER LIFE

When Anna arrives in the UK, she believes it’s the start of a better life for her and her daughter. But what awaits her is more shocking than anything she could have ever imagined . . .

SHE TRUSTED THEM WITH HER DAUGHTER

DI Harry Powell is investigating a shooting, but the victim has been scared into silence. As Harry struggles to piece together what little information…

View original post 581 more words

Book reviews

THE SEVEN DEATHS OF EVELYN HARDCASTLE BY STUART TURTON|BOOK REVIEW

Great review

Title: The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle

Author: Stuart Turton

Pages: 505 pages (Paperback)

Genre: Mystery, Thriller

Publication Date: February 8, 2018

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

The Rules of Blackheath

Evelyn Hardcastle will be murdered at 11:00 p.m. 

View original post 454 more words